Print

Questions and answers on coins

In Switzerland, who is allowed to mint and issue coins?

The coin-issuing privilege, i.e. the right to mint coins, is held by the Confederation (art. 99 Federal Constitution). Article 4 of the Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments (CPIA) stipulates that the Confederation shall mint regular issue coins. The SNB is then charged by the Confederation with the task of putting the coins into circulation. The SNB offsets seasonal fluctuations in the demand for coins and replaces coins that are unfit for circulation, e.g. damaged. The coins are minted at Swissmint, the Federal Mint (www.swissmint.ch).

Which coins can I use for payment in Switzerland?

The regular issue coins issued by the Confederation are considered as legal tender (art. 2 CPIA). There are 5, 2, and 1-franc coins as well as 50, 20, 10 and 5-centime coins in circulation. Pictures of the coins are available on the Coins webpage. For numismatic use and investment purposes, Swissmint may also mint commemorative coins and bullion coins, as well as special quality regular issue coins. Payments made with up to 100 regular issue coins must be accepted. The SNB and the public cash offices of the Confederation accept regular issue coins, commemorative and bullion coins at nominal value and without restriction (art. 3 CPIA).

How many coins are in circulation?

In 2015, the average number of coins in circulation was 5.4 billion, with a value of CHF 3 billion.

Who decides which coins should be regular issue?

According to art. 4 CPIA, the Federal Council decides which coins are to be minted, put into circulation or withdrawn from circulation. For example, based on the results of the consultation on the ordinance to withdraw 1 and 5-centime coins from circulation, the Federal Council decided in 2006 to withdraw the 1-centime coin, but to keep the 5-centime coin in circulation.

Can coins which are no longer in circulation be exchanged at the SNB?

Regular issue coins withdrawn from circulation can be exchanged at the SNB for their full nominal value for 20 years after the withdrawal date, e.g. 1-centime coins can be exchanged until 31 December 2026. There is no deadline for exchange for coins that have been withdrawn from circulation but which have the same size and face as the coins still in circulation, e.g. silver-coloured 5-centime coins as well as silver coins of 50-centime to 5-franc coins. Such silver coins are still often accepted as a means of payment as they are difficult to differentiate from the coins with a copper-nickel alloy. Other coins which have been withdrawn from circulation lose their value after the statutory period or, at most, may gain collector's value. Further information is available on the Coins webpage.

Does the SNB deal in coins?

Unlike numismaticians, the SNB does not deal in coins that have been withdrawn from circulation or declared worthless. It also refrains from making any estimates or evaluations for collectors. Commemorative coins and complete coin sets can be ordered from Swissmint or purchased in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website (www.swissmint.ch).

Which metals are used to make the coins?

The regular issue coins are made with a copper-nickel alloy. The 5-centime coin also contains some aluminium. The commemorative coins are made out of silver, gold or copper-nickel. The technical specifications of the coins are available on the Coins webpage.

Why are there 5-franc coins with and without sunk relief type around the edges?

From 1985 to 1993, 5-franc coins were minted with sunk relief type around the edges. As an increasing number of counterfeits with sunk relief type around the edges began to appear, a decision was made in 1994 to mint 5-franc pieces with a raised (slightly embossed) relief type around the edges. The 5-franc pieces with sunk relief type around the edges were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2004. The SNB continues to exchange them at full nominal value.

Why are the two sides of some coins minted facing in different directions?

Until 1981, the 50-centime to 5-franc coins were minted 'upside down', i.e. the reverse face of the coin was minted at 180 degrees to the front (obverse) face. Since 1982, all coins have been minted 'the right way up', i.e. obverse and reverse sides are both upright, thus improving the presentation of coins in coin sets.

Where can I obtain 1-centime coins?

The 1-centime coins were withdrawn from circulation on 1 January 2007. The SNB has not released any of these coins since. However, they can still be found in numismatic shops. A list of coin dealers can be found on the Swissmint website (www.swissmint.ch).

What is the oldest coin that I can use to make a payment today?

There are 10-centime coins minted in 1879 still in circulation and which are still legal tender.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zu den Münzen

Wer darf in der Schweiz Münzen prägen und ausgeben?

Das Münzmonopol, auch Münzregal genannt, liegt gemäss Art. 99 der Bundesverfassung beim Bund. Art. 4 des Bundesgesetzes über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG) legt fest, dass der Bund Umlaufmünzen prägt. Die Schweizerische Nationalbank nimmt im Auftrag des Bundes anschliessend die Verteilung der Münzen wahr. Die Nationalbank gleicht die saisonalen Schwankungen der Münznachfrage aus und ersetzt nicht mehr zirkulationsfähige, also z.B. beschädigte Münzen. Geprägt werden die Münzen bei der Swissmint, der Eidgenössischen Münzstätte (www.swissmint.ch).

Mit welchen Münzen kann ich in der Schweiz bezahlen?

