Print

In what shape is the Swiss financial centre?

3rd IIR Annual conference on the clearing and settlement of securities, Zurich, 23 July 2002, 23.07.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Wie ist es um den Finanzplatz Schweiz bestellt?"
    PDF (60 KB)

The Swiss international financial centre is efficient. It is particularly competent in asset management and is characterised by solidity. It owes its success to a combination of economic and political stability, the acceptance of international competition, specialist competence and the promotion of integrity. Recently, the International Monetary Fund confirmed that Switzerland fulfils a special role in regulation and oversight. In relation to the European Union, the bilateral course will continue to be pursued. Currently, two issues are of particular relevance: combating fraud and taxation on interest income. Both are closely linked with banking secrecy, which protects financial privacy without at the same time being an obstacle to the fight against criminality.

The Swiss National Bank (SNB) has a natural interest in a solid and efficient financial system in Switzerland. The financial system is the platform of monetary policy. It takes well-functioning, solvent financial intermediaries for the transmission of monetary policy to the financial markets, the economy and the price level. The infrastructures of cashless payment systems have a critical function. Supervision by the central bank aims at ensuring the smooth functioning of the systems and preventing domino effects. Payment systems that are crucial for the stability of the financial system must conform to international basic principles. Major security requirements are a technology immune to disruptions and precautions against the transmission of insolvency from one participant to the others. In the new National Bank Law submitted by the Federal Council, supervision of securities settlement systems is also regulated. In future, such systems are to be supervised jointly by the Federal Banking Commission (FBC) and the SNB. The SNB will become active in securities settlement only where it has a comparative advantage: in the assessment of settlement risks. In its actions, the SNB assumes responsibility for the whole. The SNB's primary contribution is to ensure monetary stability. Beyond this, it shares the responsibility for the stability and the continued development of the financial system. It does this in its capacity as supervisor of payment and securities settlement systems, as lender of last resort and as advisor to the Federal Council in questions of financial centre policy.

In what shape is the Swiss financial centre? – In excellent shape! The Swiss financial centre is economically sound. It has efficient providers of financial services. The financial market infrastructures, regulation and oversight, legal, economic, financial and monetary policy conditions as well as the social environment are good. Numerous technological, economic and political challenges present themselves. The Swiss financial centre, however, is exceedingly well prepared to meet these challenges successfully.

Drucken

Wie ist es um den Finanzplatz Schweiz bestellt?

3. IIR Jahrestagung Clearing und Settlement bei Wertschriften, Zürich, 23.07.2002

  • Vollständiger Text
    (60 KB)

Das Internationale Finanzzentrum Schweiz ist leistungsfähig. Seine spezielle Kompetenz ist die Vermögensverwaltung. Sein besonderes Merkmal ist die Solidität. Der Erfolg ist das Resultat des Zusammenspiels der wirtschaftlichen und politischen Stabilität, der Bejahung des internationalen Wettbewerbs, der fachlichen Kompetenz und der Förderung der Integrität. Die besondere Rolle von Regulierung und Aufsicht ist der Schweiz jüngst seitens des Internationalen Währungsfonds bestätigt worden. Im Verhältnis zur Europäischen Union wird der Bilateralismus weiterverfolgt. Zwei aktuelle Dossiers sind besonders relevant: die Betrugsbekämpfung und die Zinsbesteuerung. Beide sind eng mit dem Bankkundengeheimnis verbunden. Dieses sichert die finanzielle Privatsphäre, ohne gleichzeitig ein Hindernis bei der Bekämpfung der Kriminalität zu sein.

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank (SNB) hat ein natürliches Interesse an der Solidität und Leistungsfähigkeit des schweizerischen Finanzsystems. Das Finanzsystem ist die Plattform der Geldpolitik. Nur über funktionstüchtige, solvente Finanzintermediäre kann sich Geldpolitik auf Finanzmärkte, Wirtschaft und Preisniveau übertragen. Eine kritische Funktion haben die Infrastrukturen des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs. Die Überwachung durch die Zentralbank zielt auf das reibungslose Funktionieren der Systeme und auf den Schutz vor Dominoeffekten. Zahlungssysteme, die für die Stabilität des Finanzsystems bedeutsam sind, müssen internationalen Grundprinzipien genügen. Zentrale Forderungen der Sicherheit sind eine störungsfreie Technik und Vorkehren gegen die Übertragung der Zahlungsunfähigkeit eines Teilnehmers auf andere. Im vom Bundesrat vorgeschlagenen, neuen Nationalbankgesetz wird auch die Überwachung von Effektenabwicklungssystemen geregelt. Solche Systeme sollen fortan gemeinsam von der EBK und der SNB beaufsichtigt werden. Die SNB wird in der Wertschriftenabwicklung nur dort tätig werden, wo sie einen komparativen Vorteil hat: bei der Beurteilung der Abwicklungsrisiken. Der SNB handelt aus Verantwortung für das Ganze. Der primäre Beitrag der SNB ist die Sicherung der Geldwertstabilität. Darüber hinaus trägt sie Mitverantwortung für die Stabilität und die Fortentwicklung des Finanzsystems. Dies tut sie als Überwacherin von Zahlungs- und Wertpapierabwicklungssystemen, in der Funktion als Lender of last resort und als Beraterin des Bundesrates in Fragen der Finanzplatzpolitik.

Wie ist es um den Finanzplatz Schweiz bestellt? – Gut! Der Finanzplatz Schweiz ist wirtschaftlich solid. Die Anbieter der Finanzdienstleistungen sind leistungsfähig. Die Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, die Regulierung und Aufsicht, die gesetzlichen, wirtschafts-, finanz- und währungspolitischen ebenso wie die gesellschaftlichen Rahmenbedingungen sind gut. Zwar sind die technologischen, wirtschaftlichen und politischen Herausforderungen zahlreich. Der Finanzplatz Schweiz ist aber bestens gerüstet, um sie erfolgreich anzunehmen.