Print

Questions and answers on the SNB's balance sheet

What is special about the SNB's balance sheet?

The balance sheet is primarily a reflection of the SNB's monetary policy activities. It results from the execution of the SNB's mandate to ensure price stability while taking due account of economic developments (Questions and answers on monetary policy strategy). The operations conducted by the SNB in fulfilment of its mandate affect the size and composition of its assets and liabilities, and can thereby exert a major influence on the development of the SNB's balance sheet.

Why does the SNB draw up a balance sheet like an ordinary company?

Under the National Bank Act (NBA), the SNB is a special-statute joint-stock company. The provisions of the Code of Obligations relating to joint-stock companies apply in principle to the SNB, too. The SNB's annual financial statements consist of the income statement, the balance sheet and the notes. They are drawn up in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles while taking due account of the specific requirements of the SNB. The SNB must also comply with the regulations of the Swiss stock exchange, as its shares are listed there.

Where can I find facts and figures on the development of the SNB's balance sheet?

The SNB publishes detailed year-end results in its Annual Report and issues interim results on a quarterly basis. In addition, it publishes balance sheet items once a month on its data portal.

How does the SNB value its assets and liabilities?

As a rule, the SNB's valuation principles are the same as those commonly applied by other listed companies (market value). The SNB reports assets and liabilities in Swiss francs. The accounting and valuation principles are outlined in detail in the Annual Report.

What are the assets on the SNB's balance sheet made up of?

The SNB's assets consist for the most part of currency reserves and, to a lesser extent, of assets in Swiss francs. The majority of the SNB's assets, in particular the foreign currency investments and the claims from repo transactions in Swiss francs, fulfil important monetary policy functions. The size and composition of the assets are therefore determined by the established monetary order and the requirements of monetary policy. This is also why the ratio of Swiss franc investments to currency reserves can change over time. Since mid-2012, for example, there have been no outstanding claims from repo transactions in Swiss francs. They are currently unnecessary for steering the Swiss franc money market because liquidity is at an exceptionally high level as a result of foreign currency purchases carried out to enforce the minimum exchange rate against the euro or to counter the strength of the Swiss franc (Questions and answers on monetary policy implementation). The SNB's currency reserves also include its gold holdings.

What are the SNB's currency reserves made up of?

Foreign currency investments make up the bulk of the currency reserves. As stipulated by art. 99 of the Federal Constitution, the SNB holds part of its currency reserves in the form of gold. The reserve position and the Special Drawing Rights at the International Monetary Fund (IMF) also belong to the currency reserves.

Is the SNB obliged to hold currency reserves?

Yes, it is. The SNB is required by the Federal Constitution to set aside sufficient currency reserves from its earnings. This requirement is outlined in greater detail in the NBA, which states that the SNB is obliged to set up provisions permitting it to maintain the currency reserves at a level necessary for monetary policy. In so doing, it must take into account economic developments in Switzerland (art. 30 para. 1 NBA).

Why do the Federal Constitution and the NBA oblige the SNB to hold currency reserves?

Central banks require currency reserves to ensure that they have room for manoeuvre in their monetary policy at all times. Moreover, strong currency reserves build confidence in the currency and help to prevent or overcome potential crises.

In what way do currency reserves increase a central bank's room for manoeuvre?

In certain circumstances, a central bank may have to draw on its currency reserves - for example to counteract a sharp and unjustified depreciation of its country's currency. It can thereby combat a loss of value and the associated threat of inflation. In a small country like Switzerland with its internationally important financial centre, currency reserves are also important with regard to confidence. Adequate currency reserves indicate that the SNB is in a position to take far-reaching measures on its own to overcome a crisis in the financial system.

How does the SNB build currency reserves?

As a rule, the SNB builds currency reserves from its earnings. This is why it does not distribute its entire profit. Part of the profits are retained and allocated to the provisions for currency reserves and therefore to the SNB's equity capital (Questions and answers on equity capital and profit appropriation). Currency reserves can, however, also be formed in other ways - by creating central bank money or by borrowing in a foreign currency.

Why have the SNB's balance sheet, and especially the currency reserves, expanded to such an extent over the past few years?

