Print

Questions and answers on the SNB as a company

What is the constitutional basis for the SNB and its activities?

The constitutional basis for the SNB's activities is enshrined in art. 99 of the Federal Constitution. The article states that money and currency are a federal matter, with the Confederation having the exclusive right to issue coins and banknotes. Furthermore, the articles states that the SNB is to pursue a monetary policy that serves the overall interests of the country, that it should fulfil this mandate as an independent central bank, and that the SNB is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation.

Where is the constitutional basis for the SNB explained in detail?

The main legislation governing the SNB and its activities is the National Bank Act (NBA). The NBA details the SNB's constitutional mandate and independence. It describes the SNB's individual tasks and charges it with ensuring price stability, while taking due account of economic developments. The NBA also defines the SNB's duty of accountability and duty to provide information towards the Federal Council, parliament and the public, which constitutes a counterweight to its independence (Questions and answers on the SNB's independence and its relationship with the Confederation). The NBA also confers on the SNB the note-issuing privilege, in other words, the sole right to issue Swiss banknotes.

What is the SNB's legal form?

The SNB's legal form, as Switzerland's central bank, is that of a special-statute joint-stock company. Unless defined otherwise in the NBA, the provisions of the Code of Obligations relating to joint-stock companies apply. The SNB is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation. This mixed legal form, which unites elements from private and public law, was chosen upon the SNB's establishment in 1907 and has been retained ever since.

Who owns the SNB?

The majority of the SNB's share capital is held by the cantons and cantonal banks, with the remainder mainly in the hands of private individuals. In conducting its monetary policy, however, the SNB performs a public function. It carries out its monetary policy mandate independently of the Federal Council, parliament or other bodies. Consequently, its legal form is a combination of private and public law elements, and the rights of its shareholders are also limited accordingly. Its net profit - minus a dividend limited by legal provisions - accrues to the public sector, namely the Confederation and the cantons (Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation).

What are the SNB's corporate bodies?

The SNB's corporate bodies are the General Meeting of Shareholders, the Bank Council, the Governing Board and the Audit Board. Since the SNB is a special-statute joint-stock company, the powers of the General Meeting of Shareholders and the Bank Council are limited compared to private companies.

How is the SNB's share capital distributed?

In accordance with the NBA, the SNB's share capital amounts to CHF 25 million. It is divided into 100,000 fully paid-up registered shares with a nominal value of CHF 250 each. At end-2015, 52.4% of these shares were held by cantons, cantonal banks and other public authorities and institutions. The remaining shares were in the possession of private individuals and legal entities in Switzerland and abroad. Shareholders may vote only if they are entered in the share register. However, as stipulated in the NBA, a private shareholder's registration is limited to a maximum of 100 shares. Of the registered shares, 61% were held by public sector shareholders.

What is the procedure to become an SNB shareholder?

SNB registered shares are traded in the Domestic Standard segment of SIX Swiss Exchange (the Swiss stock exchange) and can be acquired by any private individual or legal entity in Switzerland or abroad. The stock market symbol is SNBN and the ticker symbol is 131926.

Why are the SNB's shares listed on the Swiss stock exchange?

SNB registered shares have been listed on the Swiss stock exchange since the central bank's foundation in 1907, which is not surprising in view of the widely held nature of the shares. Due to its shares listing (today on SIX Swiss Exchange), the SNB is required to meet the Swiss stock exchange conditions imposed on all issuers. On the subject of the SNB's shares listing, the NBA states that the competent authorities must take into account the special nature of the SNB when applying the listing rules, particularly the provisions on the content and the frequency of financial reporting as well as on ad hoc publicity.

How is this 'special nature of the SNB' taken into account in terms of financial reporting?

