Print

Investment risk profile

Risk factors

The risk profile of assets is determined by the currency reserves. The main risk to the currency reserves is market risk, in particular risks related to exchange rates, the gold price, share prices and interest rates. In addition, there is liquidity risk as well as credit and country risks, although these are smaller than market risk. The contribution of Swiss franc bonds to total risk is negligible.

Market risk of currency reserves

Exchange rates are the most important risk factor for the currency reserves. As currency risk is not hedged against Swiss francs, even minor changes in the Swiss franc exchange rates lead to substantial fluctuations in investment income, and thus in the SNB’s capital. In addition to currency risk, fluctuations in the gold price and stock prices as well as interest rate risk are relevant as well. Currency risk, share price risk and interest rate risk are limited through the specification of benchmarks and management guidelines. Various means, including the use of derivative financial instruments such as interest rate swaps, stock index futures and interest rate futures, are used to control these risks. To manage currency exposure within foreign currency investments, foreign exchange derivatives can also be used.

As a matter of principle, the SNB does not hedge currency risk against the Swiss franc, as hedging would have an undesirable impact on monetary policy. Hedging operations, for example selling foreign exchange forwards against Swiss francs, would create additional demand and increase upward pressure on the Swiss franc. Therefore, hedging would de facto have the same effect as a foreign exchange market intervention to strengthen the Swiss franc. For these reasons, currency risk must be accepted as an inherent component of currency reserves.

Credit risk of currency reserves

Credit risk stems from the possibility that counterparties or issuers of securities do not meet their obligations. Such risks are present in the case of bonds issued by all borrower categories. The SNB holds bonds issued by public and supranational borrowers, covered bonds and similar instruments as well as corporate bonds as part of its currency reserves. For issuers of bonds, the SNB requires a minimum rating of investment grade. Exposure to individual issuers is limited by means of concentration limits. Credit risk arising from non-tradable instruments with respect to banks was very low. Replacement values of derivatives were collateralised, in accordance with the ISDA (International Swaps and Derivatives Association) agreements with counterparties. Since May 2014, the SNB has been executing most of its interest rate swaps via a central counterparty. On the one hand, this facilitates netting of offsetting positions. On the other, efficiency gains are made in the daily management of collateral.

Most of the bonds held were government bonds, which, in turn, mainly comprised highly liquid bonds issued by European countries and by the US. In all, over 85% of bonds were rated AA or higher.

Liquidity risk of currency reserves

The SNB’s liquidity risk arises from the possibility that, should investments in foreign currencies need to be sold, such sales could be effected only partially or after considerable price concessions, or may not be possible at all. The SNB ensures a high level of liquidity in its foreign currency reserves by holding a large number of the most liquid government bonds in the major currencies, namely euros and US dollars.  Liquidity risk is reassessed periodically.

Country risk of currency reserves

Country risk arises from the possibility that a country may hinder payments by borrowers domiciled in its sovereign territory or block the right to dispose of assets held there. In order to avoid entering into any unbalanced country risk, the SNB endeavours to distribute assets among a number of different depositories and countries. Gold holdings are stored according to this principle as well. In choosing a location, attention is paid to both appropriate regional diversification and easy market access. Of the 1,040 tonnes of gold, approximately 70% is held in Switzerland, some 20% at the Bank of England, and roughly 10% at the Bank of Canada. Decentralised storage of gold holdings in Switzerland and abroad ensures that the SNB has access to its gold reserves even in the event of a crisis.

Drucken

Risikoprofil der Anlagen

Risiken

Das Risikoprofil der Aktiven wird durch die Währungsreserven bestimmt. Die Hauptrisiken auf den Währungsreserven sind die Marktrisiken, insbesondere die Wechselkurs-, Goldpreis-, Aktienkurs- und Zinsrisiken. Ausserdem bestehen Liquiditätsrisiken sowie Kredit- und Länderrisiken, die allerdings geringer als die Marktrisiken sind. Der Beitrag der Frankenanleihen zum Gesamtrisiko ist marginal.