Als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel gelten die vom Bund ausgegebenen Umlaufmünzen (Art. 2 WZG). Es sind 5-, 2- und 1-Frankenstücke sowie 50-, 20-, 10- und 5-Rappenstücke im Umlauf. Abbildungen der Münzen finden sich unter der Rubrik Die Münzen. Für den numismatischen Bedarf und für Anlagezwecke kann die Swissmint zusätzlich Gedenk- und Anlagemünzen sowie Umlaufmünzen in besonderen Qualitäten prägen. Umlaufmünzen müssen nur bis zu einer Zahl von 100 Stück an Zahlung genommen werden. Die Nationalbank und die öffentlichen Kassen des Bundes nehmen Umlauf-, Gedenk- und Anlagemünzen unbeschränkt zum Nennwert an (Art. 3 WZG).

Wie viele Münzen sind im Umlauf?

Im Jahr 2015 betrug der durchschnittliche Münzumlauf 5,4 Mrd. Stück im Wert von 3 Mrd. Franken.

Wer entscheidet, welche Umlaufmünzen es gibt?

Gemäss Art. 4 WZG entscheidet der Bundesrat, welche Umlaufmünzen zu prägen, in Umlauf zu bringen oder ausser Kurs zu setzen sind. Beispielsweise hat er 2006 aufgrund der Ergebnisse der Anhörung zur Verordnung über die Ausserkurssetzung der 1- und 5-Rappenstücke beschlossen, die 1-Rappenstücke ausser Kurs zu setzen, die 5-Rappenstücke aber als Umlaufmünzen beizubehalten.

Kann ich ausser Kurs gesetzte Münzen bei der Nationalbank umtauschen?

Die ausser Kurs gesetzten Umlaufmünzen können innerhalb von 20 Jahren bei der Nationalbank zum vollen Nennwert umgetauscht werden (z.B. können 1-Rappenstücke bis zum 31.12.2026 umgetauscht werden). Für die ausser Kurs gesetzten Münzen, die in Grösse und Münzbild den gültigen Münzen entsprechen, ist die Rücknahmefrist unbegrenzt, z.B. für silberfarbene 5-Rappenstücke sowie Silbermünzen vom 50-Rappen- bis 5-Frankenstück. Diese ausser Kurs gesetzten Silbermünzen werden häufig als Zahlungsmittel angenommen, da man sie von den Münzen mit Kupfernickel-Legierung schwer unterscheiden kann. Die anderen ausser Kurs gesetzten Münzen sind nach Ablauf der Umtauschfrist wertlos oder weisen allenfalls einen Sammlerwert auf. Weiterführende Informationen finden sich unter Die Münzen.

Handelt die Nationalbank mit Münzen?

Im Unterschied zu Numismatikern handelt die Nationalbank nicht mit ausser Kurs gesetzten oder für wertlos erklärten Münzen. Auch nimmt sie keine Schätzungen oder Bewertungen von Münzen für Sammler vor. Gedenkmünzen und komplette Münzsätze können bei der Swissmint bestellt oder in numismatischen Geschäften gekauft werden. Eine Händlerliste findet sich auf der Website der Swissmint (www.swissmint.ch).

Aus welchen Metallen sind die Münzen hergestellt?

Die Umlaufmünzen sind aus einer Kupfernickellegierung hergestellt. Dem 5-Rappenstück ist zusätzlich Aluminium beigemischt. Die Gedenkmünzen sind aus Silber, Gold oder Kupfernickel gefertigt. Die technischen Daten der Münzen finden sich unter Die Münzen.

Warum gibt es 5-Frankenstücke mit und ohne vertiefter Randschrift?

In den Jahren 1985 bis 1993 wurden 5-Frankenstücke mit vertiefter Randschrift geprägt. Da vermehrt Fälschungen mit vertiefter Randschrift auftraten, wurde 1994 beschlossen, Fünfliber wiederum mit erhabener (leicht erhöhter) Randschrift zu prägen. Die 5-Frankenstücke mit vertiefter Randschrift sind per 1. Januar 2004 ausser Kurs gesetzt worden. Sie werden von der Nationalbank weiterhin zum vollen Nennwert umgetauscht.

Weshalb sind die beiden Seiten einiger Münzen einander entgegengesetzt geprägt?

Bis 1981 wurden die 50-Rappen- bis 5-Frankenstücke "gegenständig" geprägt, d.h. mit aufrechter Vorderseite und umgekehrter Rückseite. Seit 1982 werden alle Münzen "gleichständig" geprägt, d.h. mit aufrechter Vorder- und Rückseite. So lassen sich die Münzen in den Münzsätzen besser präsentieren.

Wo kann ich 1-Rappenstücke beziehen?

Die 1-Rappenstücke wurden per 1. Januar 2007 ausser Kurs gesetzt. Seitdem werden sie von der Nationalbank nicht mehr ausgegeben. Bei Numismatikern findet man diese Münzen aber weiterhin. Eine Händlerliste findet sich auf der Website der Swissmint (www.swissmint.ch).

Welche ist die älteste Münze, mit der ich heute noch bezahlen kann?

Es sind immer noch 10-Rappenmünzen aus dem Prägejahr 1879 in Umlauf, die weiterhin als gesetzliches Zahlungsmittel gelten.