The financial reporting of the SNB is not comparable with that of a joint-stock company under private law. The SNB's purpose is not to earn profits which are then distributed to its shareholders, but rather to fulfil its mandate as laid out in the Constitution. The distribution of profits is also defined in the NBA. Accordingly, the SNB's reporting duties are different. It renders account of the fulfilment of its tasks to parliament and the public in the accountability report. It provides information on organisational and operational developments, as well as its financial result, in its financial report, which includes the business report and the annual financial statements. The financial report requires the approval of the Federal Council before it can be put before the General Meeting of Shareholders.

What rights do SNB shareholders have?

SNB shareholder rights are laid down in art. 36 NBA, with the provisions of company law being subsidiary to those of the NBA. Since the SNB fulfils a public mandate and is administered with the cooperation and under the supervision of the Confederation, shareholder rights are restricted as compared with a joint-stock company under private law. On the one hand, voting rights of private shareholders are limited to 100 votes. On the other, dividends may not exceed 6% of share capital, i.e. CHF 15 per share. Thus the only say that shareholders have in profit distribution is with regards to the payment of a dividend up to 6% - on condition that the distribution reserve does not turn negative following the profit appropriation. Furthermore, the business report and the annual financial statements are subject to approval by the Federal Council before they can be submitted to the General Meeting of Shareholders. Finally, the General Meeting of Shareholders only elects five of the eleven members of the Bank Council.

Why does the NBA limit the dividend to 6% of share capital?

The SNB is a special-statute joint-stock company with a public mandate. This mandate includes the note-issuing privilege, due to which - averaged out over the long term - it earns profits. In line with the Constitution and public law, and provided they are not needed for the provisions for currency reserves, these profits accrue not, primarily, to the shareholders, but to the public sector. For this reason, the dividend is restricted by law to 6%, with the remainder of the net profit generally distributed to the Confederation and the cantons.

Will the cantons and cantonal banks continue to hold the majority of SNB shares in the future?

A breakdown of SNB shareholdings shows a remarkable stability over the decades. Since the SNB's foundation, almost 40% of its share capital has been held by the cantons, and almost 15% by the cantonal banks (or, formerly, the issuing banks). At end-2015, public sector shareholders accounted for 61% of registered shares. The remainder were in the hands of private shareholders, although because of the limitation on voting rights, their voting power was just 21%. The voting power of the cantons and cantonal banks, as well as other public authorities and institutions, therefore amounted to 79%. Thus, within the bounds of the legally prescribed limitations, the participatory rights of public sector shareholders in the SNB are substantial.

Could the SNB be taken over and controlled by a (foreign) private investor?

The participatory and property rights of SNB shareholders are severely constrained by law. Furthermore, voting rights of shareholders outside the Swiss public sector are limited to a maximum of 100 shares. Foreign shareholders have numbered among the private shareholders since the beginning of the 1990s. At end-2015, they accounted for 14% of registered shares, although their voting share was just 1.44%.

Why doesn't the Confederation hold SNB shares?

Since the SNB carries out a public function, it is administered - as specified in the Federal Constitution - with the cooperation of the Confederation and under its supervision. This is laid out in the NBA as follows: The Federal Council appoints the majority of the Bank Council members (six of eleven), including the President and the Vice President. The Federal Council also appoints the three members of the Governing Board, including the Chairperson and Vice Chairperson, as well as the three deputy members (all based on the Bank Council's recommendation). The SNB must also submit its financial report to the Federal Council for approval before it can be put before the General Meeting of Shareholders. These participatory and supervisory rights of the Confederation are enshrined in the Constitution and the NBA, and do not require the holding of shares in the SNB.

What is the function of the SNB's Bank Council?

The eleven members of the Bank Council constitute the SNB's supervisory body. It oversees and controls the central bank's conduct of business. Monetary policy does not form part of its remit; this falls to the Governing Board. The Bank Council lays down the fundamental elements of the SNB's organisation and approves the budget as well as the level of provisions for currency reserves. The Bank Council also assesses risk management and the basic principles of the investment process. Furthermore, it approves the agreement with the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) on profit distribution and decides on the design of banknotes. The Bank Council generally meets six times per year. Four committees are composed from within its own ranks, namely an audit, a risk, a compensation and a nomination committee.

