Print

Banknotes and coins

The transition to a new banknote series

The eighth banknote series will gradually be replaced by the ninth in a process scheduled to take place between 2016 and 2019. The first denomination in the new series – the 50-franc note – has been in circulation since 12 April 2016. The 20-franc note is planned for the following year. The remaining banknotes will subsequently be issued at half-yearly or yearly intervals. The SNB will announce each new date well in advance. Issuance of the entire new series is expected to be completed by 2019. Notes from the eighth banknote series remain valid until further notice.

Mandate

The Swiss National Bank has the exclusive right to issue banknotes in Switzerland. It supplies the economy with banknotes that meet high standards with respect to quality and security. It is also charged by the Confederation with the task of coin distribution.

Requirements

Swiss banknotes are traditionally required to meet high standards of security, functionality and design. The Swiss National Bank wants to ensure that the new series also meets these requirements.

Security features

It is simple to check if banknotes are genuine thanks to easy-to-find security features on all denominations. This applies both to the current and the new banknote series.

Useful information

Find out which banknotes have been recalled, but can still be exchanged, under which conditions the Swiss National Bank replaces damaged banknotes or coins and what has to be observed regarding the reproduction of banknotes. A list of all related instruction sheets can be found here.

Drucken

Bargeld

Übergang zu einer neuen Banknotenserie

Zwischen 2016 und 2019 findet eine schrittweise Ablösung der 8. Banknotenserie durch die 9. Banknotenserie statt. Die erste Denomination der neuen Serie, die 50-Franken-Note, ist seit dem 12. April 2016 im Umlauf. Es ist geplant, im folgenden Jahr die 20-Franken-Note zu emittieren. Die übrigen Notenwerte der neuen Serie werden im Anschluss daran mit einem Abstand von einem halben oder einem Jahr herausgegeben. Die Nationalbank wird die genauen Zeitpunkte jeweils rechtzeitig bekanntgeben. Die Emission der ganzen Serie soll 2019 abgeschlossen sein. Die Noten der 8. Banknotenserie behalten alle bis auf Weiteres ihre Gültigkeit.

Auftrag

Die Nationalbank verfügt über das ausschliessliche Recht zur Ausgabe von Banknoten in der Schweiz. Sie versorgt die Wirtschaft mit Noten, die hohen Qualitäts- und Sicherheitsansprüchen genügen. Im Auftrag des Bundes nimmt sie auch die Verteilung der Münzen wahr.

Anforderungen

An die Schweizer Banknoten werden bezüglich Sicherheit, Funktionalität und grafische Gestaltung traditionsgemäss hohe Ansprüche gestellt. Diesen Ansprüchen will die Schweizerische Nationalbank auch mit der neuen Banknotenserie gerecht werden.

Sicherheitsmerkmale

Die Echtheit der Banknoten kann dank gut auffindbaren Sicherheitsmerkmalen auf allen Notenwerten leicht überprüft werden. Das gilt sowohl für die letzte wie auch für die neue Banknotenserie.

Wissenswertes

Erfahren Sie, welche Banknoten zurückgerufen, aber noch umtauschbar sind, unter welchen Voraussetzungen die Schweizerische Nationalbank Ersatz für beschädigte Banknoten oder Münzen leistet und was bei der Reproduktion von Banknoten zu beachten ist. Ein Zusammenzug aller Merkblätter finden Sie unter Merkblätter Banknoten und Münzen.