Print

Summary of a speech delivered by the President of the Bank Council to the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of the Swiss National Bank, 25 April 2003, 25.04.2003

  • Complete text in German: "Eröffnungsansprache an der Generalversammlung"
    PDF (43 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Assemblée générale des actionnaires de la Banque nationale suisse du 25 avril 2003"
    PDF (45 KB)
The President of the Bank Council of the Swiss National Bank, Hansueli Raggenbass, commented the central bank's financial statements for 2002 at the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders. In his statement, he dealt in detail with the free assets (the gold no longer needed for monetary policy purposes including the proceeds from the sale of gold); he also elaborated on corporate governance and the revision of the National Bank Law.
The financial statements for 2002 reflect once again the considerable gold price, exchange rate and interest rate risks that the Bank faces. The National Bank depends on adequate currency reserves, which can only fulfil their function satisfactorily if they are not hedged on the market. Due to these risks, the central bank does not distribute its entire earnings surplus; it sets aside provisions and augments these in line with the average growth of nominal gross domestic product.
The free assets including the income from the invested proceeds from gold sales amounted to Sfr 21 billion at the end of last year. If no gold had been sold in the past three years, total free assets as at the end of 2002 would have been Sfr 1.1 billion lower.
In the course of the revision of the National Bank Law now under way corporate governance is to be strengthened at the National Bank since confidence in the monetary institution is of considerable social significance. The proposed new structure of the National Bank is aimed at establishing more efficient and more professional supervision with stringent checks and balances. The Bank Committee will be dissolved and the Bank Council streamlined and strengthened.

Drucken

Eröffnungsansprache an der Generalversammlung

Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank vom 25. April 2003, 25.04.2003

  • Vollständiger Text
    (43 KB)

Der Präsident des Bankrates der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Hansueli Raggenbass, erläutert an der Generalversammlung den Jahresabschluss 2002 der Notenbank und geht dabei auf die Freien Aktiven (das für monetäre Zwecke nicht mehr benötigte Gold bzw. den Erlös aus dessen Verkauf) näher ein; zudem befasst er sich mit der Corporate Governance und der Revision des Nationalbankgesetzes.

In der Jahresrechnung 2002 widerspiegeln sich einmal mehr die beträchtlichen Goldpreis-, Wechselkurs- und Zinsrisiken der Bank. Die Nationalbank ist auf ausreichende Währungsreserven angewiesen, die ihre Funktion nur dann einwandfrei erfüllen können, wenn sie am Markt nicht abgesichert werden. Wegen dieser Risiken schüttet die Notenbank nicht den gesamten Ertragsüberschuss aus, sondern bildet Rückstellungen und erhöht diese im Gleichschritt mit dem durchschnittlichen Wachstum des nominellen Bruttoinlandprodukts.

Die Freien Aktiven – samt den Erträgen aus den Anlagen der Goldverkaufserlösen – beliefen sich Ende letzten Jahres auf 21 Mrd. Franken. Wäre in den vergangenen drei Jahren kein Gold verkauft worden, so hätte der Gesamtwert der Freien Aktiven Ende 2002 1,1 Mrd. Franken tiefer gelegen.

Im Zuge der eingeleiteten Revision des Nationalbankgesetzes soll bei der Nationalbank die Corporate Governance gestärkt werden, denn das Vertrauen in die Institution des Geldes ist von grosser gesellschaftlicher Bedeutung. Die vorgeschlagene neue Organisation der Nationalbank zielt auf eine effizientere und professionellere Aufsicht mit griffigen «Checks and Balances». Der Bankausschuss soll aufgelöst, der Bankrat verkleinert und gestärkt werden.