Print

Questions and answers on monetary policy implementation

How does the SNB implement its monetary policy?

The SNB implements its monetary policy by fixing a target range for the reference interest rate, the Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) for three-month interbank loans in Swiss francs. The target range is the third element of the SNB's monetary policy strategy besides the definition of price stability and the conditional inflation forecast (Questions and answers on monetary policy strategy). The SNB steers the Libor into the defined target range by means of its monetary policy operations. The target range normally has a bandwidth of 100 basis points (one percentage point) and, as a rule, the SNB holds the Libor in the middle of the defined range. An overview of the target range figures since the beginning of 2000 can be found at Monetary statistics. As interest rates increasingly approached zero in the wake of the financial crisis, the Libor target range was narrowed. From 6 September 2011 to 15 January 2015, the main focus of implementation was on the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro, which the SNB enforced during this period. On 18 December 2014, the SNB decided to impose an interest rate of -0.25% on sight deposit account balances. With the announcement of a negative interest rate, the target range for the Libor was taken into negative territory for the first time, and extended to its usual width of 1 percentage point. On 15 January 2015, the SNB lowered the interest rate on sight deposits to -0.75% and moved the target range downwards to between -1.25% and -0.25%. Negative interest has applied since 22 January 2015.

What is the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments?

The three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments, which is published daily in London, corresponds to the trimmed mean of the interest rates reported by leading banks for unsecured Swiss franc interbank loans with a three-month maturity. The three-month Libor is an important benchmark for credit relationships in Switzerland and abroad. Thus it plays a key role in the monetary policy transmission mechanism in Switzerland.

Why does the SNB use a target range instead of a target interest rate?

The SNB is unable to steer the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments directly, since it is ultimately determined by the conditions on the interbank market. By providing the Swiss franc money market with liquidity or withdrawing liquidity from it, the SNB can only approximately steer the level of the three-month Libor. This is why it fixes a target range marking the upper and lower bounds for the three-month Libor.

The interbank market for unsecured loans has become distinctly less relevant since 2008, and the Libor has lost a lot of its credibility due to instances of manipulation. Why does the SNB continue to use the Libor as a reference rate?

Although few unsecured credit transactions are currently being concluded on the interbank market and the credibility of the Libor has suffered as a result of instances of manipulation, the Libor remains an important reference rate for credit relationships in Switzerland and abroad. It therefore continues to play a key role in the monetary policy transmission mechanism. With its monetary policy operations, the SNB can only approximately steer the level of the Libor. It therefore fixes a target range, normally with a bandwidth of 100 basis points, for the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments. The reported distortions of the Libor did not go beyond a single-digit basis point figure. This does not, therefore, pose a threat to the SNB's monetary policy strategy.

What are monetary policy instruments?

Monetary policy instruments are transactions through which the SNB implements its monetary policy. Art. 9 of the National Bank Act (NBA) defines the transactions that the SNB may conduct in the financial market. The SNB distinguishes between open market operations and standing facilities. In the case of open market operations, the SNB takes the initiative in the transaction, while for the standing facilities it merely specifies the conditions at which counterparties can obtain liquidity. Regular open market operations include repo transactions and the issuance of SNB Bills. The interest rate (currently negative) on sight deposits, which was introduced on 18 December 2014, is a monetary policy instrument, too (Questions and answers on repo transactions and other monetary policy instruments). Further instruments, such as foreign exchange swaps (Questions and answers on foreign exchange swaps) and foreign exchange transactions, are available if necessary. Standing facilities include the liquidity-shortage financing facility and the intraday facility. Details can be found in the Guidelines of the Swiss National Bank on Monetary Policy Instruments.

How can the SNB implement its monetary policy by means of monetary policy instruments?

