Print

Are central banks doing too much?

Foire du Valais, Martigny, 09.10.2014

  • Complete text
    (124 KB)

Over the past few years, central banks have applied an entire arsenal of instruments to mitigate the financial crisis and its aftermath. They are also assuming a more active role in regulation. So, have they become too active?

After the onset of the financial crisis, central banks acted decisively to cut interest rates, and provided large amounts of liquidity in their role of lender of last resort, thereby helping to prevent the collapse of economies and of the financial system. Even so, the recovery was feeble and unemployment remained high. Yet with short-term interest rates already close to zero, the set of conventional monetary policy instruments was exhausted. Central banks were thus forced to turn to unconventional instruments to stimulate economic activity. The two main weapons were large-scale purchases of long-term securities (quantitative easing) and the commitment to keep short-term rates low for a specific period (forward guidance).

However, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) was in a special situation as it was confronted with a huge appreciation of the Swiss franc. In September 2011, it set a minimum exchange rate for the euro, having previously applied other unconventional measures. The minimum exchange rate reduced the risk of deflationary developments, and it is still the SNB's main tool in ensuring price stability and thereby fulfilling its mandate. Experience since the onset of the financial crisis, and in particular the minimum exchange rate, show how important it is for the SNB to be able to react flexibly. This freedom of monetary policy manoeuvre would be massively curtailed by the gold initiative, with its requirement for a minimum share of the SNB's assets to be held in gold, combined with a prohibition on gold sales.

The crisis has revealed two shortcomings in regulatory practice to date: First, it focused too strongly on the management of crises, and too little on their prevention. Second, it did not sufficiently address the systemic risk that can emanate from very large or highly interconnected financial institutions. In this regard, central banks possess the necessary tools and competences. Accordingly, they have reinterpreted their mandate in the area of financial stability.

So, far from doing too much, central banks have in fact done what needed - and still needs - to be done.

Drucken

Machen Zentralbanken zu viel?

Foire du Valais, Martigny, 09.10.2014

  • Vollständiger Text
    (144 KB)

In den letzten Jahren haben die Zentralbanken ein ganzes Arsenal von Instrumenten eingesetzt, um die Finanzkrise zu bekämpfen und die Nachwehen zu lindern. Sie übernehmen zudem eine wichtigere Rolle in der Regulierung. Sind sie damit nicht zu aktiv geworden?

Nach Ausbruch der Finanzkrise senkten die Zentralbanken die Zinsen resolut und stellten als Lender of last Resort viel Liquidität zur Verfügung. Damit trugen sie dazu bei, Volkswirtschaften und Finanzmärkte vor dem Kollaps zu bewahren. Gleichwohl blieb die Erholung zögerlich und die Arbeitslosigkeit hoch. Allerdings befanden sich die kurzfristigen Zinsen bereits nahe null, und damit war das konventionelle Instrumentarium der Geldpolitik ausgeschöpft. Um die Wirtschaft anzukurbeln, griffen die Zentralbanken daher zu unkonventionellen Instrumenten. Im Vordergrund standen grossangelegte Käufe langfristiger Wertpapiere (Quantitative Easing) und die Verpflichtung, die kurzfristigen Zinsen für eine bestimmte Zeit tief zu halten (Forward Guidance).

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) stellt allerdings einen Sonderfall dar, war sie doch mit einer massiven Aufwertung des Frankens konfrontiert. Sie legte im September 2011 einen Mindestkurs gegenüber dem Euro fest, nachdem sie zuvor andere unkonventionelle Massnahmen getroffen hatte. Der Mindestkurs hat das Risiko reduziert, dass es zu deflationären Entwicklungen kommt. Er bleibt weiterhin das Hauptinstrument der SNB, um die Preisstabilität zu sichern und damit ihren Auftrag zu erfüllen. Die Erfahrungen seit Ausbruch der Finanzkrise und insbesondere der Mindestkurs zeigen, wie wichtig es ist, dass die SNB flexibel reagieren kann. Diesen geldpolitischen Handlungsspielraum würde die Goldinitiative mit ihren Forderungen nach einem Goldmindestanteil und einem Goldverkaufsverbot massiv beschneiden.

Die Krise hat zwei Mängel in der bisherigen Regulierung zu Tage gefördert: Erstens war das Augenmerk zu sehr auf Krisenbewältigung und zu wenig auf Krisenverhütung gerichtet. Zweitens wurde das systemische Risiko vernachlässigt, das von ganz grossen oder stark vernetzten Finanzinstituten ausgehen kann. Zentralbanken verfügen über Werkzeuge und Kompetenzen, die in diesem Gebiet notwendig sind. Entsprechend haben sie ihr Mandat im Bereich der Finanzstabilität neu interpretiert.

Zentralbanken sind somit nicht zu aktiv geworden; vielmehr haben sie das getan, was nötig war und nötig ist.