Print

Financial market infrastructure

Systemically important financial market infrastructures in Switzerland

The Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system

Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) is the central electronic Swiss payment system, in which the participating financial institutions process their large-value payments as well as a part of their retail payments in Swiss francs. It is operated on behalf of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) by SIX Interbank Clearing Ltd. SIC also has a key role to play in the implementation of the SNB’s monetary policy.

www.six-interbank-clearing.com

Report: The Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) payment system
PDF (263 kB)

The SIX SIS central securities depository and the SECOM securities settlement system

As one of the key elements in Switzerland’s financial market infrastructure, the SECOM securities settlement system, which is operated by the SIX SIS Ltd central securities depository, provides for the custody and settlement of tradable financial instruments in Switzerland. Financial market transactions concluded at SIX Swiss Exchange – the Swiss stock exchange – can be settled fully automatically through SECOM, i.e. without any manual intervention. This contributes to the low-cost, low-risk integration of trading, clearing and settlement. The custody and settlement of financial instruments entails various risks, both for the service provider and for their users. The organisation and design of SECOM ensure that custody and settlement risks are minimised or eliminated as far as possible.

www.six-securities-services.com

Report: SECOM, the securities settlement system
PDF (291 kB)

SIX x-clear, the central counterparty

When a trade is concluded on a trading platform, a central counterparty acts as intermediary between the trading partners. In so doing, it takes on the obligations incurred by the trading partners and guarantees the fulfilment of the obligations. In addition, a central counterparty keeps account of, sets values for and offsets the trading positions. On the settlement date, it initiates the settlement of the delivery and payment obligations. SIX x-clear Ltd takes on these tasks for shares, exchange-traded funds (ETFs) and bonds traded on SIX Swiss Exchange (SSX) and on the London Stock Exchange (LSE). It also offers its clearing services on various multilateral trading facilities (MTFs). SIX x-clear is interoperable with central counterparties LCH.Clearnet Ltd and EuroCCP N.V.

www.six-securities-services.com

Report: SIX x-clear, the central counterparty
PDF (317 kB)

Foreign systemically important financial market infrastructures

Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS), the foreign exchange settlement system

Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) is an international payment system through which foreign exchange transactions in 17 currencies can be settled. By using a payment-versus-payment mechanism, CLS eliminates the settlement risk inherent in the settlement of currency transactions via correspondent banks. Given the substantial transaction volumes on the global foreign exchange market, CLS, by virtue of its risk-reducing settlement mechanism, makes a significant contribution to the stability of the global financial system.

www.cls-group.com

Report: The Continuous Linked Settlement foreign exchange settlement system (CLS)
PDF (2131 kB)

LCH.Clearnet Ltd

LCH.Clearnet Ltd is part of LCH.Clearnet Group, which is majority-owned by the London Stock Exchange (LSE). LCH.Clearnet Ltd is one of Europe’s leading central counterparties. Its activities include clearing share trades and ETF transactions for the London Stock Exchange (LSE), SIX Swiss Exchange, BATS Chi-X Europe and Equiduct.

www.lchclearnet.com

Eurex Clearing AG

Eurex Clearing AG is owned by Deutsche Börse Ltd and is one of Europe’s leading central counterparties. For the Swiss financial market, Eurex Clearing’s activity as central counterparty for the Eurex stock exchange is important; this exchange is used for trading, among other things, derivatives based on underlying Swiss assets.

www.eurexclearing.com

Retail payments

Overview

Retail payments include payments for the purchase of goods and services. Such payments are usually for small amounts and not urgent, and account for the lion’s share of all the payments processed in an economy. Another characteristic of retail payments is that a variety of different payment instruments can be used, and that a number of banks and non-banks are involved in the provision of payment instruments and the processing of payments. By contrast, large-value payments between financial market participants tend to be urgent and time-critical, and are usually settled through central banks’ real-time gross settlement systems. Although large-value payments make up a small proportion of the total number of payments in an economy, they vastly exceed retail payments in terms of the amounts involved.

The SNB’s system oversight mandate also covers retail payments, albeit with a different focus compared to its oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures. Participants in retail payments are subject to a duty to provide statistical information and – depending on their importance – an obligation of disclosure to the SNB. In the area of retail payments, the SNB focuses mainly on monitoring for the early identification of relevant developments and possible hazards.

Payment card systems

Payment cards are one of the payment instruments used in retail payments, and allow cashless payments at the point of sale. In broad terms, they can be divided into three categories: pay later (credit cards), pay now (debit cards) and pay before (prepaid cards). In addition to consumers and merchants, there are two other groups that are involved in payment card systems: issuers (the companies that issue the cards) and acquirers (the companies that recruit merchants). The coordination of all the parties involved is multi-layered and complex, not least because payment card systems are two-sided markets, which are governed by laws of economics that differ considerably from those governing conventional goods markets.

