Print

Questions and answers on banknotes

In Switzerland, who is allowed to issue banknotes?

According to art. 99 of the Federal Constitution, the Confederation has the exclusive right to issue banknotes. The Confederation has transferred its exclusive right to issue banknotes (note-issuing privilege) to the Swiss National Bank (art. 4 National Bank Act). The SNB issues banknotes commensurate with demand for payment transactions and takes back any banknotes which are worn, damaged or surplus to requirements due to seasonal fluctuations. The banknotes are printed by Orell Füssli Security Printing Ltd on behalf of the SNB.

Which banknotes can I use for payment in Switzerland?

The banknotes issued by the SNB are considered as legal tender (art. 2 Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments, CPIA). There are 1000, 200, 100, 50, 20 and 10-franc notes in circulation. The eighth banknote series will gradually be replaced by the ninth series in a process scheduled to take place between April 2016 and 2019. Notes from the eighth series will remain valid until further notice. All information on the new banknote series can be found under New banknote series. Many businesses in Switzerland also accept euro banknotes as a means of payment. If no other payment instrument is contractually agreed, banknotes denominated in Swiss francs must be accepted as payment without restriction (art. 3 CPIA).

How many banknotes are in circulation?

In 2015, the average number of banknotes in circulation was 406.5 million, with a value of CHF 67.4 billion. An overview of banknote circulation for each denomination is available under Banknote circulation.

How many banknotes does the SNB issue each year and how many does it withdraw from circulation?

In 2015, 421 million banknotes were issued and 409 million were withdrawn. The SNB put 107.7 million freshly printed banknotes into circulation. Further information is available under Issuing and redeeming banknotes.

Is demand for cash on the decline as a result of cashless payments with debit, credit and cash cards, etc.?

Cash (which includes both coins and banknotes) primarily fulfils two functions: it is used as a payment instrument and as a store of value, and is thus in competition with other means of payment and stores of value. Cash is legal tender which is simple to use and available to everyone. It is therefore an important element of a functional economy. As well as using cash, payments can also be made via cashless payment methods, something which has recorded strong growth in recent decades. Currency in circulation has also continued to grow over this period, although to a lesser extent. However, since the advent of the financial crisis and in the current low interest rate environment, the demand for cash has again strengthened.

How much does it cost to produce a banknote?

The cost of producing one of the new banknotes (development, paper, printing) averages around 40 centimes.

How long will the eighth-series notes currently in circulation remain valid?

Notes from the eighth series will remain legal tender until further notice and may continue to be used without restriction. Once the last denomination of the ninth series has been issued, the SNB will announce a recall of the notes from the current series.

What does 'the SNB is recalling banknotes from circulation' actually mean?

Banknotes that are recalled from circulation are no longer legal tender. However, they can be exchanged at the SNB at full nominal value for twenty years after the date of recall. The sixth banknote series (the predecessor to the eighth series) was issued in the 1970s and withdrawn from circulation effective 1 May 2000. These banknotes can still be exchanged until 30 April 2020. After this date, the banknotes lose their value or, at most, may gain collector's value. The SNB transfers the countervalue of banknotes that remain unexchanged to the Swiss Fund for Aid in cases of Uninsurable Damage by Natural Forces (art. 9 CPIA). The SNB will only recall the notes from the eighth series once the last denomination of the ninth series has been issued.

How and where can I exchange banknotes from older banknote series?

Banknotes that have been recalled but not yet declared invalid can be exchanged at the SNB's offices and agencies. Further information is available under Instruction sheet on exchanging recalled banknotes.

Does the SNB deal in banknotes that have been declared worthless?

Banknotes that have been declared worthless can no longer be used as legal tender, although they may have collector's value. The price is set according to supply and demand, and the condition of the banknote (the SNB does not conduct evaluations). Unlike numismaticians, antique shops or banks with a numismatic section, the SNB does not deal in withdrawn and invalid banknotes.

Can I exchange damaged banknotes at the SNB?

The SNB replaces damaged banknotes if the serial number can still be recognised. In addition, the bearer of the banknote must either present a portion of the banknote which is larger than 50%, or provide proof that the missing part of the banknote has been destroyed. Further information is available under Instruction sheet on exchanging damaged banknotes.

Can I exchange foreign currency at the SNB?

No, foreign currency cannot be bought or sold at the SNB.

How long is a banknote used for before it is destroyed?

In general, banknotes with greater values are in use for longer than those with smaller values. This can be put down to the way in which they are used: banknotes of a larger denomination are more often used for storing value, while notes of small denominations are primarily used as legal tender and therefore change hands much more frequently. The 200-franc and 100-franc notes are in circulation for four years on average, whereas the 50-franc, 20-franc and 10-franc notes already have to be replaced after two to three years. The 'life expectancy' of a 1000-franc note is more than ten years. In 2015, approximately 16.9% of the notes checked for authenticity and quality were destroyed, amounting to 70.8 million damaged or recalled banknotes. Further information is available under Sorting and destruction.

