Print

Monetary policy challenges and the Swiss real estate market

Journée de l’économie tessinoise, Lugano , 28.10.2010

  • Complete text in German: "Die geldpolitischen Herausforderungen und der Schweizer Immobilienmarkt"
    PDF (202 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Les défis de la politique monétaire et le marché immobilier"
    PDF (233 KB)

The National Bank has been expressing concern about developments in and around the Swiss real estate market for some time. While there is currently no cause for panic, there is also no reason to sound the all-clear. With a few exceptions, rising prices in the last few years so far seem to be due to fundamentals.  However, these exceptions should be seen as warning signs.

The risks we have been pointing out for some time stem primarily from mortgage lending. Interest rates are currently at a historically very low level and competitive pressure in the real estate market is high. Any signs of more lax lending practices must therefore be given full attention by all the parties concerned.

Working closely with FINMA and the banks, the SNB will keep a close watch on further developments in the real estate market.  The authorities will not hesitate to take corrective measures, if necessary. In addition, complementary to monetary policy, the SNB will consider macroprudential measures. Ensuring price stability in our country remains the main focus of monetary policy.

We all bear joint responsibility. Switzerland has weathered the most serious global financial and economic crisis in post-war history better than many other countries.  In spite of all the difficulties we have experienced, we find ourselves in a fairly comfortable position. It would indeed be regrettable if we were to jeopardise these favourable conditions by acting irresponsibly in the real estate market.

Drucken

Die geldpolitischen Herausforderungen und der Schweizer Immobilienmarkt

Tag der Tessiner Wirtschaft, Lugano , 28.10.2010

  • Vollständiger Text
    (202 KB)

Die Nationalbank warnt seit einiger Zeit, dass die Entwicklung rund um den Schweizer Immobilienmarkt besorgniserregend ist. Es besteht zwar heute kein Grund zur Panik. Allerdings gibt es auch keinen Grund zur Entwarnung. Der Preisanstieg über die letzten Jahre scheint bisher mit wenigen Ausnahmen durch Fundamentalfaktoren erklärbar zu sein. Aber diese Ausnahmen sind als Warnsignale zu verstehen.

Die Risiken, auf die wir seit einiger Zeit hinweisen, leiten sich in erster Linie aus der Hypothekarkreditvergabe ab. Die Zinsen sind gegenwärtig auf historisch sehr tiefem Niveau. Auch ist der Wettbewerbsdruck im Hypothekarmarkt gross. Hinweise über eine laxere Kreditvergabe verdienen daher die volle Aufmerksamkeit aller Beteiligten.

Die Nationalbank wird in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der FINMA und den Banken die weitere Entwicklung auf dem Hypothekarmarkt eng verfolgen. Bei Bedarf werden die Behörden nicht zögern, gezielt Korrekturmassnahmen zu ergreifen. Die Nationalbank wird ausserdem allfällige makroprudentielle Massnahmen als Ergänzung zur Geldpolitik prüfen. Die Geldpolitik bleibt auf die Gewährleistung der Preisstabilität in unserem Lande ausgerichtet.

Wir alle tragen eine gemeinsame Verantwortung. Die Schweiz hat die schwerste globale Finanz- und Wirtschaftskrise der Nachkriegszeit besser als viele andere Länder überstanden. Die Ausgangslage präsentiert sich trotz allen erlebten Schwierigkeiten recht günstig. Es wäre sehr bedauerlich, wenn wir diese guten Voraussetzungen durch unverantwortliches Handeln am Hypothekarmarkt gefährden würden.