Print

Zur Geldpolitik im neuen Jahr

University of St Gallen, St Gallen, January 21, 1999, 21.01.1999

  • Complete text in German: "Zur Geldpolitik im neuen Jahr"
    PDF (53 KB)

After looking back on the year 1998, the Chairman of the Governing Board of the Swiss National Bank, Hans Meyer, in the second part of his speech, commented on monetary policy in 1999. In a third section he dealt with a number of basic problems of monetary policy, while the fourth part was devoted to the National Bank's mandate.

The various relevant indicators did not necessitate a tightening of monetary policy in 1999. Monetary policy planning, however, rests largely on forecasts. Accordingly, the course of monetary policy has to be constantly checked against any new information and, if necessary, be adjusted.

The National Bank pursues a flexible strategy. It tries to achieve the goal of price stability by orienting itself both to the development of the monetary aggregates and to other indicators. Its monetary policy is pragmatic in the sense that the number of indicators used is not final and the weight allotted to individual indicators is not fixed from the start.

Monetary policy decisions are to a considerable extent discretionary decisions. For this very reason, it is important that the National Bank's mandate is clear and unequivocal. The new monetary article gives the National Bank a mandate to pursue a monetary policy which serves the interests of the country as a whole, with the goal of price stability having priority. In order to achieve the best overall effectiveness, good use must be made of every economic policy instrument according to the particular advantages it offers. There is a certain long-term connection between the supply of money and price stability. What is, in the final analysis, important, therefore, is to adjust the supply of money adequately to real economic development. In this way, price stability can be ensured. This is not an end in itself, but a major contribution to balanced economic development. Last but not least, it is also a social concern since the weakest members of society suffer the most from inflation.

Drucken

Zur Geldpolitik im neuen Jahr

Universität St. Gallen, St. Gallen, 21.01.1999

  • Vollständiger Text
    (53 KB)

Nach einem Rückblick auf das Jahr 1998 äussert sich Nationalbankpräsident Hans Meyer im zweiten Teil seines Referates zur Geldpolitik 1999. Im dritten Teil kommen einige grundlegende Probleme der Geldpolitik zur Sprache und im vierten geht es um den Auftrag der Nationalbank.

Aufgrund der verschiedenen geldpolitischen Indikatoren drängte sich für 1999 keine Straffung der Geldpolitik auf. Geldpolitische Überlegungen beruhen allerdings zu einem grossen Teil auf Prognosen. Der geldpolitische Kurs muss daher laufend anhand neuer Informationen überprüft und unter Umständen angepasst werden.

Die Nationalbank verfolgt eine flexible Strategie. Sie versucht das Ziel der Preisstabilität dadurch zu erreichen, indem sie sich sowohl an der Entwicklung der monetären Aggregate als auch an anderen Indikatoren orientiert. Ihre Geldpolitik ist in dem Sinne pragmatisch, als die Zahl der verwendeten Indikatoren nicht abschliessend und das Gewicht, das den einzelnen zugemessen wird, nicht von vornherein fixiert ist.

Geldpolitische Entscheide sind in erheblichem Masse Ermessensentscheide. Gerade deshalb ist es wichtig, dass über den Auftrag der Notenbank Klarheit herrscht. Der neue Währungsartikel beauftragt die Nationalbank, die Geldpolitik im Gesamtinteresse des Landes zu führen, wobei das Ziel der Preisstabilität vorrangig ist. Im Interesse einer optimalen Gesamtwirkung ist jedes wirtschaftspolitische Instrument seinen besonderen Eigenschaften entsprechend einzusetzen. Zwischen der Geldversorgung und der Preisstabilität besteht tendenziell und längerfristig ein Zusammenhang. Letztlich geht es deshalb darum, die Geldversorgung angemessen auf die reale Wirtschaftsentwicklung abzustimmen. Damit kann Preisstabilität gewährleistet werden. Diese ist kein Selbstzweck, sondern ein wesentlicher Beitrag für eine ausgeglichene wirtschaftliche Entwicklung. Sie ist nicht zuletzt aber auch ein soziales Anliegen, leiden doch die schwächsten Glieder der Gemeinschaft am stärksten unter der Teuerung.