Who appoints the Bank Council members, and what are the requirements to become a member of the Bank Council?

The Federal Council appoints six members of the Bank Council, as well as the President and Vice President. Five members are appointed by the General Meeting of Shareholders. As set out in the NBA, candidates must have Swiss citizenship, an impeccable reputation, and recognised expertise in the fields of banking and financial services, company management or economic policy, or in an academic field. The composition of the Bank Council should adequately represent the different regions and languages of the country. One term of office is four years, and the maximum tenure may not exceed twelve years. The Memorandum of Understanding on the set of principles governing membership of the SNB Bank Council concluded by the FDF and the SNB ensures that the specialised abilities and qualities that are important for the SNB are represented in the Bank Council at all times.

Is the Bank Council of the SNB comparable with the Board of Directors of a listed company?

The Bank Council is comparable with a Board of Directors inasmuch as it is also a supervisory body. However, due to the SNB's special legal form, there are substantial differences. Its executive management, the Governing Board, is appointed not by the Bank Council but by the Federal Council (upon recommendation of the Bank Council). Furthermore, only five of the eleven members of the Bank Council are elected by the General Meeting of Shareholders; the remaining six members are also appointed by the Federal Council, as are its President and Vice President. With regard to the division of tasks, it is important to note that the Bank Council has no involvement in monetary policy. This is solely the domain of the Governing Board.

What are the tasks of the Governing Board of the SNB?

The Governing Board is the supreme management and executive body of the SNB. It consists of three members. The Governing Board is responsible, in particular, for monetary policy, asset management strategy, contributing to the stability of the financial system, and international monetary cooperation. It represents the SNB in the public sphere.

Who elects the Governing Board, and what are the requirements to become a member of the Governing Board?

The members of the Governing Board are appointed by the Federal Council, based on the recommendation of the Bank Council. The term of office is six years and re-election is possible. The positions of Chairperson and Vice Chairperson are also appointed by the Federal Council. The Chairman leads the Governing Board meetings. Candidates for the Governing Board must have an impeccable reputation and a recognised expertise in monetary, banking and financial issues. They must also hold Swiss citizenship and be resident in Switzerland.

Who is responsible for the SNB's business operations?

The Enlarged Governing Board, i.e. the three Governing Board members and their deputies, is responsible for issuing the strategic guidelines for the SNB's business operations. The Board of Deputies is responsible for the planning and implementation of these strategic guidelines. It also ensures coordination in all operational matters of interdepartmental importance.

Where is the SNB's head office?

The SNB has two head offices - one in Berne and one in Zurich. Both locations have a cash office. The fact that the SNB has two head offices goes back to a compromise reached at the time of its establishment.

Is the SNB represented elsewhere in Switzerland?

The SNB maintains representative offices in Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lugano, Lucerne and St Gallen. These are responsible (as are both head offices) for monitoring economic developments and explaining the SNB's policy in the regions (Questions and answers on the SNB regional network). The SNB also maintains 14 agencies run by cantonal banks for the receipt and distribution of banknotes and coins.

Does the SNB have an overseas presence?

In July 2013, the SNB opened a branch office in Singapore (Questions and answers on asset management).

How is the SNB organised?

The SNB is divided into three departments. For the most part, departments I and III are located in Zurich and Department II in Berne. Each of the three departments is headed by a member of the Governing Board and their deputy. Department I, which is usually headed by the Chairperson of the Governing Board, comprises Economic Affairs, International Monetary Cooperation, Statistics, the General Secretariat, Legal Services, Compliance, Human Resources, as well as Premises and Technical Services. Department II, generally led by the Vice Chairperson of the Governing Board, is divided into Financial Stability, Cash, Central Accounting, Controlling, Risk Management, as well as Operational Risk and Security. Department III is made up of Money Market and Foreign Exchange, Asset Management, Banking Operations, Information Technology, Financial Market Analysis and the Singapore office. The Internal Audit unit reports to the Bank Council's Audit Committee.

