International Monetary Fund

  • Membership

    The IMF (www.imf.org) has 189 member countries, practically all of the world's sovereign states. Switzerland joined the IMF in 1992 and, together with Azerbaijan, Kazakhstan, the Kyrgyz Republic, Poland, Serbia, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan, forms a constituency with a seat in the Executive Board. The combined voting power of this constituency is 2.745% of total voting power, with the Swiss share at 1.173%.

  • Governance

    Switzerland's IMF membership is exercised jointly between the SNB and the Federal Department of Finance. Various representatives participate in IMF bodies. The Head of the Federal Department of Finance is one of the 24 members of the International Monetary and Financial Committee (IMFC), the main advisory body of the IMF, which meets twice a year. The Chairman of the Governing Board of the SNB is Switzerland's representative on the IMF Board of Governors. The Board, which meets once a year, delegates all the decision-making on almost all issues to the Executive Board, a standing body located in Washington D.C. The Executive Board is composed of 24 directors which represent the Fund's member countries. Most countries belong to constituencies. Switzerland and Poland take turns in appointing the Executive Director of the Swiss-led constituency, and each country holds the position for two years.

  • Mandate

    The IMF primarily promotes macroeconomic and financial stability. To exercise its mandate, it focuses on three areas: surveillance, lending and technical assistance.

    Surveillance

    The IMF assesses economic developments on a national, regional and global level. It consults with its members on a regular basis and advises them on economic and monetary policy issues. On a bilateral level, surveillance is reflected in Article IV consultations and in Financial Sector Stability Assessments (FSSA), with the aim of sensitising authorities and capital markets for problems and strengthening market discipline. The main focus of the IMF's efforts is crisis prevention.

    Lending

    The IMF provides financial assistance to countries with temporary balance of payment needs. The Fund's lending criteria are based on economic considerations and tailored to country-specific circumstances. The lending decisions also take into consideration the financial solidity of the Fund. The IMF has taken part in and coordinated comprehensive financial support programmes to combat serveral financial crisis.

    Technical assistance

    The IMF helps member countries build and reform the institutions necessary to implement sound macroeconomic policies and to establish and maintain financial stability. Technical assistance is provided primarily to low-income countries. Its perspective is medium-term.

  • The IMF and Switzerland

    The IMF monitors and assesses the economic performance of each of its members on a regular basis (usually once a year). The most recent assessment of the Swiss economy (Switzerland: 2015 Article IV Consultation-Staff Report; Press Release; and Statement by the Executive Director for Switzerland) is available at: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=42954.

    At less frequent intervals, the IMF assesses the stability of member countries' financial systems. The most recent assessment of the Swiss financial sector (Financial System Stability Assessment Update) is available at: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=41590.0.

  • Switzerland's financial relations with the IMF (end-October 2018)

    The financial obligations arising from the membership in the IMF are met by the Swiss National Bank.

    Maximum amount
    Of which drawn
    Of which not yet drawn
    Quota
    SDR 5,771.1 m
    (CHF 8,018.7 m)
    SDR 238.3 m
    (CHF 331.2 m)
    SDR 5,532.8 m
    (CHF 7,687.5 m)
    GAB and NAB
    SDR 5,540.7 m
    (CHF 7,698.5 m)
    SDR 559.1 m
    (CHF 776.9 m)
    SDR 4,981.6 m
    (CHF 6,921.6 m)
    Bilateral credit line
    SDR 6,117.5 m
    (CHF 8,500.0 m)
    SDR 0.0 m
    (CHF 0.0 m)
    SDR 6,117.5 m
    (CHF 8,500.0 m)
    PRGT
    SDR 1,020.3 m
    (CHF 1,417.7 m)
    SDR 122.9 m
    (CHF 170.7 m)
    SDR 897.5 m
    (CHF 1,247.0 m)
    SDR Voluntary Trading Arrangement
    SDR 1,644.0 m
    (CHF 2,284.3 m)
    SDR -35.0 m
    (CHF -48.6 m)
    SDR 1,679.0 m
    (CHF 2,332.9 m)

    Special Drawing Right (SDR)

    The SDR is an International Monetary Fund (IMF) unit of account calculated from the weighted exchange rates of the US dollar, euro, yen, pound sterling and, since 1 October 2016, the Chinese renminbi.

    Quota

    Quota are the primary source of IMF funds. They are calculated on the basis of each country's economic capacity (GDP, current account receipts and payments and their variability, currency reserves). Switzerland's quota amounts to SDR 5,771.1 million, which is 1.21% of the IMF's quota total of SDR 477 billion. The portion of the Swiss quota used by the IMF is a liquid item which the SNB can draw on request. The used portion of the Swiss quota as well as the funds used under the General Arrangements to Borrow (GAB) and the New Arrangements to Borrow (NAB) form part of the reserve assets.

