The Swiss National Bank’s monetary policy strategy in the financial crisis

Philipp Hildebrand, Chairman of the Governing Board

University of St. Gallen, 23.03.2010

To contain the financial crisis, central banks all over the world have chosen to take advantage of the room for manoeuvre afforded by their monetary policy strategy. The major central banks were only able to act in a flexible way – at least in part – due to their high degree of credibility with regard to their goal of pursuing price stability. The monetary policy strategy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB), too, has made it possible for the Governing Board to take conventional and unconventional measures to counter the crisis.

 

The SNB’s approach has proven viable in the crisis. But this does not mean that we can sit back now. We must first find ways to withdraw smoothly from the measures taken to contain the crisis. In addition, we need to be sure that the Swiss economy is back on a sustainable growth path. After all, the crisis has shown that imbalances in the global financial system can occur even in an environment of price stability and macroeconomic stability.

 

The main way to counter imbalances in the financial system is through better regulation. Furthermore, central banks should seriously consider the question of whether they need to intervene when risks in the financial system increase as a result of strong credit growth and an easing of lending conditions. Credit aggregates are part of the SNB’s monetary policy strategy, and the National Bank monitors their development closely. However, the SNB’s main aim is and will continue to be the maintenance of price stability.

Drucken

Das geldpolitische Konzept der Schweizerischen Nationalbank während der Finanzkrise

Universität St. Gallen, 23.03.2010

  • Vollständiger Text
    (105 KB)

Zentralbanken weltweit haben zur Eindämmung der Finanzkrise die von der geldpolitischen Strategie gewährte Flexibilität genutzt. Dieses flexible Handeln war zumindest teilweise überhaupt möglich, weil die Glaubwürdigkeit der bedeutenden Zentralbanken, der Preisstabilität verpflichtet zu sein, sehr hoch ist. Auch das geldpolitische Konzept der Nationalbank hat es dem Direktorium erlaubt, konventionelle und unkonventionelle Massnahmen zur Krisenbekämpfung zu beschliessen.

 

Das Konzept der Nationalbank hat sich in der Krisenbekämpfung bewährt. Aber das ist kein Grund, zurückzulehnen. Alle getroffenen Massnahmen zur Eindämmung der Krise müssen zuerst störungsfrei wieder abgebaut sein. Zudem wollen wir sicher sein, dass die Schweizer Wirtschaft auf einen nachhaltigen Wachstumspfad zurückgekehrt ist. Schliesslich hat die Krise aufgezeigt, dass sich trotz Preisstabilität und makroökonomischer Stabilität Ungleichgewichte im globalen Finanzsystem aufgebaut hatten.

 

Dem Aufbau von Ungleichgewichten im Finanzsystem ist primär mit einer besseren Regulierung entgegenzuwirken. Darüber hinaus sollten sich Zentralbanken intensiv mit der Frage auseinandersetzen, ob sie nicht einschreiten müssten, wenn ein starkes Kreditwachstum und laschere Kreditbedingungen die Risiken im Finanzsystem erhöhen. Kreditaggregate sind Teil des geldpolitischen Konzepts, und die Nationalbank verfolgt ihre Entwicklung aufmerksam. Oberstes Ziel ist und bleibt aber die Wahrung der Preisstabilität.