Print

Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation

What is the SNB's equity capital made up of?

As with any other corporation, the SNB's equity capital consists of share capital and retained earnings. The share capital, which has been fixed at CHF 25 million by the National Bank Act (NBA), makes up only a small part of the equity capital. The most important component is the provisions for currency reserves, to which a certain amount from the annual result is allocated each year. These provisions function as a general reserve and a buffer against all forms of risk of loss, in particular the risk of valuation losses on currency reserves. They basically serve to maintain the currency reserves at the level required by monetary policy considerations (Questions and answers on the SNB's balance sheet). The third component of the SNB's equity capital is the distribution reserve, in other words the retained earnings. It may, at certain times, be negative.

How does the SNB determine the allocation to provisions for currency reserves?

As required by the NBA, the SNB takes into account economic developments in Switzerland when determining the amount to be allocated. The associated calculation is based on the average growth of nominal GDP over the previous five years. The Bank Council is responsible for approving the level of provisions. It may, out of risk considerations, at times decide on allocations at variance with the determined level.

How have the provisions for currency reserves developed recently?

The increase in currency reserves for monetary policy reasons has led to a corresponding growth of the SNB's balance sheet and to changes in its composition. A few years ago, in order to take account of the consequent rise in the risk of loss and to gradually strengthen the SNB's equity capital, the SNB adjusted the rule on allocations to the provisions for currency reserves. Thus where previously the calculation of the provisions was based on the average growth of nominal GDP over the preceding five years, the calculation is now twice that.

What happens with the part of the annual result that is not allocated to the provisions for currency reserves?

The portion of the annual result remaining after the allocation to the provisions for currency reserves is the distributable profit (art. 30 para. 2 NBA). Together with the distribution reserve, this makes up the net profit/net loss (art. 31 NBA). If a net profit is achieved, it is used for distributions. The NBA specifies that a dividend not exceeding 6% of the share capital is to be paid from the net profit. The decision on this matter is taken by the General Meeting of Shareholders on the basis of a Bank Council proposal (Questions and answers on the SNB as a company). Insofar as the net profit exceeds the dividend total, it is basically available for distribution to the Confederation and the cantons. One-third of any such distribution goes to the Confederation and two-thirds to the cantons. The amount of the annual profit distribution to the Confederation and the cantons is laid down in an agreement between the Federal Department of Finance (FDF) and the SNB. Given the considerable fluctuations in the SNB's earnings, the NBA stipulates that profit distribution be maintained at a steady level. Consequently, a constant flow of payments over several years is provided for in the agreement and a distribution reserve carried on the balance sheet.

Is it possible that no dividend is paid?

Dividends are paid on condition that a distributable profit is available. In the 2013 financial year, this was not the case. Therefore, for the first time in its history, the SNB did not pay a dividend.

Why are the Confederation and cantons entitled to the SNB's net profit?

The SNB has a public mandate. This mandate includes the note-issuing privilege, due to which the SNB earns profits on average in the long run. Insofar as the profits are not needed for provisions for currency reserves, it is the public sector that is entitled to the amount remaining after dividend payment. Article 99 of the Federal Constitution specifies that at least two-thirds of this net profit is to go to the cantons.

How is distribution to the Confederation and the cantons regulated in detail?

The NBA specifies that the FDF and the SNB are to agree on the annual amount of profit distribution to the Confederation and cantons over a certain period of time. The cantons are to be informed in advance. The profit distribution agreement for the financial years 2016 to 2020 provides for an annual distribution of CHF 1 billion. The rest of the distributable annual profit is allocated to the distribution reserve and remains available for distributions at a later date.

Is it possible that the amount distributed to the Confederation and the cantons is raised?

Yes, it is. The profit distribution agreement 2016 to 2020 specifies that the distribution for the financial year in question is raised to a maximum of CHF 2 billion if the distribution reserve exceeds CHF 20 billion after the appropriation of profit, i.e. after the arranged CHF 1 billion has been distributed to the Confederation and the cantons.

