Print

A year without dividends and profit distribution - what are the reasons?

106th Ordinary General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, Berne, 25.04.2014

  • Complete text
    (91 KB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) is breaking with a long-standing tradition. For the first time since its establishment more than one hundred years ago, it cannot pay its shareholders any dividends. The Confederation and the cantons are also left empty handed, a first since the introduction of the current distribution regulation twenty years ago. This is primarily due to the fact that in the 2013 financial year, the SNB had to accept a large valuation loss on its gold holdings, which could not be offset by other earnings. The SNB also increased its equity capital by creating additional provisions, since the legislator places substantial weight on the SNB maintaining a healthy balance sheet. The annual result of CHF -12 billion also completely exhausted the distribution reserve, and consequently, no earnings remain to be paid out as dividends to shareholders or as distributions to the Confederation and cantons. Therefore, the conditions laid down in the National Bank Act (NBA) for the payment of a dividend or distribution are not fulfilled.

The SNB's character as a special-statute joint-stock company is reflected in a number of features. These include not only the limitation of dividends to a maximum of 6% of a share's nominal value, but also the restriction of SNB shareholder rights compared to those of other companies in other matters. The approval of the popular initiative against excessive remuneration (the Minder initiative), which basically strengthens shareholders' rights, does not change this. The powers of the General Meeting of Shareholders of the SNB will thus continue to be determined by the NBA. The policy on compensation, in particular, remains within the remit of the Bank Council. For years, the SNB has attached great importance to transparency in this area. The principles governing compensation, and detailed information on the remuneration of senior management, are included in the Annual Report.

Since the beginning, the cantons have been linked with the SNB in many ways. Regarding the participation in the SNB's financial result, history shows that the share of distributions in cantonal income has fluctuated strongly. Special factors in the last two decades meant that payments were very handsome. Nevertheless, the SNB has regularly emphasised that there is no guarantee for the distributions. Since the financial result is dominated by valuation changes, the SNB gives neither earnings forecasts nor profit warnings. The Bank Council will continue to adhere to a prudent provisioning policy, with the focus on ensuring the SNB's room for manoeuvre over the long term.

Drucken

Ein Jahr ohne Dividende und Gewinnausschüttung - was sind die Gründe?

106. ordentliche Generalversammlung der Aktionäre der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Bern, 25.04.2014

  • Vollständiger Text
    (99 KB)

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) bricht mit einer langen Tradition. Erstmals seit der Gründung vor über 100 Jahren kann sie ihren Aktionären keine Dividende auszahlen. Auch der Bund und die Kantone gehen leer aus, zum ersten Mal seit der Einführung der heutigen Ausschüttungsregel vor 20 Jahren. Ausschlaggebend war, dass die SNB im Geschäftsjahr 2013 auf ihrem Goldbestand einen hohen Bewertungsverlust hinnehmen musste, der durch andere Erträge nicht wettgemacht werden konnte. Ausserdem stärkte die SNB mit der Bildung von Rückstellungen ihr Eigenkapital, legt doch der Gesetzgeber grossen Wert auf eine gesunde Bilanz. Das Jahresergebnis von minus 12 Mrd. Franken zehrte auch die Aufschüttungsreserve gänzlich auf, so dass kein Ertrag mehr bleibt, der als Dividende an die Aktionäre ausgerichtet oder als Ausschüttung an Kantone und Bund überwiesen werden kann. Damit sind die im Nationalbankgesetz festgelegten Voraussetzungen für eine Dividende bzw. eine Ausschüttung nicht erfüllt.

Dass die SNB eine spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft ist, kommt nicht nur darin zum Ausdruck, dass die Dividende auf maximal 6% des Nennwerts der Aktie limitiert ist. Die Rechte der SNB-Aktionäre sind gegenüber den Rechten von Aktionären anderer Unternehmen in weiteren Belangen beschnitten. Daran ändert auch die Annahme der Minder-Initiative nichts, welche die Aktionärsrechte grundsätzlich stärkt. Die Befugnisse der Generalversammlung der SNB-Aktionäre werden daher weiterhin vom Nationalbankgesetz bestimmt. Insbesondere die Vergütungspolitik bleibt Sache des Bankrats. Die SNB legt auch in diesem Bereich seit Jahren hohen Wert auf Transparenz: Im Geschäftsbericht werden die Grundsätze der Entlöhnung erläutert und die Vergütungen an die Bankleitung detailliert offengelegt.

Die Kantone sind seit Beginn mit der SNB auf vielfältige Weise verbunden. Mit Blick auf die finanzielle Beteiligung am Nationalbankergebnis zeigt die Geschichte, dass der Anteil der Ausschüttung an den Kantonseinnahmen stark geschwankt hat. In den letzten zwei Jahrzehnten fielen die Zahlungen indes aufgrund von Sonderfaktoren sehr stattlich aus. Die SNB hat jedoch immer wieder darauf hingewiesen, dass es keine Garantie für Ausschüttungen gibt. Da Bewertungsveränderungen das Geschäftsergebnis dominieren, gibt die SNB kein Ertragsprognosen ab und spricht auch keine Gewinnwarnungen aus. Der Bankrat wird weiterhin eine besonnene Rückstellungspolitik verfolgen, welche die Bewahrung der langfristigen Handlungsfähigkeit der SNB ins Zentrum stellt.