Print

A View from Switzerland

Swiss-American Chamber of Commerce (New York Chapter), New York, 1 October 1999, 01.10.1999

  • Complete text
    (30 KB)

The Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Hans Meyer, summarises Switzerland's economic situation and monetary policy. He then addresses the reform of the Swiss monetary constitution. Finally, he deals with Switzerland's role as a financial centre.

At the turn of the century, Switzerland is economically and socially in good condition. Following years of frequently painful adjustments to a changing environment, preconditions for a balanced development are favourable. The quality and scope of these adjustments bear witness to the flexibility of our economy and society. The years ahead will continue to be characterised by constant change. It is therefore important to remain vigilant. On the basis of overall economic as well as social stability, innovative power and flexibility must be preserved. In a mature society, this represents a particular challenge.

By keeping our own house in order, we also make the best possible contribution to international solidarity. In the narrower European context, our bilateral agreements with the European Union will form a good basis for cooperation in the coming years. In Europe and beyond, Switzerland traditionally has an extensive network of international relations which we shall continue to cultivate in the future. As far as these relations are of a political nature, an appropriate social consensus is necessary for doing so.

The further development of our financial centre will depend on whether we succeed in continuing to guarantee its integrity, stability and quality. This requires efforts both on an individual and on an overall economic level. A sustained commitment in both spheres will permit existing opportunities to be used.

Drucken

Aus Schweizer Sicht

Swiss-American Chamber of Commerce (New York Chapter), New York, 01.10.1999

  • Vollständiger Text in Englisch: "A View from Switzerland"
    PDF (30 KB)

Der Präsident des Direktoriums der Schweizerischen Nationalbank, Hans Meyer, fasst zu Beginn seiner Rede die wirtschaftliche Situation und die Geldpolitik der Schweiz zusammen. Danach geht er auf die Reform der Schweizer Geld- und Währungsordnung ein. Zum Schluss befasst er sich mit der Rolle der Schweiz als Finanzplatz.

Zum Jahrhundertwechsel ist die Schweiz wirtschaftlich und sozial in einer guten Verfassung. Nach Jahren von oft schmerzhaften Anpassungen an eine im Wandel befindliche Umwelt sind die Bedingungen für eine ausgewogene Entwicklung günstig. Die Qualität und der Umfang der vorgenommenen Anpassungen zeugen von der Flexibilität der Schweizer Wirtschaft und Gesellschaft. Die kommenden Jahren werden weiterhin von konstantem Wandel geprägt sein. Daher ist es wichtig wachsam zu sein. Auf der Grundlage von wirtschaftlicher und sozialer Stabilität müssen Innovationskraft und Flexibilität bewahrt werden. In einer reifen Gesellschaft stellt das eine besondere Herausforderung dar.

Wenn wir unser eigenes Haus in Ordnung halten, leisten wir auch den bestmöglichen Beitrag an die internationale Solidarität. Im engeren europäischen Rahmen werden die bilateralen Abkommen zwischen der Schweiz und der Europäischen Union in den kommenden Jahren eine gute Grundlage für die Zusammenarbeit bilden. In Europa und darüber hinaus unterhält die Schweiz traditionell ein ausgedehntes Beziehungsnetz, das wir in der Zukunft weiter pflegen müssen. Dafür ist insoweit ein gesellschaftlicher Konsens notwendig, als diese Beziehungen politischer Natur sind.

Die künftige Entwicklung des Finanzplatzes Schweiz wird davon abhängen, ob es uns gelingt, dessen Integrität, Stabilität und Qualität zu garantieren. Das erfordert Anstrengungen sowohl auf persönlichem wie auch auf gesamtwirtschaftlichem Niveau. Eine nachhaltiger Einsatz in beiden Bereichen wird es erlauben, vorhandene Gelegenheiten auszuschöpfen.