In the last few years, the volume of the currency reserves has been largely determined by the implementation of the SNB's monetary policy. Since 2009, currency purchases have played a key role in combating the excessive appreciation of the Swiss franc. When foreign currency purchases are necessary, there is an increase in foreign currency investments and therefore also in currency reserves and the balance sheet total. In 2012, foreign currency investments rose rapidly and very substantially. Since then, the growth in provisions for currency reserves has been unable to keep pace with the growth in currency reserves.

Can direct conclusions regarding the SNB's foreign exchange transactions be drawn from changes in the stock of foreign currency investments?

No. Changes in foreign currency investments cannot automatically be attributed to purchases or sales. Exchange rate fluctuations and changes in the prices of equities and bonds all play a role in this context.

What are the liabilities on the SNB's balance sheet made up of?

The liabilities on the SNB's balance sheet essentially consist of banknotes in circulation, sight deposits held at the SNB, liabilities from Swiss franc repo transactions, SNB debt certificates (SNB Bills) and the SNB's equity capital. The majority of the liabilities directly reflect the implementation of the SNB's monetary policy, i.e. providing liquidity to or absorbing liquidity from the money market. This is how the SNB influences the interest rate level. From 6 September 2011 to 15 January 2015, the provision of liquidity was primarily geared towards the enforcement of the minimum exchange rate. This was the purpose for which foreign currency was purchased against Swiss francs. The money market has thereby been provided with substantial liquidity, which is reflected on the liabilities side by a steep increase in sight deposits. By contrast, at the moment there are no liabilities from Swiss franc repo transactions and no SNB Bills outstanding. These are liquidity-absorbing instruments, for which there is currently no need from a monetary policy perspective.

What are the sight deposits at the SNB made up of?

The sight deposits of domestic banks make up the largest portion of sight deposits at the SNB. They form the basis for the SNB's operations to steer liquidity on the Swiss franc money market, and are also used for the settlement of cashless payment transactions in Switzerland. Other components of sight deposits are liabilities towards the Confederation, sight deposits of foreign banks and institutions, and other sight deposits. This latter item consists primarily of sight deposits of non-banks (clearing offices, insurance corporations, etc.).

Are sight deposits a form of borrowed capital and therefore SNB debts?

Sight deposits at the SNB - just as banknotes in circulation - cannot in an economic sense be equated with capital borrowed by a normal company or a commercial bank, since sight deposits and banknotes can only be exchanged for other legal tender, in other words banknotes or sight deposits, respectively. Moreover, they do not have a maturity or repayment date, and their amount can essentially be determined by the SNB.

Drucken

Fragen und Antworten zur Bilanz der Nationalbank

Was ist das Besondere an der Bilanz der Nationalbank?

Die Bilanz der Nationalbank ist in erster Linie das Spiegelbild ihrer geld- und währungspolitischen Aktivitäten. Sie resultiert aus der Wahrnehmung des Auftrags, die Preisstabilität zu gewährleisten und dabei der konjunkturellen Entwicklung Rechnung zu tragen (Fragen und Antworten zur geldpolitischen Strategie). Die Operationen, welche die Nationalbank zur Erfüllung ihres Auftrags durchführt, wirken sich auf die Höhe und Zusammensetzung der Aktiven und Passiven aus. Sie können somit einen grossen Einfluss auf die Entwicklung der Bilanz der Nationalbank ausüben.

Weshalb erstellt die Nationalbank eine Bilanz wie ein gewöhnliches Unternehmen?

Die Nationalbank ist gemäss Nationalbankgesetz (NBG) eine spezialgesetzliche Aktiengesellschaft. Grundsätzlich gelten die aktienrechtlichen Vorschriften des Obligationenrechts auch für die Nationalbank. Die Jahresrechnung der Nationalbank besteht aus der Erfolgsrechnung, der Bilanz und dem Anhang. Sie wird nach den Vorschriften des Obligationenrechts sowie nach allgemein anerkannten Grundsätzen der Rechnungslegung und entsprechend den spezifischen Anforderungen der Nationalbank als Zentralbank erstellt. Daneben muss die Nationalbank auch Vorschriften der Schweizer Börse einhalten, da ihre Aktien dort kotiert sind.

Wo findet man Zahlen und Informationen zur Entwicklung der Nationalbankbilanz?