The SNB implements its monetary policy by managing liquidity on the Swiss franc money market and thereby influencing the interest rate level. The three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments serves as its reference interest rate. The SNB steers the three-month Libor indirectly through liquidity-providing and liquidity-absorbing money market transactions. It can influence the three-month Libor by means of the volume and conditions of these operations. The SNB also influences the level of interest rates on the money market by setting the interest rate on sight deposits.The choice of liquidity management regime depends on monetary policy requirements and the liquidity structure in the banking system. If the banking system shows signs of being undersupplied with liquidity, the SNB provides liquidity through short-term money market transactions and thereby increases the banks' sight deposits held at the SNB. Conversely, the SNB absorbs liquidity via short-term money market transactions and thereby reduces the banks' sight deposits at the SNB.

What roles do sight deposits and the money market play?

In order for a bank to maintain its solvency, it must have sufficient liquidity at all times. A bank's most liquid assets are sight deposits held at the SNB, since they can be used immediately to effect payments and are deemed to be legal tender. Domestic banks hold sight deposits to satisfy minimum reserve requirements. Banks also need them for payment transactions and as liquidity reserves. The SNB influences sight deposits through the use of its monetary policy instruments. Liquidity adjustments between the individual financial market participants are effected on the money market. Banks seeking to place funds on a short-term basis provide liquidity in the form of a loan to other banks that require short-term refinancing. These loans can be granted on a secured or unsecured basis. The level of sight deposits influences activity on the money market. A disruption in the money market impairs the liquidity adjustment process between the market participants and can threaten the solvency of the banks.

Why do banks have an interest in carrying out money market transactions with the SNB?

In the past, the banking system was faced by a liquidity deficit, in other words, it needed liquidity. The SNB implemented its monetary policy by providing the banking system with temporary liquidity, which meant that banks had to request further liquidity on an ongoing basis. This is how, through the amount of liquidity provided and the interest rate, the SNB steered the money market and the reference interest rate, the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments. Since 2010, however, the banking system has been characterised by excess liquidity. The exceptionally high level of liquidity is due to the SNB's foreign exchange transactions against Swiss francs.

There has been excess liquidity in the banking system since 2010. How can the SNB steer the three-month Libor in such an environment?

Following the discontinuation of the minimum exchange rate of CHF 1.20 per euro on 15 January 2015, the target range for the three-month Libor for Swiss franc investments is set at between -1.25% and -0.25%. Banks continue to hold high levels of surplus liquidity. The three-month Libor is within the range aimed at by the SNB. The SNB is able to react swiftly and effectively to monetary policy requirements. An example of this is the decision of 18 December 2014 to introduce a (negative) interest rate on sight deposits. Between mid-2010 and mid-2011, the market was also characterised by excess liquidity. In that environment too, the SNB was always in a position to steer interest rates by means of liquidity-absorbing open market operations, i.e. the issuance of SNB Bills (for large amounts and terms of up to one year) and repo transactions. From 6 September 2011 to 15 January 2015, the main focus of monetary policy implementation was on the minimum exchange rate. Since then, SNB monetary policy has been based on two key elements: the negative interest rate, and the willingness to intervene in the foreign exchange market.

Is the high level of sight deposits at the SNB a sign that banks are hoarding their money at the SNB instead of putting it into circulation?

The total level of sight deposits (sight deposit account balances of domestic banks and other sight deposits) at the SNB can only be changed through SNB monetary policy operations or through exchange against cash. If a bank reduces its sight deposits at the SNB, the amount is either transferred to another sight deposit account with the SNB or enters the banknote circulation. This is why the monetary base, which by definition is made up of the sight deposit account balances of domestic banks and banknotes in circulation, can only be changed by the SNB. The growth rates of loans and monetary aggregates reflect the extent to which the available liquidity has entered into the economy cycle.

What counterparties are admitted to the SNB's monetary policy operations?

In principle, all banks domiciled in Switzerland and the Principality of Liechtenstein with sight deposits at the SNB are admitted as counterparties for SNB monetary policy operations. Other domestic financial market participants such as insurance companies and banks domiciled abroad may be admitted as counterparties in monetary policy operations provided this is in the SNB's monetary policy interest and the said institutions contribute to liquidity on the secured Swiss franc money market.

Why does the SNB also provide liquidity for banks abroad - does it not conduct its monetary policy on behalf of Switzerland?