How can I avoid receiving counterfeit money?

The best way to avoid this is to make yourself familiar with the design principles and security features of the notes. Each banknote has several security features that can be checked without the aid of special devices. For more information on the eighth series, see Security features; more information on the ninth series may be found under Security concept.

To what extent are our banknotes protected against counterfeiting?

Between 3,000 and 4,000 counterfeit banknotes are confiscated in Switzerland annually. This corresponds to 10 to 15 counterfeits for every million Swiss banknotes each year - a very modest number by international standards. Further information on counterfeit currency is available on the Federal Office of Police website (www.fedpol.admin.ch).

What should I do if I receive counterfeit money?

Any coins or banknotes that are suspected counterfeits should be handed in to the nearest police station for examination. Any person who puts counterfeit money into circulation is liable to prosecution.

Can I reproduce banknotes for advertising purposes?

Banknotes are protected by provisions in the Swiss Criminal Code (www.admin.ch). It is forbidden to counterfeit money to pass it off as genuine or to alter it to pass it off at a value higher than its true value. It is also forbidden to import, acquire or store counterfeit money, or to put it into circulation. Reproduction of banknotes for advertising purposes is also restricted. Reproduction and imitation must avoid any risk of confusion with genuine banknotes. Examples of reproductions which avoid the risk of confusion with genuine banknotes are listed in the Instruction sheet concerning the reproduction of banknotes. For advertising and training purposes, the SNB will supply, on loan, digital images of banknotes with a resolution of 150 dpi with the word 'SPECIMEN' written on them. Applications, together with details of the intended use, should be sent to the following address:

Swiss National Bank
Cash Division
Bundesplatz 1
CH-3003 Berne
bargeld@snb.ch

Why do banknote series have to be replaced?

The SNB wishes to ensure a high level of security for its banknotes. As technology develops quickly, the SNB must constantly work to stay ahead so that counterfeits have little or no chance. Furthermore, security features typical on previous banknotes are now used for security documents, medicines and branded goods, which is why new elements must be developed for banknote security.

When will the other denominations of the new series be released?

Following the issuance of the 50-franc note in April 2016, the 20-franc is due to be released in spring 2017. The remaining banknotes in the series will be issued subsequently at half-yearly or yearly intervals. The 10-franc note will be followed by the 200-franc, then the 1000-franc note and, lastly, the 100-franc note. Issuance of the entire series is scheduled to be completed by 2019.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zu den Banknoten

Wer darf in der Schweiz Banknoten ausgeben?

Das Recht zur Ausgabe der Schweizer Banknoten steht gemäss Bundesverfassung allein dem Bund zu (Art. 99 der Bundesverfassung). Der Bund seinerseits hat das Recht zur Ausgabe der schweizerischen Banknoten (Notenmonopol) der Schweizerischen Nationalbank übertragen (Art. 4 des Bundesgesetzes über die Schweizerische Nationalbank, NBG). Die Nationalbank gibt Banknoten nach den Bedürfnissen des Zahlungsverkehrs aus und nimmt abgenutzte, beschädigte und infolge saisonaler Schwankungen überschüssige Noten zurück. Gedruckt werden die Banknoten im Auftrag der Nationalbank bei der Orell Füssli Sicherheitsdruck AG.

Mit welchen Banknoten kann ich in der Schweiz bezahlen?

Als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel gelten gemäss Art. 2 des Bundesgesetzes über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG) die von der Nationalbank ausgegebenen Banknoten. Bei den Banknoten sind 1000er-, 200er-, 100er-, 50er-, 20er- und 10er-Noten in Umlauf. Zwischen April 2016 und 2019 findet eine schrittweise Ablösung der heutigen 8. Serie durch die neue, 9. Banknotenserie, statt. Die Noten der 8. Banknotenserie behalten alle bis auf Weiteres ihre Gültigkeit. Sämtliche Informationen zur neuen Notenserie finden sich unter der Rubrik Die neue Banknotenserie. In der Schweiz akzeptieren viele Geschäfte auch Euro-Banknoten als Zahlungsmittel. Banknoten, die auf Schweizer Franken lauten, müssen unbeschränkt an Zahlung genommen werden (Art. 3 WZG), falls kein anderes Zahlungsmittel vertraglich vereinbart wurde.

Wie viele Noten befinden sich in Umlauf?

Im Jahr 2015 betrug der durchschnittliche Notenumlauf 406,5 Mio. Stück im Wert von 67,4 Mrd. Franken. Eine Übersicht über den Umlauf der einzelnen Notenabschnitte findet sich unter Der Notenumlauf.

