Print

The SNB’s monetary policy in turbulent times

Geldmarkt-Apéro der SNB, Zurich, 19.03.2009

  • Complete text in German: "Die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank in stürmischen Zeiten"
    PDF (1.1 MB)

The financial market crisis has now widened into a global economic recession, and the Swiss economy is feeling the full impact. The SNB has taken prompt and decisive action in response, and substantially relaxed its monetary policy.

In mid-March, as a result of the sharp economic downturn since December 2008, a further major expansion of monetary policy became necessary. However, the SNB was already operating a de facto zero interest rate policy (ZIRP), and the natural limits of conventional monetary policy had been reached. The SNB therefore took three unconventional measures: increasing the number of transactions in repos with longer terms, purchasing Swiss franc bonds issued by private sector borrowers, and buying foreign currency on the open market.

In implementing these unconventional steps, the SNB has demonstrated that, even in an environment of zero interest rates, it still has a number of tools at its disposal which allow it to react flexibly to any undesired tightening of monetary conditions. In this context, it is important not to misinterpret the foreign currency measures as the start of a ‘beggar thy neighbour’ policy. In periods of zero interest rates, such purchases help to counter the risk of deflation.

The Swiss economy faces an exceptionally difficult year in 2009. Economic activity is set to pick up again gradually over the course of 2010, thanks to the extremely expansive monetary policy. This is, however, conditional upon an economic recovery by our main trading partners, as well as a return to stability on financial markets. The SNB measures are also aimed at reducing the risk of deflation in Switzerland.

Despite the creation of massive amounts of liquidity, the SNB remains committed to ensuring price stability in the future. We will use all means at our disposal to reduce liquidity again in good time, so as to prevent any upsurge of inflation in Switzerland once the crisis has ended.

Drucken

Die Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank in stürmischen Zeiten

Geldmarkt-Apéro der SNB, Zürich, 19.03.2009

  • Vollständiger Text
    (1.1 MB)

Die Finanzmarktkrise hat mittlerweile zu einer Rezession der Weltwirtschaft geführt, von der auch die Schweizer Volkswirtschaft mit voller Wucht erfasst wurde. Frühzeitig und entschlossen hat die SNB reagiert und den monetären Restriktionsgrad stark gelockert.

Die seit Dezember 2008 deutliche Verschlechterung des wirtschaftlichen Umfelds erforderte Mitte März 2009 eine weitere kräftige Erhöhung des geldpolitischen Expansionsgrades. Allerdings praktizierte die SNB de facto bereits eine Nullzinspolitik. Die konventionelle Geldpolitik stiess an eine natürliche Grenze. Deshalb ergriff die SNB drei unkonventionelle Massnahmen: Erhöhung der Anzahl längerfristiger Repo-Geschäfte, Käufe von Frankenobligationen privater Schuldner und Käufe von Devisen am Markt.

Mit der Umsetzung der unkonventionellen Massnahmen hat die SNB bewiesen, dass sie auch in der Nullzinswelt handlungsfähig bleibt, um flexibel auf eine unerwünschte Verschärfung des monetären Restriktionsgrades reagieren zu können. Dabei dürfen die Devisenmarkt-Massnahmen keineswegs als der Beginn einer „beggar thy neighbour"-Politik missinterpretiert werden. Sie dienen in Zeiten der Nullzinspolitik zur Bekämpfung der Deflationsgefahr.

Die Schweizer Wirtschaft steht 2009 vor einem ausgesprochen schwierigen Jahr. Mit der extrem expansiven Geldpolitik sollte sich die wirtschaftliche Dynamik im Verlauf des Jahres 2010 allmählich wieder verbessern. Dies setzt gleichzeitig eine Konjunkturerholung bei unseren wichtigsten Handelspartnern sowie eine Finanzmarktstabilisierung voraus. Ebenfalls sollte sich mit den Massnahmen der SNB die Gefahr einer Deflation in der Schweiz verringern.

Trotz der massiven Liquiditätsschöpfung bleibt die Nationalbank auch zukünftig dem Erhalt der Preisstabilität verpflichtet. Wir werden alles daran setzen, um die Liquidität rechtzeitig wieder zu reduzieren, so dass nach der Krise in der Schweiz keine Inflation entsteht.