Is it possible that the distribution to the Confederation and the cantons is reduced?

Yes, it is. The profit distribution agreement 2016 to 2020 stipulates that a distribution to the Confederation and the cantons is made only if the distribution reserve does not become negative as a result. If the distribution reserve is not positive after allocation to the provisions for currency reserves, no distribution to the Confederation and the cantons can be made. Should the distribution reserve become negative as a result of a distribution, the distribution is reduced to such an extent that the distribution reserve subsequently amounts precisely to zero. Omitted or reduced profit distribtions will be made up in subsequent years, if the distribution reserve allows it.

How is a distribution divided among the cantons and what is the money used for?

The cantons' resident population is taken into account for the division of the funds to be distributed, with the details specified in a Federal Council ordinance. The SNB has no influence on how the distributed profits are used by the Confederation and the cantons.

If the SNB ends a financial year with a loss, how does this affect allocations to the provisions for currency reserves and to the distribution reserve?

Allocations to the provisions for currency reserves are made irrespective of the annual result. In the event of a loss - or an insufficiently high profit - this allocation would have a corresponding impact on the distribution reserve. This can lead to the distribution reserve becoming negative, as was the case after the 2013 financial year.

Why are there such large fluctuations in the SNB's annual results?

The SNB is obliged by the Constitution to pursue a monetary policy that serves the overall interests of the country. It is not the purpose of the SNB to achieve and distribute profits. Monetary policy operations have a direct impact on the SNB's balance sheet. The primacy of monetary policy means that the length and structure of the balance sheet are subordinate to monetary policy goals (Questions and answers on asset management). The major part of the SNB's assets consists of investments in gold and foreign currencies, which are stated at market value. This is why the SNB's results are largely dependent on developments in the gold, foreign exchange and capital markets, and are subject to strong fluctuations. With a longer balance sheet, the fluctuations stated in absolute terms naturally become larger.

Can the SNB's equity capital become negative?

Consistent fulfilment of the monetary policy mandate may, under certain circumstances, lead to massive losses at the SNB, through which its equity capital could temporarily become negative. In the balance sheet, this would be reflected by a negative distribution reserve that, in absolute figures, would exceed the provisions for currency reserves and the share capital. However, such a state of affairs would, in all likelihood, last only for a certain period, since a central bank's structural profit potential usually ensures that, sooner or later, surpluses are again achieved.

What does 'structural profit potential' mean?

As with other companies, the SNB's assets generate income. Thanks to the SNB's banknote monopoly, however, financing its assets incurs only very low costs. In this way, it differs fundamentally from other companies. Issuing banknotes costs only a fraction of their nominal value, and sight deposit accounts at the SNB are as a rule also a very cheap form of financing. This is why the SNB achieves profits from money creation - known as seigniorage - in the long run.

A company or commercial bank with negative equity capital would have to be restructured or liquidated. Wouldn't the SNB, too, have to be wound up in such a case?

No. Thanks to its ability to create money, the SNB remains solvent in domestic currency at all times. Theoretically, it has unlimited amounts of legal tender at its disposal. Therefore the SNB fully retains its freedom to act even if its equity capital temporarily becomes negative. This means it can fulfil its legal mandate at all times. Moreover, there are no legal requirements that would trigger a restructuring or even liquidation of the SNB in the case of negative equity capital. Nor would the SNB's shareholders be under any obligation to provide additional funding.

What then does the SNB need equity capital for?

If a central bank's equity capital were negative over a long period of time, it could lose credibility in the markets, and, in extremis, no longer be in a position to fulfil its monetary policy mandate without restriction. Building up equity capital again after suffering losses would therefore be a prime concern of the SNB. The National Bank generally strives to maintain a strong equity capital base in order to be able to fulfil its mandate in the long term.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zu Eigenkapital und Gewinnverwendung

Woraus besteht das Eigenkapital der Nationalbank?

