Print

The euro: a first assessment

Annual General Meeting of the Chamber of Industry and Trade of the Canton of Jura, Saignelégier, 18 May 1999, 18.05.1999

  • Complete text in French: "L'euro: premières évaluations"
    PDF (28 KB)

The launch of the euro proceeded without a hitch. The markets remained calm, and the exchange rate of the Swiss franc against the euro showed a remarkably steady development.

The initial euphoria was dampened somewhat when the euro weakened against the dollar and by the public debate on the interest rate policy of the European Central Bank (ECB).

Lately, the situation has stabilised. The euro/dollar exchange rate has adjusted to the diverging economic prospects on both sides of the Atlantic, and the recent lowering of European interest rates has silenced speculation concerning the policy of the ECB.

From the Swiss point of view, the experience with the euro has so far been positive. The single currency is increasingly being used as an accounting unit. So long as the euro is, however, not used as a payment instrument by the public at large, there will be no conspicuous developments in this field. The euro seems to be gaining ground in Switzerland at the same leisurely pace as in the countries of the European Union.

The positive experience of the past few months strengthens our confidence that the relation between the Swiss franc and the euro will also remain stable in future. Underlying economic factors in the respective countries for the time being play a significant role. The extremely convergent economic policy pursued by Switzerland and its neighbours is the best guarantee for maintaining relative stability.

Nevertheless, after only a few months' experience with the new currency it is still too soon to draw final conclusions. Conducting monetary policy in the European Union is a delicate undertaking given the regional economic disparities. Markets and politicians are continuing to follow the activities of the ECB with a critical eye.

Under these circumstances, however, allround vigilence is of the essence; Swiss enterprises should not harbour the illusion that an exchange rate risk between the Swiss franc and the euro no longer exists. And as far as the National Bank is concerned, the imponderables characterising the European environment remain an important element in assessing the situation.

Drucken

Der Euro: erste Einschätzungen

Generalversammlung der jurassischen Industrie- und Handelskammer, Saignelégier, 18 Mai 1999, 18.05.1999

  • Vollständiger Text in Französisch: "L'euro: premières évaluations"
    PDF (28 KB)

Die Einführung des Euro verlief reibungslos. Die Märkte blieben ruhig, der Wechselkurs des Schweizer Frankens zum Euro entwickelte sich bemerkenswert stabil.

Die anfängliche Euphorie wurde durch die Abschwächung des Euro gegenüber dem Dollar und die öffentliche Debatte über die Zinspolitik der Europäischen Zentralbank (EZB) ein wenig gedämpft.

Die Verhältnisse haben sich in letzter Zeit stabilisiert. Der Euro/Dollar-Kurs hat sich den unterschiedlichen ökonomischen Perspektiven diesseits und jenseits des Atlantiks angepasst, und die kürzlich erfolgte Senkung der europäischen Zinssätze hat die Spekulationen über die Politik der EZB verstummen lassen.

Aus Schweizer Sicht sind die ersten Erfahrungen mit dem Euro positiv. Die Einheitswährung wird zunehmend als Recheneinheit verwendet. Solange aber der Euro in der breiten Öffentlichkeit nicht als Zahlungsmittel Verwendung findet, werden die Entwicklungen auf diesem Gebiet wenig ausgeprägt sein. Der Gebrauch des Euro in der Schweiz scheint sich im selben gemächlichen Rhythmus zu entwickeln wie in den Ländern der Europäischen Union.

Die positive Erfahrung der letzten Monate stärkt unser Vertrauen, dass das Verhältnis zwischen Franken und Euro auch künftig stabil bleibt. Eine wesentliche Rolle spielen dabei vorderhand die fundamentalen wirtschaftlichen Faktoren der betreffenden Länder. Die überaus konvergente Wirtschaftspolitik der Schweiz und ihrer Nachbarn ist die beste Garantie für den Erhalt der relativen Stabilität.

Die Erfahrung einiger Monate genügt dennoch nicht, um definitive Schlüsse zu ziehen. Die Geldpolitik in der Europäischen Union zu führen, ist ein delikates Unterfangen angesichts regionaler wirtschaftlicher Disparitäten. Märkte und Politik folgen den Aktivitäten der EZB weiterhin mit kritischen Augen.

Unter diesen Umständen gilt es, in jeder Hinsicht wachsam zu bleiben; die Schweizer Unternehmen dürfen sich nicht der Illusion hingeben, dass nun kein Wechselkursrisiko mehr besteht zwischen dem Franken und dem Euro. Und für die Nationalbank bleibt die Unsicherheit im europäischen Umfeld ein wichtiges Element für ihre Lagebeurteilung.