    General Arrangements to Borrow and New Arrangements to Borrow

    The GAB and the NAB allow the IMF to borrow funds, in exceptional circumstances and in the event of a shortage of funds, up to a total maximum amount of SDR 182.4 billion. However, the GAB can only be activated if agreement has not been reached under the NAB. The maximum amount of the GAB is SDR 17 billion. The funds used under the GAB and the NAB also form part of the reserve assets.

    Bilateral credit line

    Bilateral borrowing agreements bolster the IMF's lending capacity after resources from quotas and the NAB have been largely used up. These agreements allow the IMF to borrow funds, which are available to the IMF with an initial term to end-2019, extendable to end-2020 with creditors' consent. To date, many member countries or their central banks have committed funds under bilateral borrowing agreements for an aggregate amount exceeding SDR 300 billion. The SNB has granted the IMF a credit line for an amount up to CHF 8.5 billion.

    Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust

    The Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust (PRGT) grants loans to low-income member countries at preferential terms. The PRGT is financed through bilateral contributions and through the IMF's own funds. The Swiss National Bank funds the Swiss contribution to the PRGT capital on a loan basis. The Confederation provides the SNB with a guarantee that the loans, including interest, will be repaid on time. It also funds the interest rate subsidies.

    SDR Voluntary Trading Arrangement

    The Special Drawing Right (SDR) is not only a unit of account but also a means of international payment. As part of the Voluntary Trading Arrangement with the IMF, the SNB has committed itself to purchase (+) or sell (-) SDRs against foreign currencies (USD, EUR) up to an agreed maximum.

Drucken

Internationaler Währungsfonds

Mitgliedschaft

Der Internationale Währungsfonds (IWF) (www.imf.org) zählt 189 Mitgliedsländer, darunter praktisch alle souveränen Staaten der Welt. Die Schweiz trat dem IWF 1992 bei und bildet gemeinsam mit Aserbeidschan, Kasachstan, Kirgisien, Polen, Serbien, Tadschikistan und Turkmenistan eine Stimmrechtsgruppe mit einem Sitz im Exekutivrat. Der Stimmrechtsanteil dieser Gruppe beträgt 2,745%, wobei der Anteil der Schweiz 1,173% beträgt.

Organisation

Die Mitgliedschaft der Schweiz beim IWF wird durch die Nationalbank und das Eidgenössische Finanzdepartement gemeinsam wahrgenommen. Verschiedene Vertreter der Schweiz wirken in den Gremien des IWF mit. Der Vorsteher des Eidgenössischen Finanzdepartements ist eines von 24 Mitgliedern im Internationalen Währungs- und Finanzausschuss (International Monetary and Financial Committee, IMFC), dem wichtigsten Beratungsgremium des IWF, das zweimal pro Jahr tagt. Der Präsident des Direktoriums der SNB vertritt die Schweiz im Gouverneursrat. Der Gouverneursrat ist das oberste Entscheidungsgremium des IWF und setzt sich aus je einem Vertreter jedes Mitgliedslandes zusammen. Der Gouverneursrat trifft sich einmal pro Jahr, überträgt aber fast alle Entscheidungen dem Exekutivrat, einem ständigen Organ mit Sitz in Washington D.C. Der Exekutivrat besteht aus 24 Direktoren, welche die Mitgliedsländer des IWF vertreten. Die meisten Länder gehören einer Stimmrechtsgruppe an. Ein schweizerischer Exekutivdirektor vertritt die von der Schweiz angeführte Stimmrechtsgruppe im Exekutivrat.

Auftrag

Der IWF fördert insbesondere die makroökonomische und die Finanz-Stabilität. Zur Erfüllung seines Mandats konzentriert er sich auf drei Bereiche: Überwachung, Kreditvergabe und technische Hilfe.

Überwachung

Der IWF beurteilt die Wirtschaftsentwicklung auf nationaler, regionaler und globaler Ebene, konsultiert regelmässig seine Mitglieder und berät diese in währungs- und wirtschaftspolitischen Fragen. Auf bilateraler Ebene findet die Überwachung ihren Niederschlag in Artikel-IV-Konsultationen und in „Financial Sector Stability Assessments“ (FSSA). Dadurch sollen Behörden und Kapitalmärkte für Probleme sensibilisiert und ihre Disziplin verstärkt werden. Im Mittelpunkt der Anstrengungen des IWF steht die Krisenprävention.

Kreditvergabe

Der IWF gewährt Ländern mit vorübergehenden Zahlungsbilanzproblemen finanzielle Unterstützung. Die IWF-Kriterien für die Kreditvergabe basieren auf wirtschaftlichen Überlegungen und beziehen länderspezifische Gegebenheiten mit ein. Die Kreditentscheide des Währungsfonds berücksichtigen auch dessen finanzielle Solidität. Der IWF hat sich an mehreren umfangreichen Finanzhilfeprogrammen zur Bewältigung verschiedener Finanzkrisen beteiligt und die Hilfsprogramme koordiniert.

