Print

Prospects for the Swiss economy in 2009

erfa-Gruppe, Weinfelden, 15.01.2009

  • Complete text in German: "Perspektiven für die Schweizer Wirtschaft 2009"
    PDF (814 KB)

Following a long, strong and broad-based growth phase, the world economy moved into a major recession in mid-2008. About a year after the beginning of the unprecedented financial market crisis, there was a radical turnaround in the global economic outlook. The European and Asian economies were not disconnected from the US, as had been hoped. The Swiss economy leans heavily on its export and financial sectors and faces a difficult year. A recession appears unavoidable in 2009.

Consequently, the skilful deployment of monetary and fiscal policies as well as optimal conduct on the part of business practitioners in Switzerland are particularly important. Monetary policy can be changed quickly and its impact is relatively rapid through its influence on interest rates and the exchange rate. The SNB has reacted resolutely to the deterioration in the economic situation and has reduced interest rates to almost zero. If necessary, monetary policy can be rendered even more expansionary through a series of alternative instruments.

In the case of fiscal policy, the focus is on effective automatic stabilisers – first and foremost, allowing the occurrence of temporary budget deficits, together with unemployment benefits and compensation for short-time working. In view of the extent and risks of the current crisis, fiscal policy will need to consider and prepare the deployment of additional stabilisation measures alongside the automatic stabilisers. 

In addition to the increased focus on economic policy, business practitioners within the Swiss economy are also challenged. In the case of banks, it is essential that credit shortages for companies and private households be avoided. Moreover, interbank business needs to be strengthened in order to smooth out liquidity imbalances. Companies must enhance their innovativeness and use opportunities for opening up new markets. The Swiss economy has many structural strengths and this prompts confidence that Switzerland will overcome the crisis.

Drucken

Perspektiven für die Schweizer Wirtschaft 2009

erfa-Gruppe, Weinfelden, 15.01.2009

  • Vollständiger Text
    (814 KB)

Die Weltwirtschaft ist nach einer langen, breit abgestützten, starken Wachstumsphase ab Mitte 2008 in eine massive Rezession geraten.  Rund ein Jahr nach Ausbruch der epochalen Finanzmarktkrise erfolgte ein radikaler Umschwung der weltwirtschaftlichen Aussichten. Hoffnungen auf eine konjunkturelle Abkoppelung Europas und Asiens von den USA bewahrheiteten sich nicht. Die export- und finanzmarktlastige Schweizer Wirtschaft steht vor einem schwierigen Jahr. Eine Rezession in 2009 scheint unvermeidbar.

Umso entscheidender sind der geschickte Einsatz der Geld- und Fiskalpolitik sowie ein optimales Verhalten der Wirtschaftsakteure in der Schweiz. Die Geldpolitik kann schnell verändert werden, und deren Wirkung tritt vergleichsweise rasch über ihren Einfluss auf Zinsen und Wechselkurs ein. Die SNB hat entschlossen auf die Verschlechterung der Wirtschaftslage reagiert und die Zinsen praktisch auf Null gesenkt. Der Expansionsgrad der Geldpolitik kann bei Bedarf aber noch über eine Reihe alternativer Instrumente erhöht werden.

Bei der Fiskalpolitik stehen die wirkungsvollen automatischen Stabilisatoren im Vordergrund. Zu diesen gehören primär die Zulassung von temporären Budgetdefiziten sowie die Arbeitslosenversicherung und die Kurzarbeitsentschädigung. Das Ausmass und die Risiken der gegenwärtigen Krise implizieren, dass die Fiskalpolitik über die automatischen Stabilisatoren hinaus den Einsatz von zusätzlichen Stabilisierungsmassnahmen erwägen und vorbereiten muss. 

Neben der Wirtschaftspolitik sind auch die Akteure der Schweizer Wirtschaft selber gefordert. Auf Seite der Banken muss eine Kreditverknappung für Unternehmen und Privathaushalte unbedingt vermieden werden. Dazu ist eine Stärkung des Interbankengeschäfts zum Ausgleich von Liquiditätsungleichgewichten notwendig. Die Unternehmen müssen ihre Innovationskraft stärken und Chancen für neue Märkte nutzen. Die Schweizer Wirtschaft verfügt über viele strukturelle Stärken. Dies stimmt zuversichtlich, dass die Schweiz die Krise meistern wird.