Print

Lessons from the financial market turbulence

Jefferies prize-giving ceremony, Zurich, 27.08.2008

  • Complete text in German: "Lehren aus den Finanzmarktturbulenzen"
    PDF (77 KB)

The current financial crisis is probably the most complex since the 1930s. The extent of international cooperation in overcoming it is greater than ever before. An important part in these activities is being played by the Financial Stability Forum (FSF), which was founded in 1998 and to which Switzerland has belonged since 2007. Six months after the start of the crisis, in April 2008, the FSF published a series of recommendations for enhancing the resilience of the international financial system.

There are three main advantages to cooperating internationally in this way. First, it is easier to focus more clearly on identifying solutions. Second, it ensures that particular attention is paid to maintaining a level playing field when establishing regulatory measures. Third, it creates considerable pressure for any recommendations issued to be implemented in practice.

The current crisis has shown that the Swiss banking system remains vulnerable to major shocks. As part of its statutory mandate to contribute to financial stability, the SNB has been monitoring developments since the start of the crisis very carefully. The lessons learned by the SNB from the crisis tie in with the recommendations of the FSF. For the SNB, the focus is on measures that reinforce the long-term resilience of our financial system with a view to future financial market crises.

Drucken

Lehren aus den Finanzmarktturbulenzen

Jefferies-Preisverleihungsfeier, Zürich, 27.08.2008

  • Vollständiger Text
    (77 KB)

Die gegenwärtige Finanzkrise dürfte die komplexeste seit den 1930er Jahren sein. Das Ausmass der internationalen Kooperation bei der Bewältigung der heutigen Krise ist so gross wie nie zuvor. Eine bedeutende Rolle spielt dabei das 1998  gegründete Financial Stability Forum (FSF), dem die Schweiz seit 2007 angehört. Ein halbes Jahr nach Ausbruch der Krise veröffentlichte das FSF im April 2008 eine Reihe von Empfehlungen zur Stärkung der Widerstandskraft des internationalen Finanzsystems.

Diese internationale Kooperation hat insbesondere drei Vorteile: Erstens wird eine zielorientiertere Identifikation von Lösungsansätzen erleichtert. Zweitens wird beim Festlegen von regulatorischen Massnahmen der Einhaltung des "level playing field" grosse Beachtung geschenkt. Drittens erzeugt sie einen erheblichen Druck, identifizierte Empfehlungen umzusetzen.

Die gegenwärtige Krise hat gezeigt, dass das Schweizer Bankensystem gegenüber grossen Schocks nach wie vor anfällig ist. Die Nationalbank verfolgt im Rahmen ihres gesetzlichen Auftrages, einen Beitrag zur Finanzstabilität zu leisten, die Entwicklung seit Ausbruch der Krise sehr genau. Die von der Nationalbank aus der Krise gezogenen Lehren decken sich mit den Empfehlungen des FSF. Für die Nationalbank stehen Massnahmen im Vordergrund, welche die Widerstandskraft unseres Finanzsystems im Hinblick auf zukünftige Finanzmarktkrisen nachhaltig stärken.