Print

Sound money - a fundamental pillar of our society

Ustertag, Uster, 23.11.2014

  • Complete text
    (138 KB)

Money is sound when it fulfils its functions as a means of payment and store of value as smoothly and reliably as possible in people's everyday lives. Sound money retains its value and is generally accepted. It also makes an important contribution to social harmony and material prosperity. Sound money is therefore a central pillar of our society. The mandate of monetary policy is to ensure that money remains sound. Consequently, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) bases all of its activities on this mandate.

Since the Uster day in 1830, Swiss monetary history has shown us that the monetary order does not arise from natural causes and is not god-given. It is, rather, a - more or less - useful human invention. Some of the fundamental turning points are the result of an organic learning process. Sometimes it is also necessary to react to upheavals in the international arena with determination, under time pressure. Nevertheless, two invariables are quite clear over the course of Swiss history. First, efforts to ensure sound money in the interests of the population as a whole have always been regarded as a state responsibility. Second, the monetary order and the SNB enjoy widespread fundamental trust, while the culture of stability is well anchored in this country.

In view of the major importance of the monetary order, it is legitimate and necessary that this order be subjected to repeated review. At the same time, however, it should be borne in mind that it is the result of historic development. Even well-meaning interventions may therefore have grave consequences for our country and the entire population. Examples of profound reforms of this kind are the use of private money instead of state money, the return to a gold standard, the introduction of plain money and the adoption of foreign money. From today's perspective, these four reform ideas are unsuited to making our sound money even better.

For over 100 years, the monetary order and the institutions which back sound money have met with widespread acceptance and strong support in the Swiss population. This has made it possible to maintain the basic values of the monetary order and forgo experiments with uncertain outcomes, while at the same time making essential adjustments. This demonstrates a strength of our country, that we review new developments impartially and adapt them to our own situation if we consider them good, linking them organically to tested and tried systems wherever possible.

Drucken

Gutes Geld - ein Grundpfeiler unserer Gesellschaft

Ustertag, Uster, 23.11.2014

  • Vollständiger Text
    (145 KB)

Gutes Geld zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass es im Alltag der Bevölkerung seine Funktionen als Zahlungs- und Wertaufbewahrungsmittel möglichst reibungslos und verlässlich erfüllt. Gutes Geld ist wertbeständig und wird breit akzeptiert. Es leistet auch einen wichtigen Beitrag zum sozialen Frieden und materiellen Wohlstand. Somit bildet gutes Geld einen zentralen Grundpfeiler unserer Gesellschaft. Aufgabe der Geldpolitik ist es, dafür zu sorgen, dass das Geld gut bleibt. Entsprechend richtet die Nationalbank ihr ganzes Handeln auf diesen Auftrag aus.

Die Schweizer Währungsgeschichte seit dem Tag von Uster im Jahr 1830 führt vor Augen, dass die Geldordnung weder natur- noch gottgegeben ist. Vielmehr handelt es sich um eine mehr oder weniger nützliche menschliche Erfindung. Die fundamentalen Weichenstellungen sind teilweise das Resultat von Lernprozessen. Manchmal gilt es aber auch, resolut und unter Zeitdruck auf Umwälzungen im internationalen Umfeld zu reagieren. In der Schweizer Geschichte sind dennoch zwei Konstanten unübersehbar: Erstens wird das Streben nach gutem Geld zum Wohle der Bevölkerung als staatliche Aufgabe betrachtet. Zweitens geniessen die Geldordnung und die Nationalbank ein breites Grundvertrauen, und die Stabilitätskultur ist hierzulande tief verankert.

Angesichts der grossen Bedeutung der Geldordnung ist es legitim und notwendig, diese immer wieder auf den Prüfstand zu stellen. Dabei ist allerdings zu bedenken, dass es sich um eine historisch gewachsene Ordnung handelt. Selbst gutgemeinte Eingriffe können daher schwerwiegende Konsequenzen für unser Land und die ganze Bevölkerung nach sich ziehen. Beispiele für solche tiefgreifenden Reformen wären privates anstelle von staatlichem Geld, die Rückkehr zu einem Goldstandard, die Einführung von Vollgeld und die Übernahme von fremdem Geld. Aus heutiger Sicht sind diese vier Reformideen nicht dazu geeignet, unser gutes Geld noch besser zu machen.

Seit über 100 Jahren finden die Geldordnung und die Institutionen, die für gutes Geld bürgen, in der Schweizer Bevölkerung breite Akzeptanz und grossen Rückhalt. Das hat es ermöglicht, an den Grundwerten der Geldordnung festzuhalten und auf Experimente mit ungewissem Ausgang zu verzichten, sich aber unumgänglichen Anpassungen nicht zu verschliessen. Darin kommt eine Stärke unseres Landes zum Ausdruck: Neues wird unvoreingenommen geprüft, um es, wenn für gut befunden, auf unsere Verhältnisse angepasst zu übernehmen und mit dem Bewährten wo möglich organisch zu verbinden.