Design principles

If you click on a banknote in the overall view, detailed information on this note and the portrayed personality are displayed.

The front of each banknote is dominated by the portrait of the personality to whom the note is dedicated.

All the illustrations on the back of the banknotes are closely related to the work of the person portrayed.


The Work situation

The portrait is accompanied by a photograph in the top left-hand corner showing the personality in a typical work situation.


The portrait

Unlike the intaglio print originals on traditional banknotes, each portrait in this series is based on a contemporary photograph which has been meticulously prepared - by means of complex image processing techniques - as a banknote portrait.


«Lotar II» (1964)

This bronze bust shows Giacometti's fascination with surfaces. They underwent a stark transformation under his fingers and modelling knife, giving many of his figures the appearance of bare rock. The unevenness of the texture creates an intensive play of light and shade.


«Homme qui marche I» (1960)

The walking man - shown here from four different perspectives - is one of Giacometti's best known figures. In it, the artist has captured a physical movement. For Giacometti, the natural equilibrium of the stride symbolizes man's own life force.


Time-space relationship

This sketch stems from Giacometti's 1946 memoir: «Le RĂªve, le Sphinx et la mort de T.» Because the linear narrative style was inadequate to express his experience, Giacometti tried a sculptural solution: time is represented as a horizontal disc, the individual segments stand for various events. The panels at the edge tell the relevant stories.

Drucken

Das Gestaltungsprinzip

Wenn Sie auf eine der Banknoten in der Übersicht klicken, erscheinen detaillierte Informationen über die Note und die darauf abgebildete Persönlichkeit.

Die Vorderseite jeder Banknote wird vom Porträt der Persönlichkeit dominiert, der die Note gewidmet ist.

Alle Abbildungen auf der Rückseite jeder Note haben einen engen Bezug zum Werk der porträtierten Persönlichkeit.

 
A

Die Arbeitssituation

Als Ergänzung zum Porträtbild findet sich in der linken oberen Ecke ein fotografisches Bild, das die porträtierte Persönlichkeit in einer für sie typischen Arbeitssituation zeigt.

B

Das Porträt

Im Unterschied zu den Kupferstichoriginalen auf traditionellen Banknoten geht jedes Porträtbild dieser Noten auf eine zeitgenössische Fotografie zurück, die in aufwendiger Bildbearbeitungstechnik als Notenporträt aufbereitet wurde.

A

«Lotar II» (1964)

Die Bronzebüste zeigt Giacomettis Faszination für Oberflächen. Die starke Modulation durch Finger und Modelliermesser lässt viele seiner Figuren wie Felsgestein aussehen. Die unebene Oberfläche bewirkt intensive Licht- und Schattenspiele.

B

«Homme qui marche I» (1960)

Der schreitende Mann - hier aus verschiedenen Perspektiven viermal dargestellt - ist eine von Giacomettis berühmtesten Figuren. In ihr gelingt dem Künstler die Umsetzung einer körperlichen Bewegung. Das natürliche Gleichgewicht des Schreitens symbolisiert für Giacometti die eigene Lebenskraft.

C

Die Zeit-Raum-Beziehung

Die Skizze stammt aus Giacomettis autobiografischem Text «Le Rêve, le Sphinx et la mort de T.» (1946). Da der lineare Erzählstil seinem Erleben nicht gerecht wurde, suchte Giacometti nach einer modellhaften Lösung: Die Zeit stellt er als horizontale Scheibe dar, deren einzelne Segmente für verschiedene Geschehnisse stehen. Die Tafeln am Rande halten die dazugehörenden Geschichten fest.