Das Eigenkapital der Nationalbank besteht - wie bei jedem Unternehmen - aus dem Aktienkapital und den einbehaltenen Gewinnen. Das Aktienkapital, das vom Nationalbankgesetz (NBG) auf 25 Mio. Franken festgelegt ist, macht nur einen geringen Teil des Eigenkapitals aus. Die wichtigste Komponente sind die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven, die gemäss NBG jährlich aus dem Jahresergebnis alimentiert werden. Diese haben eine allgemeine Reservefunktion und wirken als Puffer gegen alle Arten von Verlustrisiken, insbesondere von Bewertungsverlusten auf den Währungsreserven. Sie dienen grundsätzlich dazu, die Währungsreserven auf der geld- und währungspolitisch erforderlichen Höhe zu halten (Fragen und Antworten zur Bilanz der Nationalbank). Die dritte Komponente des Eigenkapitals ist die Ausschüttungsreserve. Sie ist sozusagen der Gewinnvortrag und kann auch negativ werden.

Wie legt die Nationalbank die Zuweisung an die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven fest?

Wie vom NBG vorgegeben, orientiert sich die Nationalbank bei der Festlegung der Zuweisung an der Entwicklung der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft. Dabei wird das durchschnittliche Wachstum des nominalen Bruttoinlandprodukts (BIP) der vorangegangenen fünf Jahre als Grundlage für die Berechnung herangezogen. Der Bankrat der Nationalbank ist für die Genehmigung der Höhe der Rückstellungen zuständig. Er kann aus Risikoüberlegungen auch davon abweichende Zuweisungen an die Rückstellungen beschliessen.

Wie haben sich die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven in letzter Zeit entwickelt?

Der geldpolitisch bedingte Anstieg der Währungsreserven hat sich in einem entsprechenden Wachstum der Bilanz niedergeschlagen und deren Zusammensetzung verändert. Um den dadurch gestiegenen Verlustrisiken Rechnung zu tragen und das Eigenkapital über die Zeit stärker aufzubauen, hat die Nationalbank die Zuweisungsregel für die Bildung der Rückstellungen vor einigen Jahren angepasst: Die Rückstellungen werden nun jeweils um die doppelte und nicht mehr um die einfache durchschnittliche Wachstumsrate des nominalen BIP der vorangegangenen fünf Jahre erhöht.

Was geschieht mit dem Teil des Jahresergebnisses, der nicht den Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven zugewiesen wird?

Der nach der Zuweisung an die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven verbleibende Teil des Jahresergebnisses ist der ausschüttbare Gewinn (Art. 30 Abs. 2 NBG). Er bildet zusammen mit der Ausschüttungsreserve den Bilanzgewinn bzw. den Bilanzverlust (Art. 31 NBG). Liegt ein Bilanzgewinn vor, wird dieser für die Ausschüttungen herangezogen. Das NBG sieht vor, vom Bilanzgewinn eine Dividende von höchstens 6% des Aktienkapitals auszurichten, worüber die Generalversammlung auf Antrag des Bankrats entscheidet (Fragen und Antworten zum Unternehmen Nationalbank). Soweit der Bilanzgewinn die Dividende übersteigt, steht er grundsätzlich für die Ausschüttung an die öffentliche Hand zur Verfügung. Die Ausschüttung geht zu einem Drittel an den Bund und zu zwei Dritteln an die Kantone. Die Höhe der jährlichen Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone wird in einer Vereinbarung zwischen dem Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartement (EFD) und der Nationalbank festgehalten. Angesichts der stark schwankenden Erträge der Nationalbank sieht das NBG eine Verstetigung der Ausschüttungen vor. Deshalb wird in der Vereinbarung eine Glättung der Ausschüttung über mehrere Jahre festgelegt und in der Bilanz der Nationalbank eine Ausschüttungsreserve geführt.

Kann es zu einem Ausfall der Dividendenzahlung kommen?

