Print

Constitution and laws (as at October 2016)

Constitution

The constitutional basis of the Swiss currency and the activity of the Swiss National Bank are contained in article 99 of the Federal Constitution. The monetary article embodies the National Bank's independence in the Constitution, as also the obligation to set aside adequate currency reserves from its earnings, part of them in gold. This is serves to help maintain public confidence in monetary stability. The central bank mandate consists in the obligation of the National Bank to pursue a monetary policy serving the interests of the country as a whole. In addition, art. 99 para. 4 of the Federal Constitution determines that the National Bank must distribute at least two-thirds of its net profits to the cantons.

National Bank Act (NBA)

The National Bank Act (NBA) of 3 October 2003 (in force since 1 May 2004) serves as the statutory basis for the National Bank and its activity. The National Bank Act sets out in detail the SNB's constitutional mandate and its independence. The corollary to this independence is the SNB's accountability and information obligation towards the Federal Council, Parliament and the public (arts. 5-7 NBA). Furthermore, the NBA implements the SNB's constitutional mandate of setting aside sufficient monetary reserves from its earnings. Explicit rules concerning the calculation of profits allow the SNB to set aside provisions in line with the development of the Swiss economy (art. 30 NBA).

Moreover, the NBA sets out the instruments and monetary policy powers that the SNB has at its disposal to implement its monetary policy. The instruments based on market transactions are only broadly outlined in the provisions regarding the SNB's scope of business (arts. 9-13 NBA); further details are contained in the Guidelines on Monetary Policy Instruments and the Investment Policy Guidelines. The monetary policy powers include the compilation of financial market statistics (arts. 14-16 NBA), the obligation of the banks to hold minimum reserves (arts. 17-18 NBA) and the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures (arts. 19-21 NBA). With effect from 1 January 2016, some of the provisions on the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures are set out in arts. 22 et seq. and art. 83 of the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA). Individual provisions on the monetary policy powers are contained in the National Bank Ordinance.

The National Bank Act also governs the SNB's organisational structure (arts. 3, 33-48 NBA). The corporate bodies of the SNB are the eleven-member Bank Council, the Governing Board, the Audit Board and the General Meeting of Shareholders.

Federal Act on the Swiss National Bank (National Bank Act)
Message concerning the revision of the National Bank Act
German:
French:
PDF (1237 kB)
PDF (1418 kB)
Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA)

National Bank Ordinance (NBO)

Implementing regulations on the monetary policy powers of the National Bank (compilation of statistics, minimum reserve regulations, and oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures) are laid down in an ordinance adopted by the SNB Governing Board on 18 March 2004. The legal basis for this ordinance is art. 15 para. 3, art. 18 para. 5 and art. 20 para 5 NBA.

In the chapter "Statistical surveys", the NBO spells out the principles on data collection as well as the rights and obligations of the financial market participants required to provide information. The collection of statistical data must adhere to the principle of reasonableness. The coverage and frequency of statistical surveys as well as the parties required to report statistical data are described in the Annex to the NBO.

The chapter on "Minimum reserves" is relatively brief, since the most important elements of the minimum reserve regulations are already laid down in the wording of the law itself.

Finally, the chapter "Oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures" contains the provisions on determining systemically important central counterparties, central securities depositories and payment systems and their business processes, as well as the special requirements with which they must comply. These requirements are based on international standards. In order for the SNB to identify the central counterparties, central securities depositories and payment systems that pose a risk to system stability, they must provide the SNB with necessary information and documentation.

National Bank Ordinance
Notes on the National Bank Ordinance of 18 March 2004 (available in German only)
PDF (319 kB)
Notes on the revision of the National Bank Ordinance of 10 June 2013 (available in German only)
PDF (320 kB)
Notes on the revision of the National Bank Ordinance of 26 November 2015 (available in German and French only)
German:
French:
PDF (133 kB) 
PDF (131 kB) 
Technical Directive governing the submission of statistical data
PDF (56 kB)

Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments

The Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments, which entered into force on 1 May 2000, lays down the currency unit and contains regulations on all the characteristic features of currency and money (legal tender). In addition to coins and banknotes, Swiss franc denominated sight deposits at the Swiss National Bank are also deemed to be legal tender. The institutions that process payment transactions (commercial banks and several of their jointly operated organisations, Swiss Post and large security transport companies) are entitled to open a sight deposit account with the National Bank.

Federal Act on Currency and Payment Instruments
Coinage Ordinance
German:
French:
Italian:

Drucken

Verfassung und Gesetze (Stand: Oktober 2016)

Verfassung

Die verfassungsrechtlichen Grundlagen für die Schweizer Währung und für die Tätigkeit der Schweizerischen Nationalbank finden sich in Art. 99 Bundesverfassung (BV). Der Geld- und Währungsartikel verankert die Unabhängigkeit der Nationalbank und verpflichtet sie, aus ihren Erträgen ausreichende Währungsreserven zu bilden, einen Teil davon in Gold. Damit soll das Vertrauen der Öffentlichkeit in die Wertstabilität des Geldes gesichert werden. Der Notenbankauftrag ist so gefasst, dass die Nationalbank eine Geld- und Währungspolitik zu führen hat, die dem Gesamtinteresse des Landes dient. Ferner bestimmt Art. 99 Abs. 4 BV, dass die Nationalbank ihren Reingewinn zu mindestens zwei Dritteln an die Kantone abzuliefern hat.