Report: An examination of the economics of payment card systems
PDF (1812 kB)

Swiss value chain: integration of systems

The Swiss value chain allows the complete electronic integration of securities trading, clearing and settlement. This ensures efficient and safe settlement of securities transactions according to the delivery-versus-payment principle, thereby eliminating settlement risk. The Swiss value chain consists of four elements: (1) the electronic trading platforms SIX Swiss Exchange (securities and structured products), SIX Repo AG (repo) and Eurex (derivatives); (2) the central counterparties SIX x-clear, London Clearing House (LCH) and Eurex Clearing; (3) the securities settlement system SECOM; and (4) the payment systems Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) and euroSIC. The individual systems of the Swiss value chain are joint enterprises of the Swiss financial marketplace and are owned by Swiss financial intermediaries (except for Eurex, which is owned by Deutsche Börse Ltd; Eurex Clearing is, in turn, a subsidiary of Eurex).

Report: Behind the scenes of financial markets: A look at the Swiss financial market infrastructure
PDF (233 kB)

Drucken

Finanzmarktinfrastruktur

Systemisch bedeutsame Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen in der Schweiz

Das Zahlungssystem Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC)

Das Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) ist das zentrale elektronische Schweizer Zahlungssystem, über das die teilnehmenden Finanzinstitute ihre Grossbetragszahlungen sowie einen Teil ihres Massenzahlungsverkehrs in Schweizer Franken abwickeln. Es wird im Auftrag der Schweizerischen Nationalbank (SNB) durch die SIX Interbank Clearing AG betrieben. SIC ist auch für die Umsetzung der Geldpolitik der Schweizerischen Nationalbank von zentraler Bedeutung.

www.six-interbank-clearing.com

Bericht: «Das Zahlungssystem Swiss Interbank Clearing»
PDF (263 kB)

Die zentrale Verwahrungsstelle SIX SIS und das Effektenabwicklungssystem SECOM

Als eines der Kernelemente der Schweizer Finanzmarktinfrastruktur ermöglicht das von der zentralen Verwahrungsstelle SIX SIS AG betriebene Effektenabwicklungssystem SECOM die Verwahrung und Abwicklung von handelbaren Finanzinstrumenten in der Schweiz. Finanzmarktgeschäfte, die an der Schweizer Börse SIX Swiss Exchange abgeschlossen werden, können vollautomatisch, das heisst ohne manuelle Eingriffe, über SECOM abgewickelt werden. Dies trägt zur kostengünstigen und risikominimierenden Integration von Handel, Abrechnung und Abwicklung bei. Die Verwahrung und Abwicklung von Finanzinstrumenten ist mit gewissen Risiken verbunden, sowohl für den Dienstleistungserbringer als auch für die Nutzer dieser Dienstleistungen. SECOM ist derart ausgestaltet, dass Verwahrungs- und Abwicklungsrisiken soweit möglich minimiert oder eliminiert werden.

www.six-securities-services.com

Bericht: «Das Effektenabwicklungssystem SECOM»
PDF (291 kB)

Die zentrale Gegenpartei SIX x-clear

Eine zentrale Gegenpartei stellt sich zum Zeitpunkt des Abschlusses eines Geschäftes auf einer Handelsplattform zwischen die Handelsparteien. Sie übernimmt dabei die eingegangenen Verpflichtungen und garantiert deren Erfüllung. Zudem führt, bewertet und verrechnet eine zentrale Gegenpartei die Handelspositionen und löst am Erfüllungstag die Abwicklung der jeweiligen Zahlungs- bzw. Lieferverpflichtungen aus. Die SIX x-clear AG übernimmt diese Aufgaben für Aktien, exchange traded funds (ETFs) und Obligationen, die an der SIX Swiss Exchange (SSX) und der London Stock Exchange (LSE) gehandelt werden. Zudem bietet SIX x-clear ihre Clearingdienstleistungen an verschiedenen Multilateral Trading Facilities (MTF) an. Mit den zentralen Gegenparteien LCH.Clearnet Ltd und Euro CCP N.V. verfügt die SIX x-clear über Interoperabilität.

www.six-securities-services.com

Bericht: «Die Zentrale Gegenpartei SIX x-clear»
PDF (317 kB)

Systemisch bedeutsame Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen im Ausland

Das Devisenabwicklungssystem Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS)

Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS) ist ein internationales Zahlungssystem, über welches Fremdwährungsgeschäfte in 17 Währungen abgewickelt werden können. CLS eliminiert mit Hilfe eines Zahlung-gegen-Zahlung Mechanismus das bei der Abwicklung von Devisentransaktionen über Korrespondenzbanken inhärente Erfüllungsrisiko. Aufgrund des bedeutenden Transaktionsvolumens auf dem globalen Devisenmarkt leistet CLS mit seinem risikoreduzierenden Abwicklungsmechanismus einen signifikanten Beitrag zur Stabilität des globalen Finanzsystems.

www.cls-group.com

Bericht: «Das Devisenabwicklungssystem Continuous Linked Settlement (CLS)»
PDF (2131 kB)

