Print

The financial crisis in its sixth year: an end in sight?

Money Market Event, Zurich, 21.03.2013

  • Complete text in German: "Die Finanzkrise im sechsten Jahr: Ende in Sicht?"
    PDF (1.5 MB)

In this, the sixth year of the financial crisis, the situation on the financial markets has eased considerably. Is what we're seeing the prospect of an end to the crisis, or is this just a flash in the pan?

Measures by central banks made a major contribution to stabilising the financial sector. This sector, however, is just a part of the whole, and while its stability is a precondition for sustained global economic growth, it is by no means a guarantee. The positive mood in the financial markets and leading economic indicators raise hopes that a recovery is underway. If these hopes are to be realised, however, structural reforms need to be implemented.

The three most significant challenges for the global economy are increasing the resilience of the financial sector, improving the flexibility of labour and goods markets (especially in Europe), and consolidating the public finances of the advanced economies. Progress has been made in all three areas. The way ahead, however, is still both long and difficult. Due to the relatively lengthy period of weak growth, there is considerable danger that reform fatigue might spread in those countries most severely affected. It is therefore that much more important that the reforms are well-planned and credible, and that they are implemented consistently, but also prudently. There is also the threat that pressure will build on central banks to compensate a failure to reform with monetary policy measures.

Central banks can and must resist this pressure, in order that they can continue to focus on ensuring price stability. Governments, on the other hand, should embrace this deep crisis as an opportunity to implement urgently needed structural reforms. Only then will we be able to say, with certainty, that the end of the financial crisis is in sight.

Drucken

Die Finanzkrise im sechsten Jahr: Ende in Sicht?

Geldmarkt-Apéro, Zürich, 21.03.2013

  • Vollständiger Text
    (1.5 MB)

Im sechsten Jahr der Finanzkrise hat sich die Lage an den Finanzmärkten deutlich aufgehellt. Rückt damit das Ende der Krise in Sicht, oder handelt es sich bloss um ein Strohfeuer?

Die Massnahmen der Zentralbanken haben wesentlich zur Stabilisierung des Finanzsektors beigetragen. Der Finanzsektor ist aber nur ein Teil des Ganzen und seine Stabilisierung zwar Voraussetzung, aber keine Garantie für ein nachhaltiges Wachstum der Weltwirtschaft. Die positive Stimmung auf den Finanzmärkten sowie vorlaufende Konjunkturindikatoren nähren die Hoffnung auf eine fortschreitende Erholung. Damit sich diese Hoffnung erfüllt, müssen jedoch strukturelle Reformen durchgeführt werden.

Die drei grössten Herausforderungen für die Weltwirtschaft sind die Erhöhung der Widerstandsfähigkeit des Finanzsektors, die Flexibilisierung der Arbeits- und Gütermärkte - dies vor allem in Europa - sowie die Konsolidierung der Staatsfinanzen in den Industrieländern. Auf allen drei Ebenen sind Fortschritte zu verzeichnen. Der Weg ist aber noch lang und beschwerlich. Aufgrund der relativ lang andauernden Wachstumsschwäche ist die Gefahr gross, dass sich in den am schwersten betroffenen Ländern eine Reformmüdigkeit ausbreitet. Umso wichtiger ist, dass die Reformen gut konzipiert und glaubwürdig sind und dass sie konsequent, aber zugleich umsichtig umgesetzt werden. Es besteht zudem das Risiko, dass der Druck auf die Zentralbanken steigt, mangelnden Reformwillen mit geldpolitischen Massnahmen zu kompensieren.

Diesem Druck können und müssen die Zentralbanken unbedingt standhalten, damit sie sich weiterhin auf die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität konzentrieren können. Die Regierungen wiederum sollten diese tiefe Krise als Chance für die Umsetzung von dringend nötigen Strukturreformen nutzen. Nur dann ist auch ohne Fragezeichen ein Ende der Finanzkrise in Sicht.