Marktrisiken der Währungsreserven

Die bedeutendsten Risikofaktoren der Währungsreserven sind die Wechselkurse. Weil Währungsrisiken grundsätzlich nicht gegen Franken abgesichert werden, führen bereits geringe Veränderungen der Frankenwechselkurse zu erheblichen Schwankungen des Anlageerfolgs und damit des Eigenkapitals der Nationalbank. Neben den Währungsrisiken sind auch die Schwankungen des Goldpreises und der Aktienkurse sowie die Zinsrisiken relevant. Die Währungs-, Aktien- und Zinsrisiken werden durch die Vorgabe von Benchmarks und Bewirtschaftungsrichtlinien limitiert. Gesteuert werden sie u.a. durch den Einsatz derivativer Finanzinstrumente wie Zinsswaps, Aktienindex- und Zinsfutures. Zur Steuerung der Währungsanteile innerhalb der Devisenanlagen können Devisenderivate eingesetzt werden.

Die Nationalbank sichert ihre Fremdwährungsrisiken grundsätzlich nicht gegen Franken ab, da eine Absicherung die Geldpolitik auf unerwünschte Weise beeinflussen würde. Durch die Absicherungsgeschäfte – z.B. Terminverkäufe von Devisen gegen Franken – würde zusätzliche Frankennachfrage und damit zusätzlicher Aufwertungsdruck auf den Franken geschaffen. Eine Absicherung hätte damit de facto denselben Effekt wie eine Devisenmarktintervention zur Stärkung des Frankens. Die Währungsrisiken müssen aus diesen Gründen als inhärenter Bestandteil der Währungsreserven akzeptiert werden.

Kreditrisiken der Währungsreserven

Kreditrisiken entstehen durch die Möglichkeit, dass Gegenparteien oder Emittenten von Wertpapieren ihren Verpflichtungen nicht nachkommen. Solche Risiken bestehen bei Anleihen sämtlicher Schuldnerkategorien. Die Nationalbank hält in den Währungsreserven Obligationen öffentlicher und supranationaler Emittenten, Pfandbriefe und vergleichbare Papiere sowie Unternehmensanleihen. Für Anleihensschuldner setzt die Nationalbank ein Mindestrating im Investment-Grade-Bereich voraus. Die Risiken gegenüber einzelnen Emittenten werden durch Konzentrationslimiten begrenzt. Kreditrisiken aus nicht handelbaren Instrumenten gegenüber Banken bestanden nur in sehr geringem Ausmass. Wiederbeschaffungswerte von Derivaten wurden im Rahmen der bestehenden ISDA-Verträge (International Swaps and Derivatives Association) mit Gegenparteien besichert. Seit Mai 2014 wickelt die Nationalbank einen Grossteil der Zinsswapgeschäfte über eine zentrale Gegenpartei ab. Dies erlaubt zum einen das Verrechnen (Netting) gegenläufiger Positionen. Zum anderen entstehen im täglichen Management der Sicherheiten Effizienzgewinne.

Der grösste Teil der Anleihen wurde in Form von Staatsanleihen gehalten, ein wesentlicher Teil davon in hochliquiden Anleihen europäischer Kernländer und der USA. Insgesamt waren über 85% der Anleihen mit einem Rating von AA oder besser bewertet.

Liquiditätsrisiken der Währungsreserven

Die Liquiditätsrisiken der Nationalbank beziehen sich darauf, dass Anlagen in Fremdwährungen im Bedarfsfall nicht, nur teilweise oder nur mit hohen Preisnachlässen verkauft werden könnten. Eine hohe Liquidität der Devisenreserven wird durch einen grossen Bestand an den liquidesten Staatsanleihen in den Hauptwährungen Euro und US-Dollar sichergestellt. Die Liquiditätsrisiken werden periodisch neu beurteilt.

Länderrisiken der Währungsreserven

Das Länderrisiko besteht darin, dass ein Staat in seinem Hoheitsgebiet Zahlungen von dort domizilierten Schuldnern oder die Verfügungsgewalt über dort deponierte Vermögenswerte blockieren kann. Um keine einseitigen Länderrisiken einzugehen, achtet die Nationalbank auf eine Verteilung der Vermögenswerte auf verschiedene Depotstellen und Länder. Auch die Goldbestände werden nach diesen Prinzipien gelagert. Bei der Standortwahl wird zum einen auf eine angemessene regionale Diversifikation und zum anderen auf einen guten Marktzugang Wert gelegt. Von den 1040 Tonnen Gold werden rund 70% in der Schweiz, rund 20% bei der Zentralbank von England und rund 10% bei der Zentralbank von Kanada gelagert. Die dezentrale Lagerung der Goldbestände im In- und Ausland stellt sicher, dass die Nationalbank auch im Krisenfall über ihre Goldreserven verfügen kann.