How many staff are employed by the SNB?

A total of 884 staff (including trainees) were employed by the SNB at end-2015, the equivalent of 788 full-time positions. These positions were predominantly economists, legal, banking and IT specialists, and technical personnel. Around 600 staff work in Zurich and 200 in Berne, with the remainder spread across the regional offices and the branch office in Singapore.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zum Unternehmen Nationalbank

Welches sind die verfassungsrechtlichen Grundlagen für die Nationalbank und ihre Tätigkeit?

Die Grundlage für die Tätigkeit der Nationalbank bildet Artikel 99 der Bundesverfassung. Demnach ist das Geld- und Währungswesen Sache des Bundes, ihm allein steht das Recht zur Ausgabe von Münzen und Banknoten zu. Im Weiteren legt Artikel 99 fest, dass die Nationalbank eine Geld- und Währungspolitik im Gesamtinteresse des Landes zu führen hat, dass sie diese Aufgabe als unabhängige Zentralbank zu erfüllen hat und dass sie unter Mitwirkung und Aufsicht des Bundes verwaltet wird.

Wo werden die verfassungsrechtlichen Grundlagen für die Nationalbank konkretisiert?

Der gesetzliche Rahmen für die Nationalbank und ihre Tätigkeit ergibt sich in erster Linie aus dem Nationalbankgesetz (NBG). Das NBG konkretisiert den verfassungsrechtlichen Auftrag und die Unabhängigkeit der Nationalbank. Es umschreibt ihre Aufgaben im Einzelnen und legt fest, dass sie die Preisstabilität gewährleistet und dabei der konjunkturellen Entwicklung Rechnung zu tragen hat. Das NBG definiert als Gegengewicht zur Unabhängigkeit auch die Rechenschafts- und Informationspflicht der Nationalbank gegenüber Bundesrat, Parlament und Öffentlichkeit (Fragen und Antworten zur Unabhängigkeit der Nationalbank und ihrem Verhältnis zum Bund). Zudem überträgt der Bund im NBG der Nationalbank das Notenmonopol, d.h., nur die Nationalbank hat das Recht, schweizerische Banknoten herauszugeben.

Welche Rechtsform hat die Nationalbank?

Die Nationalbank ist als Zentralbank der Schweiz eine spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft. Es gelten die aktienrechtlichen Vorschriften des Obligationenrechts, soweit das NBG nichts anderes bestimmt. Die Nationalbank wird unter Mitwirkung und Aufsicht des Bundes verwaltet. Diese gemischte Rechtsform, die private und öffentlich-rechtliche Elemente vereinigt, wurde schon bei der Gründung der Nationalbank im Jahr 1907 gewählt und seither beibehalten.

Wem gehört die Nationalbank?

Die Mehrheit des Aktienkapitals der Nationalbank befindet sich in den Händen der Kantone und der Kantonalbanken, der übrige Teil wird überwiegend von Privaten gehalten. Die Nationalbank erfüllt mit der Geld- und Währungspolitik indes eine öffentliche Aufgabe. Sie nimmt ihren geldpolitischen Auftrag unabhängig von Bundesrat, Parlament oder anderen Stellen wahr. Entsprechend prägt eine Kombination von öffentlich-rechtlichen und privatrechtlichen Elementen das Rechtskleid der Nationalbank, und entsprechend sind auch die Rechte der Aktionäre gesetzlich beschränkt. Ihr Reingewinn - abzüglich einer gesetzlich beschränkten Dividende - steht der öffentlichen Hand zu, d.h. Bund und Kantonen (Fragen und Antworten zu Eigenkapital und Gewinnverwendung).

Über welche Organe verfügt die Nationalbank?

Die Organe der Nationalbank sind die Generalversammlung der Aktionäre, der Bankrat, das Direktorium und die Revisionsstelle. Da es sich bei der Nationalbank um eine spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft handelt, sind die Befugnisse der Generalversammlung und des Bankrats im Vergleich zu einer privatrechtlich organisierten Aktiengesellschaft eingeschränkt.

