Print

Investment of assets

Nature and purpose of the SNB's assets

The assets of the Swiss National Bank (SNB) fulfil important monetary policy functions. They consist largely of foreign currency assets, gold and, to a lesser extent, financial assets in Swiss francs. Their size and composition are determined by the established monetary order and the requirements of monetary policy.

Breakdown of assets

At the end of 2015, the SNB’s assets amounted to CHF 640 billion, which was CHF 79 billion higher than one year earlier. They consisted almost exclusively of currency reserves. In addition, a Swiss franc bond portfolio amounting to CHF 4 billion was held.

Currency reserves

Under art. 5 para. 2 of the National Bank Act (NBA), the SNB is responsible for managing the currency reserves, part of which must be held in the form of gold (art. 99 para. 3 Federal Constitution).

Asset management

Asset management is governed by the primacy of monetary policy and is carried out in accordance with the criteria of security, liquidity and return. Investment policy takes into consideration all central bank requirements and is based on comprehensive risk / return analyses.

Investment principles

The SNB’s own Investment Policy Guidelines define the scope for its investments and for the investment and risk management process.

Investment performance

Returns on currency reserves and Swiss franc bonds are published under investment performance and in the Annual Report of the Swiss National Bank.

Drucken

Anlage der Aktiven

Wesen und Zweck der Aktiven

Die Aktiven der Nationalbank erfüllen wichtige geld- und währungspolitische Funktionen. Sie bestehen vorwiegend aus Anlagen in Fremdwährungen, aus Gold sowie zu einem kleinen Teil aus Aktiven in Franken. Ihre Höhe und Zusammensetzung wird durch die geltende Währungsordnung und die Bedürfnisse der Geldpolitik bestimmt.

Aktivenstruktur

Ende 2015 betrugen die Aktiven der Nationalbank 640 Mrd. Franken und lagen damit 79 Mrd. Franken über dem Vorjahreswert. Sie bestanden fast ausschliesslich aus Währungsreserven. Zudem wurde ein Anleihenportfolio in Franken in der Höhe von 4 Mrd. Franken gehalten.

Währungsreserven

Art. 5 Abs. 2 des Nationalbankgesetzes überträgt der Nationalbank die Aufgabe, die Währungsreserven zu verwalten. Gemäss Art. 99 Abs. 3 der Bundesverfassung hält sie einen Teil davon in Gold.

Aktivenbewirtschaftung

Die Anlage der Aktiven untersteht dem Primat der Geld- und Währungspolitik und erfolgt nach den Kriterien Sicherheit, Liquidität und Ertrag. Die Anlagepolitik berücksichtigt alle notenbankpolitischen Erfordernisse und beruht auf umfassenden Risiko- und Ertragsanalysen.

Anlagepolitische Grundsätze

Die Grundsätze der Anlagepolitik, die Anlageinstrumente sowie der Anlage- und Risikokontrollprozess sind in dem Dokument "Richtlinien der Schweizerischen Nationalbank für die Anlagepolitik" detailliert beschrieben.

Anlageergebnis

Die Anlagerenditen der Währungsreserven und der Frankenanleihen werden auf der Seite Anlageergebnis sowie im Geschäftsbericht der Nationalbank publiziert.