Print

SNB monetary and investment policy and the impact of the strong Swiss franc

Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft des Kantons Bern, Berne, 28.11.2012

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik und Anlagepolitik der Nationalbank im Zeichen der Frankenst√§rke"
    PDF (125 KB)

As part of measures to combat the financial and economic crisis, balance sheets of central banks around the world have expanded substantially. In 2009 and 2010, the Swiss National Bank (SNB) intervened in the foreign exchange market in order to combat an excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc. On 6 September 2011, it set a minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro, in order to avert major damage to the Swiss economy. Since then, the SNB has enforced this minimum rate with determination and is prepared to buy foreign currency in unlimited quantities. This monetary policy is reflected in a very substantial expansion in its balance sheet. It has also altered the importance of the currency reserves and had an impact on the SNB's investment policy.

In view of its mandate, monetary policy has priority at the SNB. Investment policy must be subordinated to the requirements of monetary policy. It is at the service of monetary policy and may not limit its room for manoeuvre. At present, enforcement of the minimum exchange rate has the greatest influence in the management of the currency reserves. The task is to diversify a large foreign currency portfolio according to the criteria of liquidity, security and return. Even in these extreme circumstances, the SNB's investment policy and process have proved resilient. The investment skills we have developed over the past 15 years, together with our flexibility regarding investment categories allow for the smooth absorption even of large inflows from foreign exchange purchases. The principles upon which our investment policy is based have proved their worth.

The idea of a sovereign wealth fund for better management of the SNB's currency reserves has attracted some public interest. However, a sovereign wealth fund would not facilitate monetary policy with regard to the enforcement of the minimum exchange rate. Moreover, advocates of a sovereign wealth fund often have unrealistically high expectations, not least as regards returns. But the most important point is that the current size and composition of the central bank balance sheet are a direct reflection of monetary policy. The SNB's investment requirements are derived directly from money creation and not from other revenue sources. If limitations were placed on the SNB balance sheet, its room for manoeuvre in the monetary policy domain would be restricted.

Due to the accumulation of currency reserves that have resulted from monetary policy measures, there are substantial risks weighing on the SNB balance sheet. Consequently, fluctuations in value may be much greater in future than they have been in the past. In addition, the relationship between equity and currency reserves has worsened. To ensure that the SNB can fulfil its mandate in the long term, without any restriction, in the interests of the country as a whole, particular attention is given to its capital base through a prudent provisioning policy.

Drucken

Geldpolitik und Anlagepolitik der Nationalbank im Zeichen der Frankenstärke

Volkswirtschaftliche Gesellschaft des Kantons Bern, Bern, 28.11.2012

  • Vollständiger Text
    (125 KB)

Die Zentralbankbilanzen haben sich im Zuge der Bekämpfung der Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise weltweit stark ausgedehnt. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) intervenierte 2009 und 2010 am Devisenmarkt, um eine übermässige Aufwertung des Frankens zu bekämpfen. Am 6. September 2011 legte sie einen Mindestkurs von 1.20 Franken pro Euro fest, um schweren Schaden von der Schweiz abzuwenden. Die SNB setzt diesen Mindestkurs seither konsequent um und ist bereit, unbeschränkt Devisen zu kaufen. Diese Geldpolitik schlägt sich in einer massiven Bilanzverlängerung nieder. Sie hat auch die Bedeutung der Währungsreserven verändert und wirkt sich auf die Anlagepolitik der SNB aus.

Aufgrund des Auftrags der SNB geniesst die Geldpolitik Vorrang. Die Anlagepolitik hat sich deren Erfordernissen zu fügen. Sie steht im Dienste der Geldpolitik und darf deren Handlungsspielraum nicht einschränken. Derzeit gibt die Durchsetzung des Mindestkurses den Takt in der Bewirtschaftung der Währungsreserven vor. Die Aufgabe besteht darin, einen grossen Bestand an Devisen liquid, sicher und ertragsbringend zu diversifizieren. Die Anlagepolitik und der Anlageprozess der SNB haben sich auch unter diesen extremen Umständen als belastbar erwiesen. Das in den letzten 15 Jahren aufgebaute Anlagewissen und die Flexibilität in Bezug auf die Anlageklassen erlauben es, auch hohe Zuflüsse aus Devisenkäufen störungsfrei zu absorbieren. Die Prinzipien, auf denen die Anlagepolitik beruht, haben sich bewährt.

In der Öffentlichkeit stösst die Idee eines Staatsfonds für eine bessere Bewirtschaftung der Währungsreserven der SNB auf eine gewisse Resonanz. Ein Staatsfonds bringt der Geldpolitik mit Blick auf die Durchsetzung des Mindestkurses jedoch keine Erleichterung. Zudem hegen Befürworter eines Staatsfonds oft unrealistisch hohe Erwartungen, nicht zuletzt mit Blick auf die Rendite. Der wichtigste Punkt ist indes, dass Grösse und Zusammensetzung der Zentralbankbilanz heute direkter Ausdruck der Geldpolitik sind. Der Anlagebedarf der SNB entspringt unmittelbar der Geldschöpfung, und nicht anderen Ertragsquellen. Würden der SNB Einschränkungen in Bezug auf ihre Bilanz auferlegt, würde somit ihr geldpolitischer Handlungsspielraum beschnitten.

Als Folge der geldpolitisch bedingten Akkumulation von Währungsreserven lasten erhebliche Risiken auf der Bilanz der SNB. Die Wertschwankungen können deshalb künftig viel stärker ausfallen als in der Vergangenheit. Zudem hat sich das Verhältnis von Eigenkapital zu Währungsreserven verschlechtert. Damit die SNB auf lange Sicht ihren Auftrag im Gesamtinteresse des Landes uneingeschränkt erfüllen kann, trägt sie ihrer Kapitalbasis mit einer umsichtigen Rückstellungspolitik Sorge.