LCH.Clearnet Ltd

LCH.Clearnet Ltd ist Teil der LCH.Clearnet Group, welche mehrheitlich im Besitz der London Stock Exchange (LSE) steht. Die LCH.Clearnet Ltd ist eine der führenden zentralen Gegenparteien Europas. Sie rechnet unter anderem Aktien- und ETF-Geschäfte der London Stock Exchange (LSE), der SIX Swiss Exchange, von BATS Chi-X Europe sowie von Equiduct ab.

www.lchclearnet.com

Eurex Clearing AG

Eurex Clearing AG befindet sich im Besitz der Deutschen Börse AG und ist eine der führenden zentralen Gegenparteien Europas. Für den Schweizer Finanzmarkt ist insbesondere die Tätigkeit von Eurex Clearing als zentrale Gegenpartei für die Eurex Börse von Bedeutung, an welcher unter anderem auch Derivate auf Schweizer Basiswerte gehandelt werden. 

www.eurexclearing.com

Massenzahlungsverkehr

Überblick

Zum Massenzahlungsverkehr zählen Zahlungen für den Kauf von Gütern und Dienstleistungen. Diese sind gewöhnlich von kleinem Betrag, geringer Dringlichkeit und machen die grosse Mehrzahl aus an der in einer Volkswirtschaft gesamthaft verarbeiteten Zahlungen. Kennzeichnend für den Massenzahlungsverkehr ist zudem, dass eine Vielzahl unterschiedlicher Zahlungsinstrumente eingesetzt werden kann und dass verschiedene Banken und Nicht-Banken in der Bereitstellung von Zahlungsinstrumenten und der Verarbeitung von Zahlungen involviert sind. Im Gegensatz dazu sind die Grossbetragszahlungen zwischen Finanzmarktakteuren üblicherweise dringend und zeitkritisch und werden gewöhnlich in den Real-Time-Gross-Settlement Zahlungssystemen der Zentralbanken abgewickelt. Während Grossbetragszahlungen einen geringen Anteil der Anzahl Zahlungen in einer Volkswirtschaft ausmachen übertreffen sie dafür die Massenzahlungen betragsmässig deutlich.

Das Mandat der SNB bezüglich der Systemüberwachung umfasst auch den Massenzahlungsverkehr, jedoch mit einem anderen Augenmerk als bei systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen. Für Akteure im Massenzahlungsverkehr gilt die statistische Auskunftspflicht und - je nach deren Bedeutung - die Offenlegungspflicht gegenüber der SNB. Im Bereich des Massenzahlungsverkehrs betreibt die SNB schwerpunktmässig Monitoring-Aktivitäten zur frühzeitigen Erkennung von relevanten Entwicklungen und möglichen Gefahren.

Zahlungskartensysteme

Zahlungskarten zählen zu den Zahlungsinstrumenten des Massenzahlungsverkehrs und ermöglichen das bargeldlose Bezahlen am Verkaufspunkt. Sie lassen sich grob betrachtet in drei Kategorien einteilen; pay-later (Kreditkarten), pay-now (Debitkarten) und pay-before (Prepaidkarten). An Zahlungskartensystemen sind neben Konsumenten und Händler auch Issuer (Kartenherausgeber) und Acquirer (Händler anwerbende Unternehmen) beteiligt. Die Koordination aller involvierten Parteien ist vielschichtig und komplex, nicht zuletzt da Zahlungskartensysteme zweiseitige Märkte sind, deren ökonomische Gesetzmässigkeiten sich wesentlich von gewöhnlichen Gütermärkten unterscheiden.

Bericht: «Einblicke in die Ökonomie der Zahlungskartensysteme»
PDF (1812 kB)

«Swiss value chain»: Integration der Systeme

Die «Swiss value chain» ermöglicht die vollelektronische Integration von Effektenhandel, -abrechnung, und -abwicklung. Dies erlaubt eine effiziente und sichere Abwicklung von Effektentransaktionen nach dem Prinzip Lieferung-gegen-Zahlung und damit die Eliminierung von Erfüllungsrisiken. Die «Swiss value chain» besteht aus vier Elementen: (1) den elektronischen Handelsplattformen SIX Swiss Exchange (Wertpapiere und strukturierte Produkte), SIX Repo AG (Repos) und Eurex (Derivate); (2) den zentralen Gegenparteien SIX x-clear, London Clearing House (LCH) und Eurex Clearing; (3) dem Effektenabwicklungssystem SECOM; und (4) den Zahlungssystemen Swiss Interbank Clearing (SIC) und euroSIC. Die einzelnen Elemente der «Swiss value chain» sind Gemeinschaftswerke des Schweizer Finanzplatzes und stehen im Besitz der Schweizer Finanzintermediäre. (Die Ausnahme ist Eurex, die im Besitz der Deutschen Börse AG steht; Eurex Clearing ist wiederum eine Tochtergesellschaft der Eurex).

Bericht: «Was sich hinter den Kulissen der Finanzmärkte abspielt: Ein Überblick über die Schweizer Finanzmarktinfrastruktur»
PDF (233 kB)