Print

SNB monetary policy after the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate

107th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 24.04.2015

  • Complete text
    (53 KB)

On 15 January 2015, the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) decided to discontinue the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro because the international environment for its monetary policy had changed dramatically. Due to the sustained weakening of the euro during the first half of January 2015, the minimum exchange rate could only be enforced through permanent currency interventions of rapidly increasing magnitude. This meant that the minimum exchange rate was no longer sustainable.

However, the end of the minimum exchange rate does not mean that the SNB has reverted to business as usual for monetary policy. Overall, the Swiss franc is significantly overvalued. A correction of this overvaluation is to be expected over time. The SNB continues to take account of the exchange rate situation in formulating its monetary policy. It monitors developments on the foreign exchange market and their potential impact on Switzerland very closely. It will remain active in the foreign exchange market as necessary in order to influence monetary conditions.

When it discontinued the minimum exchange rate, the SNB lowered the interest rate for balances held in its sight deposit accounts to -0.75%. Low or negative interest rates are a worldwide trend which Switzerland cannot escape. Towards the end of last year, the interest rate differential between investments in foreign currencies and those in Swiss francs declined to almost zero because interest rates abroad fell more sharply during the financial crisis than they did in Switzerland. This made the Swiss franc even more attractive for domestic and foreign investors. Since foreign interest rates are close to zero or negative, Swiss interest rates cannot remain at zero. They have to move into negative territory in order to restore the traditional interest rate differential, thereby making it more expensive to hold Swiss francs than other currencies.

Drucken

Die Geldpolitik der SNB nach Aufhebung des Mindestkurses

107. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 24.04.2015

  • Vollständiger Text
    (53 KB)

Angesichts eines sich dramatisch verändernden internationalen Umfelds für die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) entschied das Direktorium am 15. Januar 2015, den Mindestkurs von 1.20 Franken pro Euro aufzuheben. Wegen der anhaltenden Abschwächung des Euros in der ersten Januarhälfte 2015 wäre der Mindestkurs nur noch mit permanenten und rasch zunehmenden Interventionen am Devisenmarkt durchzusetzen gewesen. Damit war diese Massnahme nicht mehr nachhaltig.

Das Ende des Mindestkurses bedeutet nicht, dass für die Geldpolitik der SNB wieder normale Zeiten angebrochen sind. Der Franken ist insgesamt deutlich überbewertet. Diese Überbewertung sollte sich über die Zeit korrigieren. Die Nationalbank trägt bei der Gestaltung ihrer Geldpolitik der Wechselkurssituation weiterhin Rechnung. Sie verfolgt die Entwicklung am Devisenmarkt und deren potenziellen Auswirkungen auf die Schweiz sehr aufmerksam. Bei Bedarf ist sie auch künftig am Devisenmarkt aktiv, um die monetären Rahmenbedingungen zu beeinflussen.

Mit der Aufhebung des Mindestkurses reduzierte die Nationalbank den Zins auf Sichteinlagen bei ihr auf minus 0,75%. Tiefe oder negative Zinsen sind ein globales Phänomen, dem sich die Schweiz nicht entziehen kann. Gegen Ende des vergangenen Jahres hatte sich die Zinsdifferenz zwischen Anlagen in ausländischer Währung und Anlagen in Franken fast auf null verringert, weil die Zinsen im Ausland im Zuge der Finanzkrise stärker gefallen sind als in der Schweiz. Damit wurde der Franken für in- und ausländische Investoren noch attraktiver. Da die ausländischen Zinsen nahe null oder negativ sind, können die Schweizer Zinsen nicht an der Nulllinie verharren. Sie müssen in den negativen Bereich sinken, um die traditionelle Zinsdifferenz tendenziell wieder herzustellen und so das Halten von Franken gegenüber anderen Währungen zu verteuern.