Voraussetzung für eine Dividendenzahlung ist, dass ein ausschüttbarer Gewinn vorliegt. Im Geschäftsjahr 2013 war dies nicht der Fall. Deshalb musste die Nationalbank erstmals seit ihrem Bestehen auf die Zahlung einer Dividende verzichten.

Warum steht der Bilanzgewinn der Nationalbank Bund und Kantonen zu?

Die Nationalbank hat einen öffentlich-rechtlichen Auftrag. Aufgrund dieses Auftrags hat sie das Notenmonopol inne, dank dem sie im langfristigen Durchschnitt Gewinne erwirtschaftet. Diese Gewinne stehen - soweit sie nicht für die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven benötigt werden - nach Ausrichtung der Dividende der öffentlichen Hand zu. Artikel 99 der Bundesverfassung legt fest, dass mindestens zwei Drittel dieses Reingewinns an die Kantone gehen.

Wie ist die Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone im Einzelnen geregelt?

Das NBG sieht vor, dass das EFD und die Nationalbank für einen bestimmten Zeitraum die Höhe der jährlichen Gewinnausschüttung an Bund und Kantone vereinbaren, wobei die Kantone vorgängig informiert werden. Die Gewinnausschüttungsvereinbarung für die Geschäftsjahre 2016 bis 2020 legt eine jährliche Ausschüttung von 1 Mrd. Franken fest. Der Rest des ausschüttbaren Jahresgewinns wird der Ausschüttungsreserve zugewiesen und steht für allfällige künftige Ausschüttungen zur Verfügung.

Kann es zu einer Erhöhung der Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone kommen?

Ja. Die Gewinnausschüttungsvereinbarung 2016 bis 2020 hält fest, dass die Ausschüttung für das betreffende Geschäftsjahr auf bis zu 2 Mrd. Franken erhöht wird, wenn die Ausschüttungsreserve nach Gewinnverwendung - also nach Ausschüttung der vereinbarten 1 Mrd. Franken an Bund und Kantone - 20 Mrd. Franken übersteigt.

Kann es zu einer Kürzung der Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone kommen?

Ja. Die Gewinnausschüttungsvereinbarung 2016 bis 2020 sieht vor, dass an Bund und Kantone nur dann eine Ausschüttung geleistet wird, wenn die Ausschüttungsreserve dadurch nicht negativ wird. Wenn die Ausschüttungsreserve nach Äufnung der Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven nicht positiv ist, kann keine Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone vorgenommen werden. Wenn sie durch die Ausschüttung negativ würde, wird diese so gekürzt, dass die Ausschüttungsreserve nach Ausschüttung genau null beträgt. Ausgefallene oder reduzierte Gewinnausschüttungen werden in den Folgejahren nachgeholt, wenn es die Ausschüttungsreserve zulässt.

Wie teilen sich die Kantone die Ausschüttung auf, und wofür wird das Geld verwendet?

Bei der Verteilung an die Kantone wird die Wohnbevölkerung der Kantone berücksichtigt, die Einzelheiten werden in einer bundesrätlichen Verordnung geregelt. Auf die Verwendung ausgeschütteter Gewinne durch die Kantone und den Bund hat die Nationalbank keinen Einfluss.

Was passiert mit der Zuweisung an die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven und an die Ausschüttungsreserve, wenn die Nationalbank einen Jahresverlust erleidet?

Die Zuweisung an die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven erfolgt unabhängig vom Jahresergebnis. Im Falle eines Verlustes - oder eines nicht genügend hohen Gewinns - wird durch die Zuweisung die Ausschüttungsreserve entsprechend belastet. Die Ausschüttungsreserve kann auch negativ werden, wie dies nach dem Geschäftsjahr 2013 geschehen ist.

Warum weist das Jahresergebnis der Nationalbank solch starke Schwankungen aus?

