Print

Oversight of financial market infrastructures

The Swiss National Bank’s oversight mandate

The National Bank Act requires the SNB to oversee financial market infrastructures in Switzerland and also, in certain circumstances, abroad. In addition, the SNB lays down special requirements for the operation of financial market infrastructures which pose risks for the stability of the financial system. The implementing provisions on oversight are set out in the National Bank Ordinance. Since 1 January 2016, some of the provisions on oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures are contained in the Financial Market Infrastructure Act (FMIA).

By overseeing financial market infrastructures operated by the private sector, the SNB promotes their security and efficiency. In so doing, it gives priority to reducing systemic risk. First, it is important to ensure that neither technical system failure nor financial difficulties on the part of financial market infrastructure operators give rise to major credit or liquidity problems for financial intermediaries or that these result in severe disruption on financial markets. Second, the contractual framework, and, in particular, the rules and procedures for the different systems should be formulated such that payment or delivery difficulties of individual system participants do not spill over to other financial intermediaries, linked financial market infrastructures or the financial markets. The sole objective of system oversight by the SNB is to ensure financial stability, which in turn is a precondition for the effectiveness of monetary policy. Individual creditor protection, consumer protection or the protection of financial market infrastructures from criminal abuse, however, are not objectives of SNB oversight.

Report:Oversight of payment and securities settlement systems by the Swiss National Bank
PDF (155 kB)

A glimpse behind the scenes of the Swiss financial markets

Roughly speaking, the financial system can be subdivided into three main components: financial markets, financial intermediaries and the financial market infrastructure.

The primary task of the financial markets is to gather information and process it in the form of prices, which allow financial market participants to allocate resources and risks efficiently.
Financial intermediaries are market participants themselves. At the same time, they also play an important role in bringing the other market participants together – in other words, they match supply and demand in the various market segments. In order to fulfil these tasks efficiently, financial markets and intermediaries depend on an appropriate financial market infrastructure. Particularly important are stock exchanges and trading platforms, as well as post-trading systems for clearing and settling payments, securities and other financial instruments, such as payment and securities settlement systems, central counterparties and central depositories. These systems are summarised under the term financial market infrastructures. The task of financial market infrastructures is to correctly transfer and record the financial assets (e.g. book money, securities and other financial instruments) traded between the parties and to do so at the time agreed.

Report: Behind the scenes of financial markets: A look at the Swiss financial market infrastructure
PDF (233 kB)

Drucken

Überwachung von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen

Überwachungsauftrag der Schweizerischen Nationalbank

Das Nationalbankgesetz beauftragt die Nationalbank mit der Überwachung von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen in der Schweiz und unter bestimmten Bedingungen im Ausland. Für den Betrieb von Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, von welchen Risiken für die Stabilität des Finanzsystems ausgehen, legt die Nationalbank zudem besondere Anforderungen fest. Die Ausführungsbestimmungen zur Überwachung sind in der Nationalbankverordnung aufgeführt. Ein Teil der Bestimmungen zur Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen befindet sich seit dem 1. Januar 2016 im Finanzmarktinfrastrukturgesetz (FinfraG).

Mit der Überwachung der privatwirtschaftlich betriebenen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen fördert die SNB deren Sicherheit und Effizienz, wobei die Reduktion der systemischen Risiken im Vordergrund steht: Zum einen gilt es zu verhindern, dass weder ein technisch bedingter Ausfall noch finanzielle Schwierigkeiten der Betreiber dieser Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu schwerwiegenden Kredit- oder Liquiditätsproblemen der Finanzintermediäre führt oder sich daraus schwerwiegende Störungen an den Finanzmärkten ergeben. Zum anderen sollen die vertraglichen Grundlagen und insbesondere die Regeln und Verfahren der Systeme derart ausgestaltet sein, dass sich Zahlungs- oder Lieferschwierigkeiten einzelner Systemteilnehmer nicht unkontrolliert auf andere Finanzintermediäre, verbundene Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen oder auf die Finanzmärkte ausbreiten. Die Systemüberwachung durch die Nationalbank verfolgt ausschliesslich finanzstabilitätspolitische und damit letztlich geldpolitische Schutzziele. Der individuelle Gläubigerschutz, der Konsumentenschutz oder der Schutz der Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen vor kriminellem Missbrauch sind hingegen keine Ziele der Überwachung.

Bericht «Die Überwachung von Zahlungs- und Effektenabwicklungssystemen durch die Schweizerische Nationalbank»
PDF (155 kB)

Blick hinter die Kulissen der Schweizer Finanzmärkte

Das Finanzsystem lässt sich grob gesprochen in drei Hauptkomponenten unterteilen: die Finanzmärkte, die Finanzintermediäre und die Finanzmarktinfrastruktur.

Primäre Aufgabe der Finanzmärkte ist es, Informationen zu sammeln und zu Preissignalen zu verarbeiten, die den Finanzmarktteilnehmern eine effiziente Ressourcen- und Risikoallokation ermöglichen.
Die Finanzintermediäre sind einerseits selbst Marktteilnehmer, andererseits spielen sie eine wichtige Rolle bei der Intermediation zwischen den übrigen Marktteilnehmern, d.h. sie führen Angebot und Nachfrage in den verschiedenen Marktsegmenten zusammen. Um diese Aufgaben effizient wahrnehmen zu können, sind die Finanzmärkte und die Finanzintermediäre auf eine angemessene Finanzmarktinfrastruktur angewiesen. Dazu zählen insbesondere Börsen und Handelsplattformen, sowie die dem Handel nachgelagerten Systeme zur Abrechnung und Abwicklung von Zahlungen, Effekten und anderen Finanzinstrumenten, wie beispielsweise Zahlungssysteme, Effektenabwicklungssysteme, zentrale Gegenparteien und zentrale Verwahrungsstellen. Diese Systeme werden unter dem Begriff „Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen“ zusammengefasst. Aufgabe der Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen ist es, die jeweiligen Finanzaktiva (z.B. Buchgeld, Wertschriften oder andere Finanzinstrumente) korrekt und zum vereinbarten Zeitpunkt zwischen den Handelspartnern zu transferieren und zu verbuchen.  

Bericht «Was sich hinter den Kulissen der Finanzmärkte abspielt: Ein Überblick über die Schweizer Finanzmarktinfrastruktur»
PDF (233 kB)