Print

Summary of a Speech given by the Chairman of the Governing Board

Annual General Meeting of Shareholders, 26 April 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Complete text in German: "Referat an der Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank"
    PDF (46 KB)
  • Complete text in French: "Exposé à l'Assemblée générale des actionnaires"
    PDF (45 KB)
In 2001, economic activity declined markedly both in Switzerland and abroad. The events of 11 September intensified the slowdown, which had already become discernible in the previous year.
The National Bank eased monetary policy significantly in the course of 2001: it lowered the target range for the three-month Libor rate in four steps by a total of 1.75 percentage points. The purpose of this easing was to create monetary conditions conducive to an economic upswing, sustained growth and stable employment levels.
For the National Bank, too, the development of the Swiss franc in relation to the euro is a source of concern. A strategy oriented to weakening the external value of the Swiss franc would, however, call for a relaxation of monetary policy to an extent that would not be compatible with price stability.
Better times seem to lie ahead: economic prospects are improving constantly, in Switzerland as well as abroad. Barring any unforeseen monetary turbulences, we may expect the economy to approach its potential growth rate by the end of the year.
If the National Council and the Council of States approve the fundamentals of the National Bank Law, the National Bank will have a modern instrument at its disposal permitting it to fulfil its mandate under optimum conditions. Pursuant to the draft bill, the circle of shareholders will not be limited. The Bank's share capital of Sfr 50 million, half of which is paid up, will be reduced to Sfr 25 million.

Drucken

Referat an der Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank

Generalversammlung der Schweizerischen Nationalbank vom 26. April 2002, 26.04.2002

  • Vollständiger Text
    (46 KB)

Im Jahr 2001 schwächte sich die Konjunktur im In- und Ausland deutlich ab. Die Ereignisse vom 11. September verstärkten den Rückgang, der sich bereits im Vorjahr abgezeichnet hatte.

Die Nationalbank lockerte ihre Geldpolitik im Laufe des Jahres 2001 deutlich: in vier Schritten senkte sie das Zielband für den Dreimonate-Libor um insgesamt 1,75 Prozentpunkte. Das Ziel dieser Lockerung war, die monetären Voraussetzungen zu schaffen für einen Wiederaufschwung der Wirtschaft, ein nachhaltiges Wachstum und die Erhaltung der Arbeitsplätze.

Auch die Nationalbank verfolgt die Entwicklung des Wechselkurses zwischen dem Franken und dem Euro mit Besorgnis. Eine auf eine Abschwächung des Aussenwerts des Frankens ausgerichtete Strategie würde indessen eine Lockerung der Geldpolitik in einem Ausmass bedingen, das mit der Erhaltung der Preisstabilität unvereinbar wäre.

Bessere Zeiten scheinen sich anzubahnen: Die Konjunkturaussichten verbessern sich ständig, im Ausland wie auch bei uns. Kommt es zu keinen unvorhergesehenen Währungsturbulenzen, so können wir davon ausgehen, dass sich das Wachstum bis zum Jahresende seinem Potenzial annähern wird.

Wenn National- und Ständerat den Revisionsentwurf für das Nationalbankgesetz in den Grundzügen gutheissen, wird die Nationalbank über ein zeitgemässes Gesetz verfügen, das ihr erlaubt, ihren Auftrag unter optimalen Bedingungen zu erfüllen. Der Gesetzesentwurf sieht keine Beschränkung des Aktionärskreises vor. Das Aktienkapital der Bank, welches heute 50 Millionen Franken beträgt und zur Hälfte einbezahlt ist, wird auf 25 Millionen Franken reduziert.