Wie viele Banknoten gibt die Nationalbank pro Jahr aus, und wie viele nimmt sie zurück?

Im Jahr 2015 wurden 421 Mio. Noten ausgegeben und 409 Mio. Noten zurückgenommen. Dabei setzte die Nationalbank 107,7 Mio. druckfrische Noten in Umlauf. Weitere Informationen finden sich unter Ausgabe und Rücknahme von Banknoten.

Nimmt der Bargeldbedarf ab, weil immer mehr bargeldlos mit Debit-, Kredit-, Cash-Karten usw. bezahlt wird?

Bargeld (dazu zählen neben Banknoten auch Münzen) erfüllt hauptsächlich zwei Funktionen: Es wird als Zahlungsmittel und als Wertaufbewahrungsmittel verwendet und steht somit im Wettbewerb mit anderen Zahlungs- und Wertaufbewahrungsmitteln. Bargeld ist gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel, einfach im Gebrauch und jedermann zugänglich. Bargeld ist damit ein wichtiges Element einer funktionierenden Volkswirtschaft. Neben Bargeld werden auch bargeldlose Zahlungsmittel eingesetzt, die in den letzten Jahrzehnten starke Zuwachsraten verzeichneten. Auch der Bargeldumlauf wuchs im gleichen Zeitraum weiter, wenn auch in geringerem Ausmass. Seit Ausbruch der Finanzkrise hat die Bargeldnachfrage allerdings wieder stärker zugenommen. Dies wird durch das tiefe Zinsniveau und durch eine erhöhte Bargeldhaltung aufgrund des Krisenumfelds begünstigt.

Wie hoch sind die Herstellkosten einer Banknote?

Die Herstellkosten einer Banknote (Entwicklung, Papier und Druck) betragen bei den Noten der neuen Serie im Durchschnitt rund 40 Rappen.

Wie lange ist die aktuelle 8. Banknotenserie noch gültig?

Die Noten der 8. Serie gelten bis auf Weiteres als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel und können ohne Einschränkung weiterverwendet werden. Nach der Emission des letzten Notenwerts der neuen 9. Serie wird die Nationalbank einen Rückruf der Noten der bisherigen Serie ankündigen.

Was bedeutet eigentlich "Die Nationalbank ruft Banknoten zurück"?

Zurückgerufene Banknoten sind kein offizielles Zahlungsmittel mehr. Sie können aber noch während 20 Jahren nach Rückruf bei der Nationalbank zum vollen Nennwert umgetauscht werden. Die Ende der 1970er-Jahre ausgegebene 6. Banknotenserie (die Vorgängerserie der Banknoten der 8. Serie) wurde per 1. Mai 2000 zurückgerufen und ist somit noch bis zum 30. April 2020 umtauschbar. Danach sind die Noten wertlos oder weisen allenfalls einen Sammlerwert auf. Den Gegenwert von Noten, die nicht umgetauscht werden, überweist die Nationalbank dem Schweizerischen Fonds für Hilfe bei nicht versicherbaren Elementarschäden (Art. 9 WZG). Die Noten der 8. Banknotenserie wird die Nationalbank erst nach der Ausgabe des letzten Notenwerts der neuen 9. Serie zurückrufen.

Wie und wo kann ich Banknoten aus älteren Serien umtauschen?

Banknoten, die zurückgerufen, aber noch nicht für wertlos erklärt worden sind, können bei den Kassenstellen oder Agenturen der Nationalbank umgetauscht werden. Nähere Informationen liefert das Merkblatt zum Umtausch von zurückgerufenen Banknoten.

Handelt die Nationalbank mit für wertlos erklärten Banknoten?

Für wertlos erklärte Banknoten sind keine offiziellen Zahlungsmittel mehr, haben aber möglicherweise noch Sammlerwert. Der Preis richtet sich nach Angebot und Nachfrage sowie dem Zustand der Noten (die Nationalbank selber nimmt keine Wertschätzungen vor). Im Unterschied zu Numismatikern, Antiquitätengeschäften oder Banken mit einer numismatischen Abteilung handelt die Nationalbank nicht mit solchen Banknoten.

Kann ich beschädigte Banknoten bei der Nationalbank umtauschen?

Die Nationalbank ersetzt beschädigte Banknoten, wenn sich deren Seriennummer erkennen lässt. Zudem muss der Inhaber der Banknote einen Teil vorweisen, der grösser ist als die Hälfte, oder er beweist, dass der fehlende Teil der Note zerstört wurde. Weitere Informationen finden sich im Merkblatt zum Umtausch von beschädigten Banknoten.

Kann ich bei der Nationalbank Fremdwährungen umtauschen?

Nein, bei der Nationalbank können keine Fremdwährungen gekauft oder verkauft werden.