Die Nationalbank publiziert einen detaillierten Jahresabschluss in ihrem Geschäftsbericht und legt vierteljährlich einen Zwischenbericht (Quartalsabschluss) ab. Darüber hinaus veröffentlicht sie monatlich auf ihrem Datenportal die Bilanzpositionen.

Wie bewertet die Nationalbank ihre Aktiven und Passiven?

Die Nationalbank wendet in der Regel die auch für andere kotierte Unternehmen üblichen Bewertungsgrundsätze an (Marktpreisbewertung) und weist Aktiven und Passiven in Franken aus. Im Geschäftsbericht sind die Bilanzierungs- und Bewertungsgrundsätze detailliert dargestellt.

Woraus setzt sich die Aktivseite der Nationalbankbilanz zusammen?

Die Aktiven der Nationalbank bestehen im Wesentlichen aus den Währungsreserven sowie zu einem kleinen Teil aus Aktiven in Franken. Der grösste Teil der Aktiven der Nationalbank erfüllt wichtige geld- und währungspolitische Funktionen, namentlich die Devisenanlagen und die Forderungen aus Repogeschäften in Franken. Die Höhe und Zusammensetzung der Aktiven wird daher durch die geltende Währungsordnung und die Bedürfnisse der Geldpolitik bestimmt. Deshalb kann sich das Verhältnis zwischen Frankenanlagen und Währungsreserven über die Zeit ändern. So sind seit Mitte 2012 beispielsweise keine Forderungen aus Repogeschäften in Franken ausstehend. Zur Steuerung des Frankengeldmarktes sind diese derzeit nicht erforderlich, da die Liquidität in Folge der Devisenkäufe zur Durchsetzung des Mindestkurses gegenüber dem Euro bzw. im Kampf gegen die Frankenstärke auf einem ausserordentlich hohen Niveau ist (Fragen und Antworten zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik). Zu den Währungsreserven der Nationalbank gehört auch der Goldbestand.

Woraus setzen sich die Währungsreserven der Nationalbank zusammen?

Einen wesentlichen Anteil machen die Devisenanlagen aus. Wie von Artikel 99 der Bundesverfassung vorgegeben, hält die Nationalbank einen Teil ihrer Währungsreserven auch in Gold. Weiter gehören die Reserveposition sowie die Sonderziehungsrechte beim Internationalen Währungsfonds (IWF) zu den Währungsreserven.

Ist die Nationalbank verpflichtet, Währungsreserven zu halten?

Ja. Die Bundesverfassung legt fest, dass die Nationalbank aus ihren Erträgen ausreichende Währungsreserven zu bilden hat. Das NBG konkretisiert dies: Die Nationalbank hat Rückstellungen zu bilden, die es erlauben, die Währungsreserven auf der geld- und währungspolitisch erforderlichen Höhe zu halten. Dabei hat sie sich an der Entwicklung der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft zu orientieren (Art. 30 Abs. 1 NBG).

Wieso schreiben Bundesverfassung und NBG der Nationalbank vor, Währungsreserven zu halten?

Zentralbanken brauchen Währungsreserven, um jederzeit über geld- und währungspolitischen Handlungsspielraum zu verfügen. Überdies stärken Währungsreserven das Vertrauen in die Währung und dienen der Vorbeugung und Überwindung allfälliger Krisen.

Inwiefern vergrössern Währungsreserven den Handlungsspielraum einer Zentralbank?

Eine Zentralbank muss unter Umständen ihre Währungsreserven einsetzen, um beispielsweise einer starken und ungerechtfertigten Abwertung der eigenen Währung entgegenzuwirken. So kann sie einen Wertzerfall und die damit verbundene Inflationsgefahr bekämpfen. In einem kleinen Land wie der Schweiz mit einem international bedeutenden Finanzplatz sind Währungsreserven zudem für das Vertrauen wichtig. Hinreichende Währungsreserven signalisieren, dass die Nationalbank in der Lage wäre, aus eigener Kraft auch weitreichende Massnahmen zu ergreifen, um Krisen im Finanzsystem zu überwinden.

Wie bildet die Nationalbank Währungsreserven?