The Swiss franc money market is not limited by any geographical boundaries. The Swiss franc is one of the most important currencies on the international financial market and is therefore also actively traded abroad. It is thus also in the interests of Switzerland if banks domiciled abroad can participate in the SNB's liquidity-absorbing and liquidity-providing money market operations, too.

How does the SNB conduct its open market operations?

The SNB may conduct its open market operations in the form of auctions or bilateral transactions. Transactions on the money market are usually concluded via an electronic trading platform. Auctions are conducted either by volume tender or by variable rate tender. In the case of volume tenders, the interest rate is fixed and amounts are allocated in relation to demand. If, for example, demand is twice as high as supply, each bank receives 50% of the amount it bid for. In the case of variable rate tenders, banks bid for variable amounts at given interest rates. The most favourable bids are considered until the desired overall amount has been reached. Variable rate tenders are conducted to provide or withdraw liquidity either according to the American method (bids considered are satisfied at the interest rate offered) or the Dutch method (participants making the bids considered pay or receive the interest rate called by the last bidder considered).

What procedures does the SNB apply for its open market operations?

Repo auctions (including US dollar auctions under the liquidity swap agreements) are, as a rule, conducted by volume tender, whereas SNB Bills are auctioned in the form of a variable rate tender with allocation according to the American system. The SNB does not use variable rate tenders according to the Dutch allotment system for its monetary policy related open market operations. It does, however, auction Swiss Confederation bonds and money market debt register claims in this manner on behalf of the Confederation. Further information can be found at Primary market for Swiss Confederation bonds.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik

Wie setzt die Nationalbank ihre Geldpolitik um?

Zur Umsetzung ihrer Geldpolitik legt die Schweizerische Nationalbank ein Zielband für den Referenzzinssatz Libor (London Interbank Offered Rate) für dreimonatige Ausleihungen zwischen Banken (Dreimonats-Libor) in Schweizer Franken fest. Das Zielband bildet neben der Definition der Preisstabilität und der bedingten Inflationsprognose das dritte Element im geldpolitischen Konzept (Fragen und Antworten zur geldpolitischen Strategie). Mit ihren geldpolitischen Operationen steuert die Nationalbank den Libor in dieses Zielband. Die Breite des Zielbands beträgt normalerweise hundert Basispunkte (ein Prozentpunkt), und die Nationalbank hält den Libor in der Regel in der Mitte des Zielbandes. Eine Übersicht über die Höhe des Zielbands seit Anfang 2000 findet sich unter der Monetären Statistik. Mit der sukzessiven Annäherung der Zinsen an null im Zuge der Finanzkrise wurde auch das Zielband für den Libor verengt. Vom 6. September 2011 bis 15. Januar 2015 war die Umsetzung auf den in dieser Periode von der SNB sichergestellten Mindestkurs von 1.20 Franken pro Euro ausgerichtet. Am 18. Dezember 2014 beschloss die Nationalbank, die Guthaben auf den Girokonten mit einem Zins von -0,25% zu belasten. Mit der Ankündigung des Negativzinses wurde auch das Zielband für den Libor erstmals in den negativen Bereich gesenkt und wieder auf seine übliche Breite von einem Prozentpunkt ausgedehnt. Am 15. Januar 2015 senkte die Nationalbank die Verzinsung auf ihren Girokonten auf -0,75% und verschob das Zielband nach unten auf -1,25% bis -0,25%. Der Negativzins wird seit dem 22. Januar 2015 erhoben.

Was ist der Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen?

Der Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen, der täglich in London veröffentlicht wird, entspricht dem getrimmten Mittelwert der von führenden Banken gemeldeten Zinskonditionen für unbesicherte Frankenkredite mit dreimonatiger Laufzeit zwischen Banken. Der Dreimonats-Libor ist eine wichtige Referenzgrösse für Kreditbeziehungen in der Schweiz und im Ausland. Er spielt damit für den geldpolitischen Übertragungsmechanismus in der Schweiz eine zentrale Rolle.

Warum verwendet die Nationalbank ein Zielband anstelle eines Zielzinssatzes?