Nationalbankgesetz (NBG)

Auf Gesetzesstufe bildet das Nationalbankgesetz (NBG) vom 3. Oktober 2003 (in Kraft seit 1. Mai 2004) den Rahmen für die Nationalbank und ihre Tätigkeit. Das Nationalbankgesetz konkretisiert den verfassungsrechtlichen Auftrag der SNB sowie ihre Unabhängigkeit. Gegenstück zur Unabhängigkeit ist die Rechenschafts- und Informationspflicht der SNB gegenüber Bundesrat, Parlament und Öffentlichkeit (Art. 5-7 NBG). Im Weiteren setzt das NBG den verfassungsmässigen Auftrag der SNB, aus ihren Erträgen ausreichende Währungsreserven zu bilden, um: Eine explizite Regel zur Gewinnermittlung erlaubt es der SNB, ihre Rückstellungen nach Massgabe der Entwicklung der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft anwachsen zu lassen (Art. 30 NBG).

Ferner umschreibt das Gesetz die Instrumente und geld- und währungspolitischen Befugnisse, die der Nationalbank zur Umsetzung der Geldpolitik zur Verfügung stehen. Das rechtsgeschäftliche Instrumentarium wird durch die Vorschriften über den Geschäftskreis der SNB nur in groben Zügen festgelegt (Art. 9-13 NBG); weitere Einzelheiten finden sich in den Richtlinien über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium sowie über die Anlagepolitik. Zu den geld- und währungspolitischen Befugnissen gehören die Erhebung von Finanzmarktstatistiken (Art. 14-16 NBG), die Pflicht der Banken zum Halten von Mindestreserven (Art. 17-18 NBG) sowie die Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen (Art. 19-21 NBG, ein Teil der Bestimmungen zur Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen befindet sich seit dem 1. Januar 2016 im Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz (FinfraG), Art. 22 ff., 83 FinfraG). Einzelregelungen zu den geld- und währungspolitischen Befugnissen finden sich in der Nationalbankverordnung.

Das Nationalbankgesetz setzt auch die Organisationsstruktur der Nationalbank fest (Art. 3, 33-48 NBG). Organe der SNB sind der 11 Mitglieder umfassende Bankrat, das Direktorium, die Revisionsstelle sowie die Generalversammlung.

Bundesgesetz über die Schweizerische Nationalbank (Nationalbankgesetz, NBG)
Botschaft über die Revision des Nationalbankgesetzes
PDF (1237 kB)
Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz (FinfraG)

Nationalbankverordnung (NBV)

Ausführungsbestimmungen zu den geld- und währungspolitischen Befugnissen der Nationalbank (Erhebung von Statistiken, Mindestreservevorschriften, Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamer Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen) finden sich in einer Verordnung, die das Direktorium der SNB am 18. März 2004 verabschiedet hat. Grundlage dieser Verordnung bilden Art. 15 Abs. 3, Art. 18 Abs. 5, Art. 20 Abs. 5 NBG.

Im Kapitel "Statistische Erhebungen" hält die NBV die Grundsätze der Datenerhebung sowie die Rechte und Pflichten der zur Auskunft verpflichteten Finanzmarktteilnehmer fest. Die Erhebung von Statistiken muss dem Grundsatz der Verhältnismässigkeit genügen. Gegenstand und Periodizität der statistischen Erhebungen sowie der Kreis der Statistiklieferanten sind in Anhängen zur NBV umschrieben.

Das Kapitel "Mindestreserven" ist relativ kurz gehalten, da die wichtigsten Elemente der Mindestreserveregelung bereits im Gesetzestext geregelt werden.

Das Kapitel "Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen" schliesslich enthält Bestimmungen zur Feststellung von systemisch bedeutsamen zentralen Gegenparteien, Zentralverwahrern und Zahlungssystemen und deren Geschäftsprozessen sowie zu den besonderen Anforderungen, die von solchen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen einzuhalten sind. Diese Anforderungen orientieren sich an internationalen Standards. Damit die Nationalbank bestimmen kann, von welchen zentralen Gegenparteien, Zentralverwahrern und Zahlungssystemen eine Gefahr für die Systemstabilität ausgehen kann, haben diese der Nationalbank Auskünfte zu erteilen und Unterlagen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Nationalbankverordnung
Erläuterungen zur Nationalbankverordnung vom 18. März 2004
PDF (319 kB)
Erläuterungen zur Revision der Nationalbankverordnung vom 10. Juni 2013
PDF (320 kB)
Erläuterungen zur Revision der Nationalbankverordnung vom 26. November 2015
PDF (133 kB)
Technische Weisung zur Übermittlungsform statistischer Daten
PDF (95 kB)

Bundesgesetz über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG)

Das am 1. Mai 2000 in Kraft getretene Bundesgesetz über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel (WZG) legt die Währungseinheit fest und regelt alle Eigenschaften von Währung und staatlichem Geld. Neben den Münzen und Banknoten gelten auch die auf Schweizerfranken lautenden Sichtguthaben bei der Nationalbank als gesetzliche Zahlungsmittel. Träger des Zahlungsverkehrs (Geschäftsbanken und einzelne ihrer Gemeinschaftswerke, Post und grössere Bargeldtransport-Unternehmen) erhalten Anspruch auf Eröffnung eines Sichtkontos bei der Nationalbank.

Bundesgesetz über die Währung und die Zahlungsmittel
Münzverordnung