Wie verteilt sich das Aktienkapital der Nationalbank?

Das Aktienkapital der Nationalbank beträgt gemäss NBG 25 Mio. Franken. Es ist in 100'000 vollständig liberierte Namenaktien mit einem Nennwert von je 250 Franken eingeteilt. Ende 2015 hielten Kantone, Kantonalbanken sowie andere öffentlich-rechtliche Körperschaften/Anstalten 52,4% der Aktien. Die übrigen Aktien befanden sich im Besitz von natürlichen und juristischen Personen aus der Schweiz und dem Ausland. Aktionäre sind nur dann stimmberechtigt, wenn sie im Aktienbuch eingetragen sind. Die Eintragung im Aktienbuch ist laut NBG für Privataktionäre jedoch auf höchstens 100 Stimmen beschränkt. Von den eingetragenen Aktien waren 61% im Besitz von öffentlich-rechtlichen Aktionären.

Wie kann man Aktionär der Nationalbank werden?

Die Namenaktien der Schweizerischen Nationalbank werden im "Domestic Standard" der SIX Swiss Exchange (Schweizer Börse) gehandelt und können von jeder natürlichen oder juristischen Person aus der Schweiz oder dem Ausland erworben werden. Das Börsensymbol lautet SNBN, die Valorennummer 131'926.

Warum sind die Aktien der Nationalbank an der Schweizer Börse kotiert?

Die Namenaktien der Nationalbank waren seit ihrer Gründung im Jahr 1907 an schweizerischen Börsen kotiert, was angesichts der weiten Verbreitung der Titel nahelag. Aufgrund der Kotierung ihrer Aktien - heute an der SIX Swiss Exchange - unterliegt die Nationalbank den für Emittenten verbindlichen Vorschriften der Schweizer Börse. Das NBG sieht vor, dass für den Fall der Kotierung der Aktien der Nationalbank die zuständigen Organe bei der Anwendung der Kotierungsbestimmungen die besondere Natur der Nationalbank berücksichtigen müssen, namentlich die Bestimmungen über Inhalt und Häufigkeit der finanziellen Berichterstattung sowie über die Ad-hoc-Publizität.

Wie wird diese "besondere Natur der Nationalbank" bei der finanziellen Berichterstattung berücksichtigt?

Die finanzielle Berichterstattung der Nationalbank ist nicht mit jener einer privatrechtlichen Aktiengesellschaft vergleichbar. Zweck der Nationalbank ist es nicht, Gewinne zu erzielen, die an ihre Aktionäre ausgeschüttet werden, sondern ihren von der Verfassung vorgegebenen Auftrag zu erfüllen. Die Gewinnverwendung ist zudem im NBG festgelegt. Entsprechend anders sind auch die Berichtspflichten der Nationalbank gelagert. Über die Erfüllung ihres Auftrags legt sie gegenüber Parlament und Öffentlichkeit Rechenschaft ab (Rechenschaftsbericht). Über ihre organisatorische und betriebliche Entwicklung sowie über ihr finanzielles Ergebnis gibt die Nationalbank in ihrem Finanzbericht mit Jahresbericht und Jahresrechnung Auskunft. Dieser muss vom Bundesrat genehmigt werden, bevor er der Generalversammlung der Aktionäre vorgelegt wird.

Welche Rechte haben die Aktionäre der Nationalbank?