Die Nationalbank hat gemäss Bundesverfassung eine Geld- und Währungspolitik im Gesamtinteresse des Landes zu führen. Das Erzielen und Ausschütten von Gewinnen ist hingegen nicht Zweck der Nationalbank. Geldpolitische Operationen wirken sich direkt auf die Bilanz der Nationalbank aus. Der Vorrang der Geldpolitik bedeutet, dass die Länge und die Struktur der Bilanz im Dienste der Geldpolitik stehen (Fragen und Antworten zur Verwaltung der Anlagen). Die Aktiven der Nationalbank bestehen zum grössten Teil aus Gold und Devisenanlagen. Sie werden zum Marktpreis bewertet. Daher hängt das Ergebnis der Nationalbank überwiegend von der Entwicklung der Gold-, Devisen- und Kapitalmärkte ab und unterliegt grossen Schwankungen. Mit einer längeren Bilanz werden diese Schwankungen in absoluten Beträgen naturgemäss grösser.

Kann das Eigenkapital der Nationalbank negativ werden?

Die konsequente Erfüllung des geldpolitischen Auftrags kann in bestimmten Situationen dazu führen, dass die Nationalbank massive Verluste in Kauf nehmen muss, die ihr Eigenkapital vorübergehend negativ werden lassen. In der Bilanz würde sich dies in einer negativen Ausschüttungsreserve spiegeln, deren Wert die Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven und das Aktienkapital in absoluten Zahlen übersteigen würde. Ein solcher Zustand wäre allerdings mit hoher Wahrscheinlichkeit nur vorübergehend, da bei einer Notenbank aufgrund ihres strukturellen Gewinnpotenzials in der Regel über die Zeit wieder Überschüsse anfallen.

Was bedeutet "strukturelles Gewinnpotenzial"?

Die Aktiven der Nationalbank werfen - wie bei einem anderen Unternehmen auch - Erträge ab. Die Finanzierung der Aktiven ist für eine Zentralbank dank dem Notenmonopol jedoch mit einem sehr bescheidenen Aufwand verbunden. Damit unterscheidet sie sich grundsätzlich von anderen Unternehmen. Die Emission der Banknoten kostet einen vernachlässigbaren Bruchteil von deren Nennwert, und die Girokonten bei der Nationalbank stellen in der Regel ebenfalls eine sehr günstige Finanzierungsform dar. Aus diesem Grund fallen für die Nationalbank in der langen Frist Gewinne aus der Geldschöpfung an, die als Seigniorage bezeichnet werden.

Ein Unternehmen oder eine Geschäftsbank mit negativem Eigenkapital muss saniert oder liquidiert werden. Müsste die Nationalbank in einem solchen Fall nicht auch geschlossen werden?

Nein. Die Nationalbank ist aufgrund ihrer Kapazität zur Geldschöpfung in eigener Währung stets zahlungsfähig, weil sie theoretisch unlimitiert über offizielle Zahlungsmittel verfügt. Daher ist die Nationalbank auch bei vorübergehend negativem Eigenkapital vollumfänglich handlungsfähig, d.h., sie kann ihren geldpolitischen Auftrag jederzeit erfüllen. Zudem besteht bei negativem Eigenkapital für die Nationalbank kein rechtlicher Zwang zur Sanierung, geschweige denn zur Liquidation. Es gibt auch keine Nachschusspflicht für die Aktionäre der Nationalbank.

Wofür braucht die Nationalbank denn überhaupt Eigenkapital?

Falls eine Notenbank während langer Zeit über ein negatives Eigenkapital verfügt, kann sie ihre Glaubwürdigkeit an den Märkten verlieren. Damit wäre sie im Extremfall nicht mehr in der Lage, ihren geldpolitischen Auftrag uneingeschränkt wahrzunehmen. Es wäre daher ein zentrales Anliegen der Nationalbank, nach Verlusten als erstes ihr Eigenkapital wieder aufzubauen. Die Nationalbank trägt grundsätzlich dafür Sorge, ihr Eigenkapital zu stärken, damit sie auf lange Sicht ihren Auftrag erfüllen kann.