Die Nationalbank kann den Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen nicht direkt steuern, dieser wird vielmehr durch die Verhältnisse am Interbankenmarkt bestimmt. Die Nationalbank kann nur das ungefähre Niveau des Dreimonats-Libors steuern, indem dem Frankengeldmarkt Liquidität entzogen oder zugeführt wird. Deshalb legt die Nationalbank ein Zielband fest, innerhalb dessen sich der Dreimonats-Libor bewegen soll.

Der Interbankenmarkt für unbesicherte Kredite hat seit 2008 deutlich an Relevanz verloren, der Libor aufgrund der Manipulationen an Glaubwürdigkeit. Warum benutzt die Nationalbank weiterhin den Libor als Referenzgrösse?

Obschon derzeit wenig unbesicherte Kreditgeschäfte am Interbankenmarkt abgeschlossen werden und die Manipulationen die Glaubwürdigkeit des Libors untergraben haben, bleibt der Libor eine wichtige Referenzgrösse für Kreditbeziehungen in der Schweiz und im Ausland. Er spielt damit für den geldpolitischen Übertragungsmechanismus weiterhin eine zentrale Rolle. Mit ihren geldpolitischen Operationen kann die Nationalbank nur das ungefähre Niveau des Libors steuern. Sie legt deshalb ein Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen fest, das normalerweise hundert Basispunkte beträgt. Die bekanntgewordenen Verzerrungen des Libors liegen hingegen im einstelligen Basispunktebereich. Daher ist das geldpolitische Konzept der Nationalbank nicht gefährdet.

Was sind geldpolitische Instrumente?

Geldpolitische Instrumente sind Geschäfte, mit denen die Nationalbank ihre Geldpolitik umsetzt. Art. 9 des Bundesgesetzes über die Schweizerische Nationalbank (NBG) legt die Geschäfte fest, welche die Nationalbank am Finanzmarkt tätigen darf. Die Nationalbank unterscheidet zwischen Offenmarktoperationen und stehenden Fazilitäten. Bei den Offenmarktoperationen geht die Initiative zum Geschäftsabschluss von der Nationalbank aus, bei den stehenden Fazilitäten setzt die Nationalbank lediglich die Konditionen fest, zu denen die Geschäftspartner Liquidität beziehen können. Zu den regulären Offenmarktoperationen gehören Repogeschäfte und Emissionen von SNB Bills. Auch die am 18. Dezember 2014 beschlossene Verzinsung der Girokonten (gegenwärtig zu einem Negativzins) zählt zu den geldpolitischen Instrumenten (Fragen und Antworten zum Repogeschäft und zu den anderen geldpolitischen Instrumenten). Weitere Instrumente wie zum Beispiel Devisenswaps (Fragen und Antworten zu den Devisenswaps) und Devisengeschäfte stehen bei Bedarf zur Verfügung. Zu den stehenden Fazilitäten gehören die Engpassfinanzierungs- und die Innertagsfazilität. Die Einzelheiten dazu sind in den Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Nationalbank über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium festgehalten.

Wie kann die Nationalbank mittels geldpolitischer Instrumente ihre Geldpolitik umsetzen?

Die Nationalbank setzt ihre Geldpolitik um, indem sie die Liquidität am Geldmarkt in Franken steuert und so das Zinsniveau beeinflusst. Als Referenzzinssatz dient ihr dabei der Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen. Die Nationalbank steuert den Dreimonats-Libor indirekt über liquiditätszuführende oder liquiditätsabschöpfende Geldmarktgeschäfte. Durch die Volumen und die Konditionen dieser Geldmarktgeschäfte kann sie auf den Dreimonats-Libor Einfluss nehmen. Auch mit der Festlegung des Zinssatzes für ihre Girokonten beeinflusst die Nationalbank das Zinsniveau am Geldmarkt. Die Wahl des Steuerungsregimes hängt von den geldpolitischen Erfordernissen und der Liquiditätsstruktur des Bankensystems ab. Ist das Bankensystem mit Liquidität tendenziell unterversorgt, führt die Nationalbank über kurzfristige Geldmarktgeschäfte Liquidität zu und erhöht damit die Giroguthaben (Sichtguthaben) der Banken bei der Nationalbank. Im umgekehrten Fall schöpft sie Liquidität über kurzfristige Geldmarktgeschäfte ab und reduziert damit die Giroguthaben der Banken bei der Nationalbank.

