Print

A macroprudential progress report

Society for Financial Econometrics (SoFiE) Conference, Lugano, 11.10.2013

  • Complete text
    (107 KB)

The global financial crisis highlighted the fact that policymakers have underestimated the importance of systemic risk in the financial sector. Five years later, our understanding of the nature of systemic risk has improved, and macroprudential measures to contain it are being designed and implemented. Overall, these measures aim to increase the resilience of the financial system to adverse shocks and to preventively contain the build-up of systemic risk.

Switzerland is well advanced in introducing this kind of macroprudential approach to financial regulation. The implementation of measures to address the «too big to fail» problem, which is particularly acute in Switzerland, is under way. Also, to address the cyclical risk arising from imbalances in the Swiss real estate and mortage market, a countercyclical capital buffer has been activated, and took effect on 30 September 2013.

This progress notwithstanding, our journey towards a more resilient financial system is far from over. To further increase the resilience of the two big banks and make orderly resolution of a distressed bank possible, full implementation of the «too big to fail» package is indispensable. In particular, banks must fully and consistently implement the tighter capital and liquidity requirements as planned, improve the transparency and reliability of their own risk assessment models and continue their work of drafting recovery and resolution plans. In addition, close coordination among regulators across borders is necessary. Specifically, regulators must ensure that resolution measures for global banks ordered by one authority are mutually recognised.

On the cyclical front, there is substantial uncertainty on where exactly we are in the credit cycle. Together with persistent imbalances in the real estate and mortgage market, this calls for prudence on the part of all actors. Banks should apply conservative lending criteria, borrowers should bear in mind that rising house prices and low interest rates cannot continue indefinitely, and regulators must continue to monitor the situation closely and be ready to take further action if needed.

Drucken

Umsetzung der makroprudenziellen Regulierung: Ein Zwischenbericht

Society for Financial Econometrics (SoFiE) Conference, Lugano, 11.10.2013

  • Vollständiger Text in Englisch: "A macroprudential progress report"
    PDF (107 KB)

Die Finanzkrise hat deutlich aufgezeigt, dass systemische Risiken im Finanzsektor unterschätzt wurden. Seither wurde und wird intensiv daran gearbeitet, diese Risiken besser zu verstehen und makroprudenzielle Massnahmen zu konzipieren und umzusetzen. Letztere zielen darauf ab, die Widerstandskraft des Finanzsystems zu stärken und dem Aufbau von systemischen Risiken präventiv entgegenzuwirken.

In der Schweiz wurden bei der Implementierung eines solchen makroprudenziellen Regulierungsrahmens bereits wesentliche Fortschritte erzielt. Ein Massnahmenpaket zur Eindämmung des «Too big to fail»-Problems, wovon die Schweiz speziell stark betroffen ist, befindet sich in der Umsetzungsphase. Mit Blick auf zyklische Stabilitätsrisiken, die von Ungleichgewichten im Immobilien- und Hypothekarmarkt ausgehen, wurde zudem der antizyklische Kapitalpuffer aktiviert. Dieser gilt seit dem 30. September 2013.

Ungeachtet dieser Fortschritte ist der Weg in Richtung eines nachhaltig stabileren Finanzsystems noch lang. Um die Widerstandskraft der beiden Grossbanken weiter zu stärken und eine allfällige ordentliche Abwicklung einer solchen Bank zu ermöglichen, muss das «Too big to fail»-Massnahmenpaket vollständig umgesetzt werden. Insbesondere ist es notwendig, dass Banken die verschärften Kapital- und Liquiditätsvorschriften konsequent und wie geplant umsetzen, die Transparenz und Verlässlichkeit ihrer eigenen Risikomodelle verbessern und ihre Bestrebungen in der Ausarbeitung von Abwicklungsplänen fortsetzen. Gleichzeitig müssen Aufsichtsbehörden grenzüberschreitend eng zusammenarbeiten. Speziell ist sicherzustellen, dass Abwicklungsmassnahmen für globale Banken, die eine Behörde anordnet, gegenseitig anerkannt werden.

Ausserdem besteht in der aktuellen Situation grosse Unsicherheit bezüglich des weiteren Verlaufs des Kreditzyklus. Gepaart mit den anhaltenden Ungleichgewichten im Immobilien- und Hypothekarmarkt weist dieser Umstand darauf hin, dass Vorsicht das Gebot der Stunde darstellt: Banken sind angehalten, konservative Kreditvergabekriterien zu befolgen, Schuldner sollten sich darüber im Klaren sein, dass steigende Häuserpreise und tiefe Zinsen kein Dauerzustand sind und Regulatoren müssen die Situation weiterhin aufmerksam beobachten und bereit sein, nötigenfalls weitere Massnahmen zu ergreifen.