Die Rechte der Aktionäre der Nationalbank sind im NBG geregelt (Art. 36 NBG), das Aktienrecht findet nur ergänzend Anwendung. Da die Nationalbank einen öffentlichen Auftrag wahrnimmt und unter Mitwirkung und Aufsicht des Bundes verwaltet wird, sind die Aktionärsrechte im Vergleich zu einer privatrechtlichen Aktiengesellschaft eingeschränkt. Zum einen ist das Stimmrecht der Privataktionäre auf 100 Stimmen beschränkt. Zum anderen ist der Dividendenanspruch auf höchstens 6% des Aktienkapitals, d.h. 15 Franken pro Aktie, limitiert. Damit können die Aktionäre nur in sehr begrenztem Rahmen über die Gewinnverwendung befinden - nämlich einzig über die Ausrichtung der Dividende bis zu 6%, sofern die Voraussetzungen dafür erfüllt sind, d.h., wenn die Ausschüttungsreserve nach Gewinnverwendung nicht negativ wird. Weiter unterliegen Jahresbericht und Jahresrechnung der Genehmigung durch den Bundesrat, bevor sie der Generalversammlung vorgelegt werden, und die Generalversammlung wählt nur fünf der elf Mitglieder des Bankrats.

Warum beschränkt das NBG die Dividende auf 6% des Aktienkapitals?

Die Nationalbank ist eine spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft mit öffentlichem Auftrag. Im Rahmen dieses Auftrags hat die Nationalbank das Notenmonopol inne, dank dem sie im langfristigen Durchschnitt Gewinne erwirtschaftet. Diese gehören - soweit sie nicht für die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven benötigt werden - gemäss Verfassung und Gesetz nicht in erster Linie den Aktionären, sondern der öffentlichen Hand. Deshalb ist die Dividende per Gesetz auf 6% beschränkt, der Rest des Bilanzgewinns wird grundsätzlich an Bund und Kantone ausgeschüttet.

Werden die Kantone und Kantonalbanken auch in Zukunft die Mehrheit der Aktien der Nationalbank halten?

Die Zusammensetzung des Aktionariats der Nationalbank ist über die Jahrzehnte hinweg bemerkenswert stabil geblieben. Die Kantone halten seit der Gründung der Nationalbank einen Anteil von knapp 40% am Aktienkapital, die Kantonal- bzw. früher Emissionsbanken knapp 15%. Ende 2015 hielten öffentlich-rechtliche Aktionäre 61% der eingetragenen Aktien. Der Rest der eingetragenen Aktien entfiel auf die Privataktionäre, aufgrund der Stimmrechtsbeschränkung lag ihr Stimmrechtsanteil allerdings bei nur 21%. Der Stimmrechtsanteil der Kantone und Kantonalbanken sowie anderer öffentlich-rechtlicher Körperschaften/Anstalten betrug folglich 79%. Das ermöglicht diesen öffentlich-rechtlichen Aktionären ein - im Rahmen der gesetzlich vorgegebenen Einschränkungen - substanzielles Mitwirkungsrecht an der Nationalbank.

Könnte die Nationalbank von einem (ausländischen) Privatinvestor übernommen und dann fremdgesteuert werden?

Die Mitwirkungs- und Vermögensrechte der Aktionäre der Nationalbank sind gesetzlich stark eingeschränkt. Dazu kommt für Aktionäre, die nicht dem schweizerischen öffentlich-rechtlichen Sektor angehören, die Stimmrechtsbeschränkung auf 100 Aktien. Seit Anfang der 1990er-Jahre befinden sich auch ausländische Aktionäre unter den Privataktionären, ihr Anteil am eingetragenen Aktienkapital betrug Ende 2015 14%, ihr Stimmrechtsanteil jedoch nur 1,44%.

Warum hält der Bund keine Aktien der Nationalbank?

Da die Nationalbank eine öffentliche Aufgabe erfüllt, wird sie gemäss Bundesverfassung unter Mitwirkung und Aufsicht des Bundes verwaltet. Im NBG wird dies konkretisiert: So ernennt der Bundesrat die Mehrheit der Mitglieder des Bankrats (sechs von elf), darunter den Präsidenten und den Vizepräsidenten, sowie - auf Vorschlag des Bankrats - die drei Mitglieder und die drei stellvertretenden Mitglieder des Direktoriums. Der Bundesrat bestimmt auch dessen Präsidenten und Vizepräsidenten. Zudem muss die Nationalbank den Finanzbericht vor der Abnahme durch die Generalversammlung dem Bundesrat zur Genehmigung vorlegen. Diese Mitwirkungs- und Aufsichtsrechte stehen dem Bund gemäss Verfassung und NBG zu, ohne dass er Aktien der Nationalbank hält.

