Print

Financial stability

A stable financial system

Financial stability is a key prerequisite for the functioning of a national economy and for the effective implementation of monetary policy. A stable financial system can be defined as a system whose individual components – financial intermediaries and the financial market infrastructure – fulfil their respective functions and prove resistant to potential shocks.

The SNB mandate

Under the National Bank Act, the SNB has the task to contribute to the stability of the financial system. Moreover, the Act assigns the oversight of systemically important financial market infrastructures to the SNB.

In the field of financial stability the SNB cooperates with the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority FINMA. A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) contains a clear division of the individual responsibilities of the two institutions and regulations on their cooperation.

How the SNB promotes financial stability

Analysis and research: The SNB analyses the developments in the financial markets and in the area of financial market infrastructure. It pays special attention to the Swiss banking industry and the financial market infrastructures.

Promotion of an appropriate framework for the financial centre: At a national level, the SNB – in conjunction with the Confederation and the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) – participates in reform projects (cf. relevant Confederation website: www.finweb.admin.ch). At an international level, it is permanently represented on the Basel Committee on Banking Supervision and on the Committee on Payments and Market Infrastructures (CPMI) of the Bank for International Settlements (BIS) (cf. BIS website: www.bis.org) and participates in various international task forces that deal with financial stability issues. A well-known example is the Financial Stability Board (FSB) (www.financialstabilityboard.org).

Liquidity assistance: The SNB acts as lender of last resort (LoLR). In this function, it can – under certain conditions – provide liquidity assistance against collateral if domestic banks are no longer able to refinance their operations in the market (cf. Guidelines on Monetary Policy Instruments).

Oversight: The SNB is responsible for overseeing financial market infrastructures, focusing primarily on systems that are of importance to the stability of the Swiss financial system. The supervision of Switzerland’s banking sector is the responsibility of the Swiss Financial Market Supervisory Authority (FINMA) (www.finma.ch).

Drucken

Finanzstabilität

Ein stabiles Finanzsystem

Ein stabiles Finanzsystem ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für das Funktionieren einer Volkswirtschaft und für die wirksame Umsetzung der Geldpolitik. Ein stabiles System zeichnet sich dadurch aus, dass dessen einzelne Komponenten - Finanzintermediäre und Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen - ihre jeweilige Funktion erfüllen und sich gegenüber potentiellen Schocks als widerstandsfähig erweisen.

Auftrag an die SNB

Das Nationalbankgesetz überträgt der SNB die Aufgabe, zur Stabilität des Finanzsystems beizutragen. Zudem weist das Gesetz der SNB die Überwachung von systemisch bedeutsamen Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen zu.

Im Bereich Finanzstabilität arbeitet die SNB mit der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht FINMA zusammen. Die Abgrenzung der Aufgaben und die Zusammenarbeit sind in einem Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) geregelt.

Tätigkeiten der SNB zur Förderung der Finanzstabilität

Analyse und Forschung: Die SNB analysiert die Entwicklungen an den Finanzmärkten und im Bereich der Finanzmarktinfrastruktur. Vertieft befasst sie sich mit dem schweizerischen Bankensektor und den Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen.

Ausgestaltung der Rahmenbedingungen des Finanzplatzes: Die Nationalbank wirkt auf nationaler Ebene zusammen mit dem Bund und der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) bei Reformprojekten (www.finweb.admin.ch) mit. Zudem ist sie auf internationaler Ebene permanent im Basler Ausschuss für Bankenaufsicht und im Ausschuss für Zahlungsverkehr und Marktinfrastrukturen (CPMI) der Bank für Internationalen Zahlungsausgleich (BIZ) (www.bis.org) vertreten und arbeitet in verschiedenen internationalen Arbeitsgruppen mit, die sich mit Fragen der Finanzstabilität auseinander setzen. Prominentes Beispiel ist das Financial Stability Board (FSB) (www.financialstabilityboard.org).

Liquiditätshilfe: Die SNB wirkt als Kreditgeber in letzter Instanz (Lender of Last Resort, LoLR). Können sich inländische Banken nicht mehr über den Markt refinanzieren, so kann die Nationalbank diesen im Rahmen ihrer Funktion als LoLR unter gewissen Voraussetzungen gegen Sicherheiten Liquidität zur Verfügung stellen (siehe: Richtlinien über das geldpolitische Instrumentarium).

Überwachung: Die Nationalbank überwacht Finanzmarktinfrastrukturen, wobei sie sich auf jene Systeme konzentriert, die für die Stabilität des Schweizer Finanzsystems von Bedeutung sind. Die Aufsicht über den schweizerischen Bankensektor ist Aufgabe der Eidgenössischen Finanzmarktaufsicht (FINMA) (www.finma.ch).