Print

Reform proposals for the SNB - expectations and reality

108th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 29.04.2016

  • Complete text
    (49 KB)

In Switzerland, as in other countries, the shocks suffered in the financial crisis have unleashed a broad-based debate on the role of central banks, and many ideas for reform have emerged from this. Intensive discussion about the monetary order is a good sign for a society. Exchanging opinions in this way can help bring about a better understanding of monetary policy. For Switzerland, with its direct democracy, it is particularly important, because voters are frequently called upon to decide on these sorts of matters. Consequently, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) informs the general public comprehensively about monetary policy and the currency order, and also makes statements on reform proposals. In doing so, it helps achieve solutions that are as appropriate as possible.

One of these proposals foresees an extension of the SNB's statutory mandate. Alongside the goal of price stability, the advocates believe that new goals such as full employment and exchange rate stability should be prescribed by law. However, this would only build up hopes which were impossible for the SNB to fulfil in reality. Furthermore, the SNB is already committed to conducting monetary policy in the interests of the country as a whole. In doing so, it has to make difficult trade-offs in which employment and the exchange rate are major variables. Sometimes, conflicts can arise between the goals of price stability, currency stability and full employment. At these times it is particularly important that the SNB's mandate embodies a clear and unambiguous goal - price stability.

A second proposal concerns the provision of a better basis for monetary policy decisions. The idea is to achieve this by enlarging the Governing Board. However, the foundation for monetary policy decisions is already broad-based since they include many different assessments. The small size of the Governing Board facilitates productive discussions. With an enlargement of the board, interest groups might be tempted to place their 'people' on it which could 'politicise' the body.

How can the SNB's thoughts and actions be made even more transparent? A third proposal argues that one way this can be achieved is by publishing the minutes of Governing Board meetings on monetary policy decisions. However, the Governing Board already provides the general public with detailed explanations of the analyses and considerations behind its decisions. Moreover, publishing the minutes would have a detrimental effect on free and open discussion within the body. In addition, such a publication would run counter to the culture of collegiality as it is understood and practised in many executive bodies in this country.

Monetary history shows us that there is no ideal monetary order for all times, and that adjustments can be necessary. Care must be taken in doing so, however, since a central bank must be the embodiment of stability. Therefore, reform ideas with high expectations must measure up to reality, and reality is often harsh.

Drucken

Reformvorschläge für die SNB - Anspruch und Wirklichkeit

108. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 29.04.2016

  • Vollständiger Text
    (49 KB)

Die Erschütterungen der Finanzkrise haben auch in der Schweiz zu einer breiten Debatte über die Rolle der Zentralbanken geführt - und manche Reformidee hervorgebracht. Es ist ein gutes Zeichen für eine Gesellschaft, dass über die Geldordnung intensiv diskutiert wird. Ein solcher Austausch kann zu einem besseren Verständnis der Geldpolitik beitragen. In der Schweiz mit ihrer direkten Demokratie ist dies besonders wichtig, muss doch der Souverän immer wieder über derartige Fragen entscheiden. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) informiert daher die breite Öffentlichkeit umfassend über die Geldpolitik sowie die Währungsordnung und nimmt auch Stellung zu Reformvorschlägen. Sie leistet damit einen Beitrag zu möglichst sachgerechten Lösungen.

Ein erster solcher Vorschlag sieht vor, den Auftrag der SNB auszuweiten. Neben dem bisherigen Ziel der Preisstabilität sollen neu Anliegen wie Vollbeschäftigung und Wechselkursstabilität im Gesetz verankert werden. Damit würden aber Hoffnungen geweckt, welche die SNB in der Realität gar nicht erfüllen könnte. Ausserdem ist die SNB bereits heute verpflichtet, eine Geldpolitik im Gesamtinteresse des Landes zu führen. Sie muss dabei schwierige Güterabwägungen vornehmen, wobei Beschäftigung und Wechselkurs wichtige Grössen bilden. Zudem kann es zeitweise zu Zielkonflikten zwischen Preisstabilität, Währungsstabilität und Vollbeschäftigung kommen. Dann ist es besonders wichtig, dass der SNB mit der Preisstabilität ein klares und eindeutiges Ziel aufgetragen ist.

Ein zweiter Vorschlag möchte die geldpolitischen Entscheide besser abstützen. Zu diesem Zweck soll das Direktorium vergrössert werden. Allerdings sind dessen Entscheide schon heute breit abgestützt, basieren sie doch auf einer Vielfalt von Einschätzungen. Die kleine Grösse des Gremiums ermöglicht produktive Diskussionen. Zudem wäre mit einer Vergrösserung die Gefahr verbunden, dass Interessengruppen versuchen, im Direktorium ihre Gewährsleute zu platzieren, was zu einer «Verpolitisierung» des Gremiums führen könnte.

Wie kann das Denken und Handeln der SNB noch transparenter gemacht werden? Ein dritter Vorschlag glaubt, dass dafür die Protokolle der Direktoriumssitzungen zu den geldpolitischen Entscheiden publiziert werden sollten. Allerdings erklärt das Direktorium der Öffentlichkeit bereits heute eingehend, welche Analysen und Überlegungen hinter seinen Beschlüssen stehen. Zudem wäre eine Publikation der Protokolle einer offenen Diskussion im Gremium abträglich. Überdies liefe die Veröffentlichung der Protokolle der Kultur der Kollegialität zuwider, wie sie hierzulande in vielen Behörden verstanden und gepflegt wird.

Die Währungsgeschichte zeigt, dass es die auf alle Zeiten perfekte Geldordnung nicht gibt und Anpassungen geboten sein können. Dabei ist aber mit Bedacht vorzugehen, muss doch eine Zentralbank Stabilität verkörpern. Reformideen mit hohen Ansprüchen müssen sich deshalb an der oft rauhen Wirklichkeit messen lassen.