Welche Funktion hat der Bankrat der Nationalbank?

Der Bankrat hat elf Mitglieder und ist das Aufsichtsorgan der Nationalbank, er beaufsichtigt und kontrolliert die Geschäftsführung der Nationalbank. Die Geldpolitik fällt nicht in seine Kompetenz; sie obliegt dem Direktorium. Der Bankrat legt die Grundzüge der Organisation der Nationalbank fest, genehmigt das Budget und die Höhe der Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven. Ferner beurteilt der Bankrat das Risikomanagement und die Grundsätze des Anlageprozesses. Ebenfalls genehmigt er die Vereinbarung mit dem Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) über die Gewinnausschüttung und entscheidet über die Gestaltung der Banknoten. Der Bankrat tritt in der Regel sechs Mal pro Jahr zu Sitzungen zusammen. Er bildet aus seiner Mitte einen Prüfungsausschuss, einen Risikoausschuss, einen Entschädigungsausschuss und einen Ernennungsausschuss.

Wer wählt den Bankrat, und wer kann in den Bankrat gewählt werden?

Der Bundesrat wählt sechs Mitglieder und bezeichnet auch den Präsidenten und Vizepräsidenten. Fünf Mitglieder werden von der Generalversammlung gewählt. Wählbar sind gemäss NBG Persönlichkeiten mit Schweizer Bürgerrecht, einwandfreiem Ruf und ausgewiesenen Kenntnissen in den Bereichen Bank- und Finanzdienstleistungen, Unternehmensführung, Wirtschaftspolitik oder Wissenschaft. Die Landesgegenden und Sprachregionen sollten angemessen im Bankrat vertreten sein. Die Amtsdauer beträgt vier Jahre, die maximale Amtszeit ist auf zwölf Jahre beschränkt. Das zwischen dem EFD und der Nationalbank abgeschlossene Memorandum über die Prinzipien für die personelle Zusammensetzung des Bankrats stellt sicher, dass die für die Nationalbank wichtigen Qualitäten und Fachkompetenzen im Bankrat stets gewährleistet sind.

Ist der Bankrat der Nationalbank mit dem Verwaltungsrat eines börsenkotierten Unternehmens vergleichbar?

Als Aufsichtsorgan der Nationalbank ist der Bankrat mit einem Verwaltungsrat vergleichbar, jedoch ergeben sich aufgrund der speziellen Rechtsform der Nationalbank erhebliche Unterschiede. So wählt nicht der Bankrat die Geschäftsleitung der Nationalbank - das Direktorium - sondern der Bundesrat (auf Vorschlag des Bankrats). Auch werden nur fünf der elf Mitglieder des Bankrats von der Generalversammlung gewählt, die restlichen sechs wählt der Bundesrat, ebenfalls bestimmt dieser Präsident und Vizepräsident. In Bezug auf die Aufgabenaufteilung ist insbesondere zu beachten, dass der Bankrat keine Mitsprache bei der Geldpolitik hat. Diese fällt ausschliesslich in den Kompetenzbereich des Direktoriums.

Welche Aufgaben hat das Direktorium der Nationalbank?

Das Direktorium ist das oberste geschäftsleitende und ausführende Organ der Nationalbank. Es besteht aus drei Mitgliedern. Das Direktorium ist insbesondere zuständig für die Geld- und Währungspolitik, die Strategie zur Anlage der Aktiven, den Beitrag zur Stabilität des Finanzsystems und die internationale Währungszusammenarbeit. Es vertritt die Nationalbank in der Öffentlichkeit.

Wer wählt das Direktorium, und wer kann in das Direktorium gewählt werden?

