Print

The SNB

Mandate

The Swiss National Bank conducts the country’s monetary policy as an independent central bank. It is obliged by the Constitution and by statute to act in accordance with the interests of the country as a whole. Its primary goal is to ensure price stability, while taking due account of economic developments. In so doing, it creates an appropriate environment for economic growth.

Organisation of the SNB

The SNB has two head offices: one in Berne and one in Zurich. In addition, it maintains six representative offices (in Basel, Geneva, Lausanne, Lucerne, Lugano and St Gallen). Furthermore, it has 14 agencies operated by cantonal banks that help to secure the supply of money to the country.

SNB profits

The determination and distribution of profits are governed by the National Bank Act (arts. 30 and 31). According to these articles, the SNB shall set up provisions permitting it to maintain currency reserves at the level which is necessary for monetary policy. In so doing, it shall take into account the development of the Swiss economy. A dividend not exceeding six percent of the share capital shall be paid from the net profit. One-third of any net profit remaining after the distribution shall accrue to the Confederation and two-thirds to the cantons.

The current annual distribution to the Confederation and the cantons amounts to CHF 1 billion, and will be made only if the distribution reserve is not negative after appropriation of profit.

More details may be found under profit and distribution of profit.

Drucken

Die SNB

Auftrag

Die Schweizerische Nationalbank führt als unabhängige Zentralbank die Geld- und Währungspolitik des Landes. Sie muss sich gemäss Verfassung und Gesetz vom Gesamtinteresse des Landes leiten lassen, als vorrangiges Ziel die Preisstabilität gewährleisten und dabei die Konjunktur berücksichtigen. Sie setzt damit eine grundlegende Rahmenbedingung für die Entwicklung der Wirtschaft.

Organisation der SNB

Die Nationalbank hat in Bern und Zürich je einen Sitz. Daneben unterhält sie sechs Vertretungen in Basel, Genf, Lausanne, Lugano, Luzern und St. Gallen. Dazu kommen 14 Agenturen, die von Kantonalbanken geführt werden und der Geldversorgung des Landes dienen.

Gewinne der SNB

Die Gewinnermittlung und die Gewinnverteilung der SNB ist im Nationalbankgesetz (Art. 30 und 31) geregelt: Die SNB bildet Rückstellungen, die es erlauben, die Währungsreserven auf der geld- und währungspolitisch erforderlichen Höhe zu halten. Sie orientiert sich dabei an der Entwicklung der schweizerischen Volkswirtschaft. Vom Bilanzgewinn wird eine Dividende von höchstens 6 Prozent des Aktienkapitals ausgerichtet. Der verbleibende Gewinn fällt zu einem Drittel an den Bund und zu zwei Dritteln an die Kantone.

Zurzeit beträgt die jährliche Ausschüttung an Bund und Kantone 1 Mrd. Franken, wenn die Ausschüttungsreserve nach Gewinnverwendung nicht negativ wird.

Einzelheiten finden sich auf der Seite Gewinn und Gewinnverteilung.