Print

Monetary policy in the grip of the euro?

Symposium of professors of economics from German, Austrian and Swiss universities, Zurich University of Applied Sciences Winterthur, 19.05.2005

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik im Banne des Euro?"
    PDF (302 KB)

The euro is now a vital ingredient in the process of economic and political integration in Europe. It has also changed the monetary policy situation in Switzerland.

Since the launch of the single currency, there has been no discernible upward or downward trend in the exchange rate between Switzerland and the euro area. Moreover, the volatility of the euro/Swiss franc exchange rate is very low by international standards. Monetary conditions in Europe are significantly more stable now than in the past. As the euro area is Switzerland's biggest trading partner, this is an enormous advantage for the Swiss export sector.

Even though the euro has established itself as a leading currency internationally, this has not sidelined the Swiss franc – either in Switzerland or in the international financial markets. At the same time, the Swiss franc's significance as a safe haven currency has tended to wane.

The introduction of the euro has not compromised the autonomous monetary policy of the Swiss National Bank (SNB). It sets the range for the three-month Libor with the goal of maintaining price stability in the medium term; exchange rate targeting is not a strategy. Experience in recent years has shown that the SNB is able to make use of its room for manoeuvre vis-à-vis the ECB. The fact that the SNB pursues an independent monetary policy does not, however, mean that it ignores the euro. The euro/Swiss franc exchange rate and the economic development of the euro area have a significant impact on the development of the Swiss economy and on prices in Switzerland. Consequently, these elements play a pivotal role in determining the monetary policy stance of the SNB.

Drucken

Geldpolitik im Banne des Euro?

Bundesfachtagung der Volkswirtschaftsprofessorinnen und -professoren an Fach- und Gesamthochschulen aus Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz, Zürcher Hochschule Winterthur, 19.05.2005

  • Vollständiger Text
    (302 KB)

Der Euro ist aus dem Prozess der wirtschaftlichen und politischen Integration Europas nicht mehr wegzudenken. Auch für die Schweiz hat der Euro die währungspolitische Lage verändert.

Seit der Einführung des Euro ist keine klare Auf- oder Abwertungstendenz beim Wechselkurs zwischen der Schweiz und der Eurozone zu beobachten, und auch die Volatilität des Euro-Franken-Kurses ist im internationalen Vergleich sehr klein. Diese gegenüber früher deutlich stabileren Währungsverhältnisse in Europa stellen einen grossen Vorteil für den schweizerischen Aussenhandelssektor dar, da die Eurozone für die Schweiz der wichtigste Handelspartner ist.

Der Euro konnte sich international als eine führende Währung etablieren. Der Schweizer Franken wurde aber dadurch weder in der Schweiz noch auf den internationalen Finanzmärkten verdrängt. Gleichzeitig nahm in den letzten Jahren die Bedeutung des Frankens als sicherer Hafen tendenziell ab.

Die autonome Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) wurde durch die Einführung des Euro nicht in Frage gestellt. Die SNB setzt das Band für den Dreimonats-Libor mit dem Ziel fest, mittelfristig Preisstabilität aufrechtzuerhalten; sie verfolgt kein Wechselkursziel. Die Erfahrungen der letzten Jahre zeigen, dass die SNB gegenüber der EZB ihren Spielraum ausnützen kann. Eine autonome Geldpolitik bedeutet indessen nicht, dass die SNB den Euro ignoriert. Der Euro-Franken-Kurs und die Wirtschaftsentwicklung in der Eurozone haben einen starken Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der schweizerischen Wirtschaft und auf die Preise in der Schweiz. Sie stellen daher wichtige Elemente bei der Festlegung des geldpolitischen Kurses der SNB dar.