Technische Hilfe

Der IWF unterstützt Mitgliedsländer beim Aufbau und bei der Reform von Institutionen, die zur Umsetzung einer soliden makroökonomischen Politik und zur Erreichung und Wahrung der Finanzstabilität notwendig sind. Technische Hilfe wird vor allem einkommensschwachen Entwicklungsländern und auf mittlere Frist gewährt.

Der IWF und die Schweiz

Der IWF verfolgt und überprüft regelmässig – normalerweise einmal pro Jahr – die wirtschaftliche Entwicklung aller Mitgliedsländer. Das letzte Assessment der Schweizer Volkswirtschaft (“Switzerland: 2015 Article IV Consultation-Staff Report; Press Release; and Statement by the Executive Director for Switzerland”) ist verfügbar unter: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=42954.

Weniger häufig überprüft der IWF die Finanzsystemstabilität der Mitgliedsländer. Das letzte Assessment des Schweizer Finanzsektors (“Switzerland: Financial System Stability Assessment Update”) ist verfügbar unter: http://www.imf.org/external/pubs/cat/longres.aspx?sk=41590.0.

Die finanziellen Beziehungen zwischen der Schweiz und dem IWF (Stand: Ende Oktober 2016)

Die folgenden mit der Mitgliedschaft beim IWF verbundenen finanziellen Leistungen werden von der Nationalbank erbracht.

 
Maximalbetrag
Beansprucht
Noch beanspruchbar
Quote
5’771,1 Mio. SZR
(7'848,7 Mio. CHF)
13,0 Mio. SZR
(17,6 Mio. CHF)
5'758,1 Mio. SZR
(7'831,1 Mio. CHF)
AKV und NKV
5'540,7 Mio. SZR
(7'535,3 Mio. CHF)
968,2 Mio. SZR
(1'316,8 Mio. CHF)
4'572,4 Mio. SZR
(6'218,5 Mio. CHF)
PRGT
581,8 Mio. SZR
(791,2 Mio. CHF)
95,7 Mio. SZR
(130,2 Mio. CHF)
486,1 Mio. SZR
(661,1 Mio. CHF)
SZR Voluntary Trading Arrangement
1'644,0 Mio. SZR
(2'235,8 Mio. CHF)
-39,9 Mio. SZR
(-54,3 Mio. CHF)
1'683,9 Mio. SZR
(2'290,1 Mio. CHF)

Sonderziehungsrecht (SZR)

Das Sonderziehungsrecht ist eine Recheneinheit des IWF, die sich aus den gewichteten Kursen der Währungen US-Dollar, Euro, Yen, Pfund und, ab 1. Oktober 2016, dem chinesischen Renminbi, berechnet.

Quoten

Die Quoten bilden die wichtigste Finanzierungsquelle des IWF. Ihre Berechnung beruht auf der wirtschaftlichen Leistungsfähigkeit eines Landes (Bruttoinlandprodukt, Einnahmen und Ausgaben in der Ertragsbilanz, und deren Schwankungen, Währungsreserven). Die Quote der Schweiz beträgt 5’771,1 Mio. SZR, was 1,21% der IWF-Gesamtquote von 477 Mrd. SZR entspricht. Der beanspruchte Teil der Schweizer Quote, der dem IWF zur Verfügung gestellt wird, ist eine liquide Position, welche die SNB auf Verlangen beziehen kann. Der beanspruchte Teil der Schweizer Quote und die beanspruchten Mittel der AKV und NKV gehören zu den Währungsreserven.

Allgemeine und Neue Kreditvereinbarungen

Die AKV und NKV erlauben dem IWF, in Ausnahmesituationen und bei Mittelknappheit Kredite insgesamt bis zu einem Maximalbetrag von 182,4 Mrd. SZR aufzunehmen. Die AKV können allerdings nur aktiviert werden, wenn unter den NKV keine Einigung erzielt wird. Deren Maximalbetrag beläuft sich auf 17 Mrd. SZR. Die beanspruchten Mittel der AKV und NKV gehören ebenfalls zu den Währungsreserven.

Treuhandfonds für Armutsbekämpfung und Wachstum

Der Treuhandfonds für Armutsbekämpfung und Wachstum (Poverty Reduction and Growth Trust, PRGT) vergibt Kredite an einkommensschwache Mitgliedsländer zu Vorzugsbedingungen. Der PRGT wird über bilaterale Beiträge und IWF-eigene Mittel finanziert. Die Nationalbank finanziert den schweizerischen Beitrag zum PRGT-Kapital in Form von Krediten. Der Bund garantiert der Nationalbank die fristgerechte Rückzahlung der Kredite einschliesslich der Zinsen; zudem finanziert er die Zinssubventionen.

SZR Voluntary Trading Arrangement

Das Sonderziehungsrecht (SZR) ist nicht nur eine Recheneinheit, sondern auch ein internationales Zahlungsmittel. Im Rahmen des Voluntary Trading Arrangement mit dem IWF hat sich die SNB verpflichtet, bis zu einer vereinbarten Höchstlimite SZR gegen Devisen (US-Dollars, Euros) zu kaufen (+) oder zu verkaufen (-).