Welche Bedeutung haben Giroguthaben und der Geldmarkt?

Damit eine Bank ihre Zahlungsfähigkeit wahren kann, muss sie jederzeit über genügend Liquidität verfügen. Die liquidesten Aktiven einer Bank sind die Giroguthaben bei der Nationalbank, da diese unmittelbar für Zahlungen zur Verfügung stehen und gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel darstellen. Inländische Banken halten Giroguthaben zur Erfüllung des Mindestreserveerfordernisses. Zudem benötigen Banken Giroguthaben für den Zahlungsverkehr und als Liquiditätsreserve. Die Nationalbank beeinflusst die Giroguthaben, indem sie ihre geldpolitischen Instrumente einsetzt. Zwischen den einzelnen Finanzmarktteilnehmern erfolgt der Liquiditätsausgleich über den Geldmarkt. Dabei stellen Banken mit einem kurzfristigen Anlagebedarf anderen Banken mit einem kurzfristigen Refinanzierungsbedarf die Liquidität mittels Krediten zur Verfügung. Die Kreditgewährung kann dabei auf besicherter oder unbesicherter Basis erfolgen. Die Höhe der Giroguthaben beeinflusst die Aktivität am Geldmarkt. Eine Störung des Geldmarkts beeinträchtigt den Liquiditätsausgleich zwischen den Finanzmarktteilnehmern und kann die Zahlungsfähigkeit der Banken gefährden.

Warum sind die Banken daran interessiert, mit der Nationalbank Geldmarktgeschäfte abzuschliessen?

In der Vergangenheit befand sich das Bankensystem in einem Liquiditätsdefizit, d.h., es benötigte Liquidität. Die Nationalbank setzte ihre Geldpolitik um, indem sie dem Bankensystem jeweils befristete Liquidität zuführte, weswegen die Banken laufend neue Liquidität nachfragen mussten. Über die zugeführte Liquiditätsmenge und den Zinssatz steuerte die Nationalbank so den Geldmarkt und den Referenzzinssatz Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen. Seit 2010 befindet sich das Bankensystem allerdings in einem Liquiditätsüberschuss. Das ausserordentlich hohe Liquiditätsniveau ist auf von der Nationalbank getätigte Devisengeschäfte gegen Franken zurückzuführen.

Seit 2010 herrscht im Bankensystem ein Liquiditätsüberschuss. Wie kann die Nationalbank in einem solchen Umfeld den Dreimonats-Libor steuern?

Nach der Aufhebung des Mindestkurses von 1.20 Franken pro Euro am 15. Januar 2015 liegt das Zielband für den Dreimonats-Libor für Frankenanlagen auf -1,25% bis -0.25%. Die Banken halten nach wie vor eine hohe Überschussliquidität. Der Dreimonats-Libor befindet sich in dem von der Nationalbank angestrebten Bereich. Die Nationalbank kann auf der operativen Ebene rasch und effektiv auf die geldpolitischen Erfordernisse reagieren. Ein Beispiel dafür ist die am 18. Dezember 2014 beschlossene Verzinsung der Girokonten (Negativzins). Bereits zwischen Mitte 2010 und Mitte 2011 war der Markt von Überschussliquidität geprägt. Die Nationalbank war auch in einem solchen Umfeld jederzeit in der Lage, mit liquiditätsabschöpfenden Offenmarktoperationen - der Ausgabe von SNB Bills (für grössere Beträge und Laufzeiten bis zu einem Jahr) und Repogeschäften - die Zinsen zu steuern. Vom 6. September 2011 bis am 15. Januar 2015 stand die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik im Zeichen des Mindestkurses. Seither basiert die Geldpolitik auf zwei Elementen: dem Negativzins und der Bereitschaft der SNB, wenn nötig am Devisenmarkt aktiv zu sein.

Sind die hohen Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank ein Zeichen dafür, dass die Banken das Geld bei der Nationalbank horten, anstatt es in Umlauf zu bringen?

