Print

On monetary policy in the new year

University of St Gallen, St. Gallen, 20 January 2000, 20.01.2000

  • Complete text in German: "Zur Geldpolitik im neuen Jahr"
    PDF (42 KB)

The Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Hans Meyer, looks back and comments on the economic situation in the OECD area and in Switzerland. He considers the launch of the euro to have been a positive development in principle even if the new currency has depreciated by approximately 15% vis-à-vis the US dollar. The speech is dedicated primarily to the new monetary policy concept of the Swiss National Bank.

This concept consists of three elements: definition of price stability, use of a broadly-based medium-term inflation forecast as chief indicator, target range for the three-month rate in the Swiss franc money market for the implementation. With the new concept the National Bank in particular also increases the transparency of its monetary policy.

In defining price stability, it must be borne in mind that inflation cannot be measured with complete accuracy. Moreover, it is practically impossible for the National Bank to steer inflation precisely, which is why it does not pursue an actual inflation target. The inflation forecast over a period of three years reflects the National Bank's forward-looking stance. The target range for implementing monetary policy represents a deviation from quantitative standards in the money market. It became increasingly difficult to set such standards in view of the strong fluctuations in the banks' demand for sight deposits. In fixing a target range, the National Bank does not aim at pursuing an active interest rate policy and will continue to permit interest rate fluctuations to a certain extent.

The adjustment of the monetary policy concept takes account of the changes in the financial markets. In this way, the National Bank can also fulfil its mandate in future. The best concept, however, is only as good as its implementation. Very often, the willingness to take consistent, and sometimes unpopular, decisions is equally important. Support for monetary policy decisions from other political quarters is essential. Only if there is continued broad support of the political will to ensure stable monetary conditions in Switzerland, can the National Bank fulfil its mandate in the long term.

Drucken

Zur Geldpolitik im neuen Jahr

Universität St. Gallen, St. Gallen, 20.01.2000

  • Vollständiger Text
    (42 KB)

Nationalbankpräsident Hans Meyer äussert sich rückblickend zur Wirtschaftslage im OECD-Raum und in der Schweiz. Die Einführung des Euro wertet er grundsätzlich als positiv, auch wenn die neue Währung gegenüber dem Dollar etwa 15% an Wert verlor. Der Hauptteil des Referats ist dem neuen geldpolitischen Konzept der Schweizerischen Nationalbank gewidmet.

Es besteht aus drei Elementen: Definition der Preisstabilität, Verwendung einer breit abgestützten mittelfristigen Inflationsprognose als Hauptindikator, Zielband für den Dreimonatssatz am Schweizerfranken-Geldmarkt für die Umsetzung. Mit dem neuen Konzept erhöht die Nationalbank nicht zuletzt auch die Transparenz der Geldpolitik.

Bei der Definition der Preisstabilität ist zu beachten, dass die Teuerung nie genau gemessen werden kann. Es ist für die Nationalbank zum anderen praktisch unmöglich, die Inflation exakt zu steuern. Die Nationalbank verfolgt deshalb kein eigentliches Inflationsziel. Die Inflationsprognose über drei Jahre bringt die vorausschauende Haltung der Nationalbank zum Ausdruck. Mit dem Zielband für die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik wird von quantitativen Vorgaben am Geldmarkt abgerückt. Mengenvorgaben wurden angesichts der starken Schwankungen bei der Nachfrage der Banken nach Giroguthaben zusehends schwieriger. Die Nationalbank strebt mit der Festlegung eines Zielbandes keinen zinspolitischen Aktivismus an und wird Zinsschwankungen in einem gewissen Umfang weiterhin zulassen.

Die Anpassung des geldpolitischen Konzeptes trägt den Aenderungen an den Finanzmärkten Rechnung. Die Nationalbank kann damit ihren Auftrag auch in Zukunft erfüllen. Das beste Konzept ist aber nur so gut wie seine Umsetzung. Oft ist die Bereitschaft, konsequente, manchmal unpopuläre Entscheidungen zu treffen, ebenso wichtig. Geldpolitische Entscheidungen müssen durch die anderen Politikbereiche mitgetragen werden. Nur wenn der politische Wille zu stabilen monetären Verhältnissen in der Schweiz breit abgestützt bleibt, kann die Nationalbank ihren Auftrag längerfristig erfüllen.