Print

Monetary policy and credit markets

University of St Gallen, St Gallen, 22 January 2004, 22.01.2004

  • Complete text in German: "Geldpolitik und Kreditmärkte"
    PDF (101 KB)

The economic slump of the past two years has affected the credit markets. Corporate loans declined, and on the capital market redemptions of shares and bonds of private borrowers exceeded new issues. In this speech, a few general points concerning credit financing and monetary policy will be discussed.

The financing opportunities and, concomitantly, a borrower's expenditure behaviour depend on the value of capital assets eligible as collateral or, more generally, on the borrower's balance sheet structure. Due to the major significance of real estate as security, the situation on the real estate market in turn has a considerable bearing on credit conditions. The Swiss National Bank thus keeps a careful eye on price development in the real estate market.

Monetary policy influences the prices of investments and thus impacts on the economy via the borrowers' balance sheets. This is not the only channel – and certainly not the most important one - through which monetary policy exerts an influence; it may, however, be relevant under certain circumstances. Since corporate balance sheets differ considerably from one enterprise to another, monetary policy has distributive effects. Small and medium-sized enterprises are mainly affected since they are often young firms and have hardly diversified activities and a modest capital base. Enterprises, however, can mitigate this disadvantage to a certain extent by improving information.

Bank balance sheets likewise have an influence on the extension of credit. This applies mainly to small and medium-sized enterprises, whose sole source of external funding are frequently bank loans. Bank regulation should seek to prevent provisions from unnecessarily reinforcing the procyclicality of credit extension. In order to help achieve this, the new Basel Capital Accord (Basel II) provides for some flexibility.

Drucken

Geldpolitik und Kreditmärkte

Universität St. Gallen, St. Gallen, 22.01.2004

  • Vollständiger Text
    (101 KB)

Die Konjunkturbaisse der letzten zwei Jahre hat sich auf die Kreditmärkte niedergeschlagen. Die Kredite an Unternehmen gingen zurück, und am Kapitalmarkt lagen die Rückzahlungen von Aktien und Obligationen privater Schuldner über den Neuemissionen. In diesem Referat werden einige generelle Punkte zum Thema Kreditfinanzierung und Geldpolitik erörtert.

Die Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten und damit auch das Ausgabenverhalten eines Schuldners hängen vom Wert der als Sicherheiten verwendbaren Vermögensanlagen, oder allgemeiner von seiner Bilanzstruktur ab. Aufgrund der grossen Rolle, welche Immobilien als Sicherheiten spielen, hat wiederum die Situation auf dem Immobilienmarkt einen grossen Einfluss auf die Kreditbedingungen. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank schenkt deshalb der Preisentwicklung am Immobilienmarkt starke Beachtung.

Die Geldpolitik beeinflusst die Preise von Vermögensanlagen und wirkt somit über die Bilanzen der Schuldner auf die Volkswirtschaft ein. Das ist nicht der einzige Wirkungskanal der Geldpolitik und sicher nicht der wichtigste; er kann aber unter Umständen seine Bedeutung haben. Da sich die Bilanzen von Unternehmen zu Unternehmen stark unterscheiden, hat die Geldpolitik distributive Wirkungen. Davon betroffen sind vor allem KMU, denn KMU sind oft jung, haben ihre Aktivitäten wenig diversifiziert und verfügen über wenig Eigenkapital. Die Unternehmen können aber diesen Nachteil bis zu einem gewissen Grad durch verbesserte Information mildern.

Auch die Bilanzen der Banken haben einen Einfluss auf die Kreditvergabe. Davon betroffen sind vor allem die KMU, für die Bankkredite oft die einzige Quelle der Fremdfinanzierung sind. Die Bankregulierung sollte zu vermeiden versuchen, dass die Prozyklität der Kreditvergabe durch die Vorschriften unnötig verstärkt wird. In Basel II wurde deshalb Flexibilität eingebaut, die dazu beitragen sollte, dies zu erreichen.