Die Mitglieder des Direktoriums werden auf Vorschlag des Bankrats vom Bundesrat für eine Amtsdauer von sechs Jahren gewählt, wobei eine Wiederwahl möglich ist. Der Bundesrat bestimmt auch den Präsidenten und den Vizepräsidenten des Direktoriums. Der Präsident leitet die Sitzungen des Direktoriums. Wählbar sind Persönlichkeiten mit einwandfreiem Ruf und ausgewiesenen Kenntnissen in Währungs-, Bank- und Finanzfragen. Sie müssen das Schweizer Bürgerrecht haben und in der Schweiz wohnhaft sein.

Wer ist bei der Nationalbank für die Betriebsführung zuständig?

Das Erweiterte Direktorium, das aus den drei Mitgliedern des Direktoriums und ihren drei Stellvertretern besteht, ist zuständig für den Erlass der strategischen Vorgaben für die Betriebsführung. Für die Planung und die Umsetzung der strategischen Vorgaben ist das Kollegium der Stellvertreter zuständig. Es gewährleistet auch die Koordination in allen betrieblichen Angelegenheiten von departementsübergreifender Bedeutung.

Wo hat die Nationalbank ihren Sitz?

Die Nationalbank hat je einen Sitz mit Kassenstelle in Bern und Zürich. Die Einrichtung von zwei Sitzen geht auf einen historischen Kompromiss zurück, den man bei der Gründung der Nationalbank geschlossen hat.

Ist die Nationalbank auch in den Regionen der Schweiz vertreten?

Die Nationalbank unterhält in Basel, Genf, Lausanne, Lugano, Luzern und St. Gallen Vertretungen. Diese sind, wie auch die beiden Sitze, für die Beobachtung der Wirtschaftsentwicklung und die Erläuterung der Politik der Nationalbank in den Regionen zuständig (Fragen und Antworten zu den regionalen Wirtschaftskontakten). Für die Versorgung des Landes mit Noten und Münzen unterhält die Nationalbank 14 Agenturen, die von Kantonalbanken geführt werden.

Ist die Nationalbank im Ausland präsent?

Seit Juli 2013 betreibt die Nationalbank eine Niederlassung in Singapur (Fragen und Antworten zur Verwaltung der Anlagen).

Wie ist die Nationalbank organisiert?

Die Nationalbank ist in drei Departemente gegliedert. Die Bereiche und Organisationseinheiten des I. und des III. Departements befinden sich mehrheitlich in Zürich, diejenigen des II. Departements mehrheitlich in Bern. Die drei Departemente werden von je einem Mitglied des Direktoriums und dessen Stellvertreter geleitet. Der Geschäftskreis des I. Departements, das in der Regel vom Präsidenten des Direktoriums geleitet wird, umfasst die Bereiche Volkswirtschaft, Internationale Währungskooperation, Statistik und Generalsekretariat sowie die Organisationseinheiten Recht, Compliance, Human Resources wie auch Liegenschaften und Dienste. Im II. Departement, das in der Regel vom Vizepräsidenten des Direktoriums geleitet wird, sind die Bereiche Finanzstabilität und Bargeld sowie die Organisationseinheiten Rechnungswesen, Controlling, Risikomanagement wie auch Operationelle Risiken und Sicherheit angesiedelt. Das III. Departement umfasst die Bereiche Geldmarkt und Devisenhandel, Asset Management, Operatives Bankgeschäft und Informatik sowie die Organisationseinheiten Finanzmarktanalyse und Singapur. Die Interne Revision ist dem Prüfungsausschuss des Bankrats unterstellt.

Wie gross ist der Personalbestand der Nationalbank?

Der Personalbestand der Nationalbank belief sich Ende 2015 auf 884 Personen (einschliesslich Lernende), die insgesamt 788 Vollzeitstellen besetzten. Es handelt sich dabei überwiegend um Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter aus den Fachrichtungen Volkswirtschaft, Recht, Bankwesen, Informatik und Technik. Rund 600 Personen arbeiten in Zürich, 200 in Bern, der Rest verteilt sich auf die regionalen Vertretungen und die Niederlassung in Singapur.