Print

Current money market developments

Money Market Event, Zurich, 23.03.2006

  • Complete text in German: "Aktuelle Entwicklungen am Geldmarkt"
    PDF (375 KB)

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) implements its monetary policy by influencing the interest rate level in the money market. Repo transactions are the SNB's major monetary policy instrument. In recent years, the Swiss franc repo market has grown strongly, and continues to exhibit considerable growth potential. The SNB works to create favourable conditions in order to increase the efficiency of the Swiss franc money market, thereby enhancing the resistance of the financial system to crises.

The paper discusses two current developments in the money market – first, the replacement of Lombard advances by the liquidity-shortage financing facility and second, the extension and restructuring of the SNB securities baskets for repo transactions.

Over the course of 2005, traditional Lombard advances were replaced by the liquidity-shortage financing facility. This facility is the ultimate source of refinancing for a bank that is unable to obtain sufficient liquidity in the market. Consequently, all banks should have a liquidity-shortage financing facility limit that provides them with a liquidity buffer for unexpected liquidity bottlenecks. This enables them to procure liquidity in times of need. Within the limit allocated to them, banks have the right to obtain liquidity via a repo transaction at the special rate, until the next banking business day (overnight). The special rate is fixed daily, at a level 200 basis points above the Repo Overnight Index (SNB). The limit must always be covered by collateral eligible for SNB repos amounting to at least 110%. The collateral required to cover the limits is now held at SIS in a Custody Cover Account "SNB" in the name of the bank concerned. A great advantage of the new system is that the collateral can also be used for intraday repo transactions, and that the banks can manage these securities themselves. At present, allocated limits amount to a total of more than CHF 11 billion.

With effect from 1 June 2006, the SNB will restructure the SNB repo baskets and extend the list of collateral eligible for SNB repos. It is necessary to restructure the baskets so that additional categories of collateral can be accepted in future. The present Euro GC Basket will be renamed Government GC Basket (Gov. GC Basket), while the German Jumbo Pfandbriefe GC Basket will be called the International GC Basket (Intl. GC Basket). Both baskets will contain bonds denominated in euros, US dollars, pounds sterling and Swiss francs. The debt certificates must be rated at least AA- or Aa3 by one of the two rating companies, S&Ps or Moody's, and the size of the bond issue must amount to at least one billion in the currency concerned. In future, the Gov. GC Basket will only contain government bonds. All other collateral that meet the requisite standards will be allotted to the Intl. GC Basket, provided the SNB accepts them for repo transactions. For the time being, there will be no changes to the CHF GC Basket.

Furthermore, the SNB will admit additional categories of collateral for monetary policy repo transactions with effect from 1 June 2006, and these will be included in the baskets. They include debt certificates issues by European countries, German territorial bodies and international organisations, and bonds issued by individual borrowers with state guarantees.

Drucken

Aktuelle Entwicklungen am Geldmarkt

Geldmarkt-Apéro, Zürich, 23.03.2006

  • Vollständiger Text
    (375 KB)

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) setzt ihre geldpolitischen Absichten um, indem sie das Zinsniveau auf dem Geldmarkt beeinflusst. Dabei stellt das Repo-Geschäft das wichtigste geldpolitische Instrument dar. Der Schweizerfranken Repo-Markt ist in den letzten Jahren stark gewachsen und verfügt weiterhin über ein grosses Wachstumspotential. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank ist bestrebt, günstige Voraussetzungen zu schaffen, um die Effizienz des Schweizerfranken Geldmarktes zu steigern und damit die Krisenresistenz des Finanzsystems zu erhöhen.

Das Referat thematisiert zwei aktuelle Entwicklungen am Geldmarkt: Die Ablösung des Lombardkredits durch die Engpassfinanzierungsfazilität (EFF) und die Umstrukturierung und Erweiterung der SNB-Effekten-Baskets für das Repo-Geschäft.

Der klassische Lombardkredit wurde im Laufe des vergangenen Jahres durch die Engpassfinanzierungsfazilität abgelöst. Die EFF ist für eine Bank die letzte Refinanzierungsquelle, wenn am Markt nicht genügend Liquidität beschafft werden kann. Um sich ein Liquiditätspolster für unerwartete Liquiditätsengpässe zu sichern, sollte deshalb jede Bank über eine EFF-Limite verfügen, um im Bedarfsfall Liquidität beziehen zu können. Die Banken haben das Recht, im Rahmen der gewährten Limite über ein Repo-Geschäft zum Sondersatz Liquidität bis zum nächsten Bankwerktag zu beziehen. Der Sondersatz wird täglich 200 Basispunkte über dem Repo-Overnight-Index (SNB) fixiert. Die Limite muss dauernd mit 110% SNB-repofähigen Effekten gedeckt sein. Neu werden die zur Deckung der Limiten notwendigen Effekten in einem auf den Namen der Bank lautenden Deckungsdepot "SNB" bei der SIS verwahrt. Grosse Vorteile gegenüber dem alten System sind, dass die Effekten auch für Intraday-Repos eingesetzt werden können und die Banken diese Effekten selbstständig bewirtschaften können. Die gewährten Limiten betragen zur Zeit insgesamt über 11 Mrd. Schweizerfranken.

Die SNB wird per 1. Juni 2006 die SNB-Repo-Baskets umstrukturieren und den Kreis der SNB-repofähigen Effekten erweitern. Die Umstrukturierung der Baskets ist eine Voraussetzung, damit künftig weitere Effektenkategorien aufgenommen werden können. Der bisherige Euro GC Basket wird zum Government GC Basket (Gov. GC Basket) und der German Jumbo Pfandbriefe GC Basket zum International GC Basket (Intl. GC Basket) umbenannt. Beide Baskets beinhalten künftig in Euro, US-Dollar, britischem Pfund und Schweizerfranken denominierte Anleihen. Die Schuldverschreibungen müssen von einer der beiden Ratinggesellschaften S&P's bzw. Moody's mindestens AA- bzw. Aa3 eingestuft sein, und das Emissionsvolumen muss wenigstens 1 Mrd. in der entsprechenden Währung betragen. Der Gov. GC Basket soll künftig ausschliesslich Staatsanleihen beinhalten, dem Intl. GC Basket werden alle übrigen diesen Anforderungen genügenden Effekten zugeteilt, sofern die SNB diese für geldpolitische Repo-Geschäfte zulässt. Der CHF GC Basket bleibt bis auf weiteres unverändert.

Ebenfalls ab 1. Juni 2006 wird die SNB weitere Effektenkategorien für geldpolitische Repo-Geschäfte zulassen und in die Baskets aufnehmen. Darunter fallen Schuldverschreibungen von Europäischen Staaten, deutschen Gebietskörperschaften, Internationalen Organisationen sowie Anleihen einzelner Schuldner mit Staatsgarantie.