Die Höhe der totalen Sichtguthaben (Girokonten inländische Banken und übrige Sichtguthaben) bei der Nationalbank kann nur durch die geldpolitischen Operationen der Nationalbank sowie durch den Tausch mit Bargeld verändert werden. Reduziert eine Bank ihr Giroguthaben bei der Nationalbank, fliesst dieser Betrag entweder auf ein anderes Sichtkonto bei der Nationalbank oder in den Notenumlauf. Darum kann auch die Notenbankgeldmenge, die gemäss Definition aus den Girokonten inländischer Banken und dem Notenumlauf besteht, nur von der Nationalbank verändert werden. Inwieweit die vorhandene Liquidität in den Wirtschaftskreislauf kommt, ist aus dem Wachstum der Kredite und Geldmengen zu ersehen.

Wer ist bei den geldpolitischen Operationen der Nationalbank zugelassen?

Bei geldpolitischen Operationen der Nationalbank sind grundsätzlich alle Banken in der Schweiz und im Fürstentum Liechtenstein mit Girokonto bei der Nationalbank als Geschäftspartner zugelassen. Andere inländische Finanzmarktteilnehmer wie Versicherungen sowie Banken mit Sitz im Ausland können als Geschäftspartner bei geldpolitischen Operationen zugelassen werden, sofern dafür ein geldpolitisches Interesse besteht und sie zur Liquidität am besicherten Frankengeldmarkt beitragen.

Warum stellt die Nationalbank auch Banken im Ausland Liquidität zur Verfügung - betreibt sie ihre Geldpolitik nicht für die Schweiz?

Der Frankengeldmarkt kennt keine geografischen Grenzen. Der Franken ist eine der wichtigsten Währungen im internationalen Finanzverkehr und wird deshalb auch im Ausland aktiv gehandelt. Es ist folglich auch im Interesse der Schweiz, wenn Banken mit einem Domizil im Ausland ebenfalls an den liquiditätszuführenden bzw. liquiditätsabschöpfenden Geldmarktgeschäften der Nationalbank teilnehmen können.

Wie führt die Nationalbank ihre Offenmarktoperationen durch?

Die Nationalbank kann ihre Offenmarktoperationen im Rahmen von Auktionen oder bilateralen Geschäften durchführen. Die Transaktionen am Geldmarkt werden in der Regel über eine elektronische Handelsplattform abgeschlossen. Auktionen erfolgen entweder in der Form eines Mengentenders oder eines Zinstenders. Beim Mengentender ist der Zinssatz fix, und die Zuteilung erfolgt im Verhältnis der Nachfrage. Erreicht z.B. die Nachfrage das Doppelte des Angebots, erhält jede Bank 50% der von ihr nachgefragten Menge. Beim Zinstender melden die Banken, zu welchem Zinssatz sie welche Menge nachfragen. Die günstigsten Gebote werden berücksichtigt, bis die gewünschte Gesamtmenge erreicht ist. Bei einem Zinstender wird entweder nach dem amerikanischen Verfahren (die berücksichtigten Gebote werden zu dem jeweils offerierten Zins befriedigt) oder nach dem holländischen Verfahren (alle berücksichtigten Gebote zahlen oder erhalten jenen Zins, den der letzte noch berücksichtigte Anbieter genannt hat) zugeteilt bzw. abgeschöpft.

Welche Verfahren wendet die Nationalbank für ihre Offenmarktoperationen jeweils an?

Repoauktionen (inklusive US-Dollar-Auktionen im Rahmen der Liquiditäts-Swapabkommen) werden in der Regel in Form des Mengentenders durchgeführt, SNB Bills in Form des Zinstenders mit amerikanischem Zuteilungsverfahren auktioniert. Den Zinstender nach holländischem Zuteilungsverfahren benutzt die Nationalbank nicht für ihre geldpolitischen Offenmarktoperationen. Allerdings auktioniert sie in dieser Form im Auftrag des Bundes die Anleihen der Eidgenossenschaft und die Geldmarktbuchforderungen. Weitere Informationen dazu finden sich unter Primärmarkt Schweizerische Eidgenossenschaft.