Print

Inflation and economic activity: Are we at a crossroads?

Lunchtime discussion at the "Geneva Financial Center" organisation, Geneva, 28.08.2006

  • Complete text in French: "Conjoncture et inflation: la croisée des chemins?"
    PDF (32 KB)
While the world economy is experiencing exceptionally vigorous expansion and inflationary pressure is contained, there is still a certain amount of uncertainty. Will the economy turn down again and inflation accelerate?
 
The Swiss National Bank is not working with a scenario of imminent weakness in the global economy, even if the rate of growth slows somewhat. Certainly, the US economy appears to be heading for a soft landing, and economic activity in Europe is also likely to increase less rapidly in the second half of the year. On the price front, the recent surge in inflation in the consumer price index was largely attributable to the cost of goods and services directly linked to energy prices, while core inflation remained at a relatively low level. Given the slowdown in global spending and the normalisation of monetary conditions, inflationary pressures are likely to remain restrained.
 
This assessment also applies to Switzerland. The vitality of the manufacturing, financial and construction sectors, which have fuelled economic growth in our country over the past few quarters, is likely to diminish, particularly in view of the expected slowdown in global demand. Growth in Swiss GDP will probably amount to a little over 2.5% in 2006 (this is a cautious forecast), falling back slightly in 2007 yet remaining in the vicinity of 2%. Consumer prices rose 1.4% in July, marginally above our figure for core inflation, which at 1.2% is the highest since April 2002. However, these rates are well below the level of 2% that we consider the upper limit for price stability. For 2006 as a whole, we expect the average rate of inflation to remain below 1.5%, and this is unlikely to change much in 2007.
 
With respect to monetary policy, the healthy economic outlook in both the world and domestic economies, together with the high level of capacity utilisation in manufacturing, require us to further pursue normalisation of the target range for the three-month Libor. This is particularly necessary in view of the significant relaxation in global monetary conditions due to the depreciation of the Swiss franc against the euro that has occurred since our last monetary policy assessment in mid-June.

Drucken

Konjunktur und Inflation: Stehen wir an einem Scheideweg?

Mittagsdiskussion von "Genève Place Financière", Genf, 28.08.2006

  • Vollständiger Text in Französisch: "Conjoncture et inflation: la croisée des chemins?"
    PDF (32 KB)
Während ein ausnehmend starkes Wachstum und ein mässiger Inflationsdruck die Weltwirtschaft kennzeichnen, herrscht bezüglich der weiteren Entwicklung Ungewissheit. Kommt es zu einer Wende im Konjunkturzyklus und einer Beschleunigung der Inflation?
 
Bei der Nationalbank verfolgen wir das Szenario eines baldigen Einbruchs der Weltkonjunktur nicht, auch wenn eine gewisse Wachstumsverlangsamung eintreten sollte. Es scheint tatsächlich so, als ob in den USA die Bedingungen für eine weiche Landung der Wirtschaft gegeben sind, wobei in der zweiten Jahreshälfte auch in Europa ein Rückgang der Wirtschaftsaktivitäten eintreten sollte. Was die Teuerung anbelangt, so ist der kürzliche Anstieg des Konsumentenpreisindexes vorwiegend auf die direkt von den Energiepreisen beeinflussten Güter- und Dienstleistungskosten zurückzuführen. Währenddessen ist die Kerninflation relativ schwach geblieben. Angesichts weltweit abflauender Ausgaben und sich normalisierender Währungsbedingungen dürfte der Inflationsdruck moderat bleiben.
 
Diese Einschätzung gilt auch für die Schweiz. Die starke Dynamik des Produktions-, des Finanz- und des Bausektors, auf welcher das konjunkturelle Wachstum in der Schweiz während der letzten Quartalen beruhte, dürfte sich namentlich infolge der erwarteten Rückbildung der weltweiten Nachfrage abschwächen. Im Jahr 2006 dürfte das BIP in der Schweiz auf etwas über 2,5% ansteigen eine vorsichtige Prognose und sich 2007 nach einem leichten Rückgang bei etwa 2% einpendeln. Die Teuerung bei den Konsumentenpreisen erreichte im Juli 1,4% und lag damit knapp über der von uns gemessenen Kerninflation. Diese betrug 1,2%, das höchste seit April 2002 verzeichnete Niveau. Solche Zahlen sind allerdings weit von der 2%-Grenze entfernt, die wir mit Preisstabilität gleichsetzen. Für das ganze Jahr 2006 gehen wir von einer durchschnittlichen Inflation von knapp 1,5% aus und erwarten keine grossen Veränderungen für 2007.
 
Was die Geldpolitik angeht, bedingen die guten weltweiten und inländischen Konjunkturaussichten sowie der hohe Auslastungsgrad der Produktionskapazitäten eine Fortsetzung der von uns eingeleiteten Normalisierung des Leitzinses, also des für den Dreimonatslibor festgesetzten Zielbandes. Dies wird umso deutlicher, als die Abwertung des Frankens gegenüber dem Euro seit unserem letzten Zinsentscheid Mitte Juni zu einer bedeutenden Lockerung der globalen monetären Bedingungen geführt hat.