Print

The Financial System and the Regulatory Challenges in Securities Clearing and Settlement Systems

Seventh Conference of Central Securities Depositories, Lucerne, 12 June 2003, 12.06.2003

  • Complete text
    (49 KB)

The financial system is meant to provide for the allocation of economic resources to productive investment opportunities, the trading of risks, the collecting and processing of information, and also the provision of clearing and settlement services. Also, the financial system can be under­stood as the dynamic response of institutions and processes to changing imperfections such as information and transaction costs. By facilitating market exchange of complex financial market services, Central Securities Depositories (CSDs), International Central Securities Depositories (ICSDs) and Central Counterparties (CCPs) can be taken as a means to achieve efficiency gains. This, in turn, facilitates capital accumulation and technological innovation that underlie the im­plementation of investment projects. Thereby a long-term economic growth process is supported and, correspondingly, welfare is improved.

However, despite these efficiency gains, there is scope for further improvements. Financial systems continue to be affected by market imperfections such as asymmetric informa­tion, negative externalities and limited competition. These imperfections not only challenge private market infrastructures but they also shape the responsi­bilities and interventions of the regulatory and oversight authorities. In the field of clearing and settlement systems, these authorities face some well-known challenges. There is a need to define and apply a common approach and understanding of the underlying issues, to tackle the risk di­mension of cross-border securities transactions adequately and to allow for an acceptable level playing field among large custodians and providers of clearing and settlement services. In view of these challenges, there is good reason to critically reassess rules and regulations related to secu­rities clearing and settlement systems as well as to the way regulatory and oversight responsibili­ties are implemented in practice. A predominantly national approach and an essentially sectoral solution, where payment system overseers and securities regulators do not co-operate in an inte­grated way, do not serve market needs any longer.

Finally, there is no alternative to close co-operation between private market players and regulatory and oversight authorities. I strongly believe that trust-based co-operation between the providers of market utilities and regulatory oversight authorities remains the key to the continued successful development of an efficient and secure financial system that can handle fast-changing needs in the future.

Drucken

Das Finanzsystem und die Regulierungsherausforderungen im Wertschriftenclearing und bei Verrechnungssystemen

«Seventh Conference of Central Securities Depositories», Luzern, 12.06.2003

  • Vollständiger Text in Englisch: "The Financial System and the Regulatory Challenges in Securities Clearing and Settlement Systems"
    PDF (49 KB)

Das Finanzsystem soll der Zuteilung wirtschaftlicher Ressourcen für produktive Anlagemöglichkeiten, dem Austausch von Risiken und dem Sammeln und Verarbeiten von Informationen dienen; ausserdem stellt es Clearing- und Verrechnungsdienstleistungen zur Verfügung. Das Finanzsystem kann auch als dynamische Antwort der Institutionen und Prozesse auf die wechselnden Unvollkommenheiten wie Informations- und Transaktionskosten verstanden werden. Weil sie den Marktaustausch von komplexen finanziellen Marktdienstleistungen erleichtern, können die Central Securities Depositories (CSDs), International Central Securities Depositories (ICSDs) und Central Counterparties (CCPs) als Mittel zu gesteigerter Effizienz betrachtet werden. Das wiederum erleichtert den Aufbau von Kapital und die technologische Innovation, die der Durchführung von Anlageprojekten zugrundeliegen. Ein langfristiger wirtschaftlicher Wachstumsprozess wird somit unterstützt und die wirtschaftliche Wohlfahrt entsprechend verstärkt.

Trotz dieser Effizienzsteigerungen besteht jedoch noch Raum für Verbesserungen. Finanzielle Systeme sind weiterhin von Unzulänglichkeiten des Marktes betroffen wie beispielsweise asymmetrische Informationen, negative Externalitäten und Wettbewerbsbeschränkungen. Diese Unzulänglichkeiten stellen nicht nur eine Herausforderung für die Privatmarktinfrastruktur dar, sie bestimmen auch die Verantwortlichkeiten und Interventionen der Regulierungs- und Aufsichtsbehörden. Im Bereich Clearing- und Verrechnungssysteme sind diese Behörden mit einigen bekannten Herausforderungen konfrontiert. Es besteht ein Bedürfnis, einen gemeinsamen Zugang und ein gemeinsames Verständnis in bezug auf die zugrundeliegenden Fragen zu definieren und anzuwenden, die Risikodimensionen grenzüberschreitender Wertschriftentransaktionen angemessen anzugehen und gleich lange Spiesse zwischen grossen Depotbanken und den Erbringern von Clearing- und Verrechnungsdienstleistungen zu schaffen. Angesichts dieser Herausforderungen ist es angezeigt, die Regeln und Vorschriften in bezug auf Wertschriftenclearing und Verrechnungssysteme sowie die Art und Weise wie Regulierungs- und Aufsichtsverantwortlichkeiten in die Praxis umgesetzt werden, einer kritischen Neubeurteilung zu unterziehen. Ein vorwiegend nationaler Zugang und eine grundlegend sektorale Lösung, in der Zahlungssystemüberwacher und Wertschriftenaufsichtsbehörden nicht auf integrierte Weise zusammenarbeiten, erfüllen die Bedürfnisse des Marktes nicht mehr.

Schliesslich gibt es keine Alternative zu einer engen Zusammenarbeit zwischen privaten Marktteilnehmern und Regulierungs- und Aufsichtsbehörden. Ich bin überzeugt, dass eine Zusammenarbeit basierend auf Vertrauen zwischen den Erbringern dieser Finanzdienstleisungen und den Regulierungsaufsichtsbehörden der Schlüssel bleibt zur weiteren erfolgreichen Entwicklung eines effizienten und sicheren Finanzsystems, das in Zukunft schnell wechselnden Bedürfnissen gerecht werden kann.