Grundsätzlich bildet die Nationalbank Währungsreserven aus ihren Erträgen. Deshalb schüttet sie nicht ihr gesamtes Jahresergebnis aus. Ein Teil davon wird zurückbehalten und den Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven und damit dem Eigenkapital zugewiesen (Fragen und Antworten zu Eigenkapital und Gewinnverwendung). Währungsreserven können aber auch anderweitig gebildet werden, nämlich durch das Schaffen von Notenbankgeld oder die Aufnahme von Fremdkapital in Fremdwährung.

Weshalb sind die Nationalbankbilanz und insbesondere die Währungsreserven in den letzten Jahren so stark gewachsen?

Die Höhe der Währungsreserven wird seit einigen Jahren wesentlich von der Umsetzung der Geldpolitik bestimmt. Seit 2009 spielen Devisenkäufe zur Bekämpfung einer übermässigen Aufwertung des Frankens eine wesentliche Rolle. Sind Devisenkäufe der Nationalbank nötig, nehmen die Devisenanlagen zu, und damit auch die Währungsreserven und die Bilanzsumme. Im Jahr 2012 nahmen die Devisenanlagen schnell und sehr ausgeprägt zu. Seither hat das Wachstum der Rückstellungen für Währungsreserven mit dem Wachstum der Währungsreserven nicht mehr Schritt halten können.

Lassen Veränderungen im Bestand der Devisenanlagen direkte Rückschlüsse auf Devisentransaktionen der Nationalbank zu?

Nein. Veränderungen bei den Devisenanlagen müssen nicht zwingend auf Käufe oder Verkäufe zurückzuführen sein. Auch Schwankungen der Wechselkurse und Kursveränderungen bei Aktien und Obligationen spielen eine Rolle.

Woraus setzt sich die Passivseite der Nationalbankbilanz zusammen?

Die Passiven der Nationalbank bestehen im Wesentlichen aus dem Notenumlauf, den Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank, den Verbindlichkeiten aus Repogeschäften in Franken, eigenen Schuldverschreibungen (SNB Bills) sowie dem Eigenkapital. Der grösste Teil der Passiven widerspiegelt direkt die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik der Nationalbank, nämlich die Zuführung oder Abschöpfung von Liquidität am Geldmarkt. Dadurch beeinflusst die Nationalbank das Zinsniveau. Vom 6. September 2011 bis zum 15. Januar 2015 war die Liquiditätsversorgung in erster Linie von der Durchsetzung des Mindestkurses geprägt. Zu diesem Zweck wurden Devisen gegen Franken gekauft. Dadurch wurde dem Geldmarkt viel Liquidität zugeführt, was sich auf der Passivseite in einem starken Anstieg der Sichtguthaben widerspiegelte. Dagegen sind derzeit keine Verbindlichkeiten aus Repogeschäften in Franken und keine eigenen Schuldverschreibungen mehr ausstehend. Diese Instrumente dienen der Abschöpfung von Liquidität, wofür aktuell keine geldpolitische Notwendigkeit besteht.

Woraus setzen sich die Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank zusammen?

Das Total der Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank umfasst als grössten Posten die Girokonten inländischer Banken. Diese Sichtkonten bilden die Grundlage für die Steuerung der Liquidität am Frankengeldmarkt durch die Nationalbank, auch dienen sie der Abwicklung des bargeldlosen Zahlungsverkehrs in der Schweiz. Weiter gehören die Verbindlichkeiten gegenüber dem Bund, die Girokonten ausländischer Banken und Institutionen sowie die übrigen Sichtverbindlichkeiten dazu. Diese wiederum setzen sich hauptsächlich aus den Girokonten der Nichtbanken (Clearingstellen, Versicherungen usw.) zusammen.

Bilden Sichtguthaben Fremdkapital und damit Schulden der Nationalbank?

Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank - wie auch die von ihr in Verkehr gesetzten Banknoten - können ökonomisch nicht dem Fremdkapital von normalen Unternehmen oder Geschäftsbanken gleichgesetzt werden. Denn Sichtguthaben und Banknoten können nur in andere gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel getauscht werden, also wiederum in Sichtguthaben oder in Banknoten. Zudem gibt es auch kein Verfall- oder Rückzahlungsdatum, und die Höhe kann grundsätzlich von der Nationalbank bestimmt werden.