Wie lange ist eine Banknote in Gebrauch, bevor sie vernichtet wird?

Grosse Noten haben in der Regel eine längere Lebenserwartung als kleine Noten. Dies ist auf ihren Verwendungszweck zurückzuführen: Grosse Noten werden häufiger für die Wertaufbewahrung verwendet, kleine Noten dienen in erster Linie als Zahlungsmittel und werden deshalb stark beansprucht. Die 200er- und 100er-Noten weisen eine Lebensdauer von durchschnittlich vier Jahren auf, die 50er-, 20er- und 10er-Noten müssen bereits nach zwei bis drei Jahren ersetzt werden. Die Lebenserwartung einer 1000er-Note ist höher als 10 Jahre. Im Jahr 2015 wurden von den auf Echtheit und Qualität geprüften Noten rund 16,9% vernichtet. Das entsprach 70,8 Mio. beschädigten oder zurückgerufenen Noten. Weitere Informationen finden sich unter Verarbeitung und Vernichtung.

Wie kann ich vermeiden, Falschgeld zu erhalten?

Am besten schützt man sich, wenn man sich mit der Notengestaltung und den Sicherheitsmerkmalen genau bekannt macht. Auf der Note befinden sich verschiedene Sicherheitsmerkmale, die ohne Hilfsmittel überprüft werden können. Informationen dazu finden sich für die Noten der 8. Serie unter Sicherheitsmerkmale, für die Noten der neuen 9. Serie unter Sicherheitskonzept.

Wie fälschungssicher sind die Banknoten?

In der Schweiz werden pro Jahr rund 3000 bis 4000 falsche Banknoten beschlagnahmt. Dies entspricht 10 bis 15 Fälschungen pro Million Schweizer Noten im Jahr, womit die Anzahl der sichergestellten Fälschungen im internationalen Vergleich bescheiden ausfällt. Informationen zu Falschgeldfällen finden sich auf der Website des Bundesamtes für Polizei (www.fedpol.admin.ch).

Was kann ich tun, wenn ich Falschgeld erhalte?

Falsche Noten oder Münzen sollten bei entsprechendem Verdacht beim nächsten Polizeiposten zur Überprüfung vorgelegt werden. Wer Falschgeld in Umlauf bringt, macht sich strafbar.

Darf ich Banknoten für Werbezwecke reproduzieren?

Banknoten werden durch Bestimmungen im Schweizerischen Strafgesetzbuch (www.admin.ch) geschützt. Es ist verboten, Geld zu fälschen oder zu verfälschen, um es als echt oder zu einem höheren Wert in Umlauf zu setzen. Ebenso ist es verboten, Falschgeld einzuführen, zu erwerben, zu lagern oder in Umlauf zu setzen. Auch die Reproduktion von Banknoten zu Werbezwecken ist eingeschränkt. Die Wiedergabe und Nachahmung darf keine Verwechslungsgefahr mit Originalnoten schaffen. Im Merkblatt über die Reproduktion von Banknoten sind Beispiele von Reproduktionen aufgelistet, bei denen keine Verwechslungsgefahr mit Originalnoten besteht. Die Nationalbank stellt für Werbe- und Ausbildungszwecke leihweise digitale Bilder von Musternoten in einer Auflösung von 150 dpi mit einer Aufschrift "SPECIMEN" zur Verfügung. Gesuche sind mit Angabe des Verwendungszwecks an folgende Adresse zu richten:

Schweizerische Nationalbank
Bereich Bargeld
Bundesplatz 1
CH-3003 Bern
bargeld@snb.ch

Warum müssen Banknotenserien ersetzt werden?

Die Nationalbank will eine hohe Sicherheit ihrer Banknoten gewährleisten. Da die technologische Entwicklung rasch voranschreitet, muss sich die Nationalbank auf diesem Gebiet immer wieder einen Vorsprung erarbeiten, damit Fälschungen möglichst keine Chance haben. Zudem werden die bisher banknotentypischen Sicherheitsmerkmale heute auch für Sicherheitsdokumente, Medikamente und Markenartikel verwendet, weshalb neue Elemente für die Banknotensicherheit entwickelt werden müssen.

Wann kommen die nächsten Notenwerte der neuen Banknotenserie?

Nach der im April 2016 erfolgten Emission der neuen 50er-Note ist die Ausgabe der 20er-Note für das Frühjahr 2017 geplant. Die übrigen Stückelungen der neuen Serie werden im Anschluss daran mit einem Abstand von einem halben oder einem Jahr emittiert. Zuerst die 10er-, dann die 200er- und danach die 1000er-Note. Den Abschluss wird die 100-Franken-Note machen. Die Ausgabe der ganzen Serie soll im Jahr 2019 abgeschlossen sein.