Print

International monetary policy 2005

19. Internationales Zins-Forum - Zinsen 2005, Frankfurt/Main, 06.12.2004

  • Complete text in German: "Internationale Geldpolitik 2005"
    PDF (74 KB)

The major central banks reacted to the lacklustre global economy in 2002 by relaxing the monetary policy. The low money market rates in 2002 and 2003 were appropriate for a recession. They are not, however, indicated for a sustained and global upswing. This is why several central banks began to steer their monetary policy back to a normal course in 2003 and 2004. The tempo of monetary policy normalisation obviously depends on the progress of economic recovery, which leads to different reactions in each country.

In this rather favourable climate, oil prices began to soar in 2003. However, there is no reason to fear a repeat of the dire consequences witnessed during past oil crises. On the one hand, the rise in oil prices comes at a time when the economic environment is much more stable than it was back then. On the other hand, strong global economic growth drives up oil prices.

In order to ensure price stability, a normalisation of economic activity must be accompanied by a normalisation in the interest rate policy. The latest oil price hike has no bearing on this basic premise. The constellation of a weaker growth dynamic and higher oil prices could, however, delay getting monetary policy back on track. Since central banks are committed to the goal of price stability, a lot will depend on the transmission of oil price increases to inflation expectations. In most industrialised countries, inflation expectations give no cause for concern for the time being. Low inflation expectations and flexible monetary policy concepts allow central bankers to carefully adjust their monetary policy for 2005, provided that it seems appropriate for business cycle reasons.

Drucken

Internationale Geldpolitik 2005

19. Internationales Zinsforum - Zinsen 2005, Frankfurt/Main, 06.12.2004

  • Vollständiger Text
    (74 KB)

Auf die globale Konjunkturflaute 2002 reagierten die wichtigen Zentralbanken mit einer Lockerung der Geldpolitik. Die tiefen Geldmarktsätze in den Jahren 2002 und 2003 waren für eine Rezession angemessen. Sie sind aber nicht für einen nachhaltigen und globalen Aufschwung angebracht. Mehrere Zentralbanken begannen 2003 und 2004 deshalb, ihre Geldpolitik zu normalisieren. Das Tempo der geldpolitischen Normalisierung hängt natürlich vom Fortschritt der Konjunkturerholung ab, was zu unterschiedlichen Reaktionen in jedem Land führt.

In diesem eher erfreulichen Umfeld begann 2003 der Erdölpreis kräftig zu steigen. Die Befürchtung, die gravierenden Konsequenzen der letzten Erdölkrisen könnten sich wiederholen, ist jedoch unbegründet. Zum einen trifft die Ölpreiserhöhung auf ein wirtschaftliches Umfeld, das weitaus stabiler ist als damals. Zum anderen treibt ein starkes Wachstum der Weltwirtschaft den Erdölpreis in die Höhe.

Eine Normalisierung der Konjunktur muss durch eine Normalisierung in der Zinspolitik begleitet werden, damit die Preisstabilität gewährleistet bleibt. Die jüngste Erdölpreissteigerung ändert diese Grundeinschätzung nicht. Die Konstellation von abgeschwächter Wachstumsdynamik und hohen Erdölpreisen könnte dagegen die geldpolitische Normalisierung verzögern. Da die Notenbanken dem Ziel der Preisstabilität verpflichtet sind, wird sehr viel von der Übertragung der Ölpreissteigerungen auf die Inflationserwartungen abhängen. In den meisten Industrieländern sind sie vorerst nicht besorgniserregend. Niedrige Inflationserwartungen und flexible geldpolitische Konzepte erlauben es den Währungshütern, ihre Geldpolitik 2005 behutsam anzupassen, sofern ihnen dies aus konjunkturellen Gründen angezeigt erscheint.